We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small resort but good "vibe" and ideal for families”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Golden Shores Holiday Club
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Labrador
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We've previously stayed at Sandy Point so this resort had something to live up to as we really liked that place.

Although overall this is a smaller resort and unit size a lttle smaller, can't quite put a finger on it but it just felt so good. The location is excellent - overlooking a park and can see Seaworld on the other side of Broadwater and not that far from other places.

The place was very clean and pretty well looked after (the odd mark/stain obviously caused by those who stayed in the past but not that bad).

If I were to pick one fault is there's no lift but it's no big deal as there's only 20 stairs to first floor, another 20 to top (2nd) floor.

We were so lucky to get a unit with two balconies both overlooking the park view (unit 6).
I am glad I didn't change to a ground floor unit (as had recent back surgery). Thank you to Donna for assistance with that and everything else. She is so nice to talk to! We also met Veronica on 7th October, she is usually at Sandy Point, also nice to talk to. We, unfortunately, "lost" a day and a half of our holiday which was a great shame as we would have loved the full week there (no fault of Golden Shores, blame Tiger Airways!).

Trust me, you will enjoy a stay there too.

Room Tip: Unit 6 (or the one above - don't know number) has excellent views
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank simplyjewelry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Classic H, Manager at Golden Shores Holiday Club, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Hi simplyjewelry,
We’re very grateful for your wonderful review and are pleased we were able to live up to your holiday expectations! We think we do have pretty fabulous views and a great location to boot! We’ll pass your positive feedback on to Donna and Veronica, I’m sure they’ll be happy to hear it. Look forward to seeing you for a full week next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (58)
There are newer reviews for Golden Shores Holiday Club
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 58 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2013

We have stayed here 3 times and love the location.
Donna on the front desk is the most beautiful, friendliest, helpful staff member.
Nothing is too much trouble.
A downside is having only 1 bathroom.
The laundry is also in the bathroom which is a bit of a pain.
The location is perfect - easy access to all the theme parks.
The pool and BBQ are great to relax.
Well equipped self contained units.
No lifts so ask for ground floor if stairs are difficult.
Undercover parking is a plus.
Straight across the road from the broad water.

Room Tip: No lifts so ask for ground floor if stairs are difficult.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sweetlady1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Classic H, Manager at Golden Shores Holiday Club, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Hi Sweetlady 1968,

We are really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your holiday experience with us! Thanks so much for the great review and we will be sure to pass your comments onto Donna on the front desk. Looking forward to seeing you again really soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stayed in 2 units, one on the top floor and one on the bottom. Both were clean, and a great size for our family. Pool was freezing - even on a 32C day. But the spa was awesome and we went in everyday!
Car parking was great and safe - locked under building ... Close to everything. No more than a 15 min drive to get anywhere we needed, casino, theme parks, restaurants, shopping.
Lovely stay , thank you.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
Thank RollyNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Classic H, Manager at Golden Shores Holiday Club, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Hi RollyNZ,

You're quite welcome! We’re glad you had such a great time staying with us at Golden Shores. It sounds like you had a lovely holiday making the most of what our location has to offer. We hope to welcome you back to stay with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We stayed at the Golden Shores for a week we found the rooms excellent and very well equipped, staff were very friendly and helpful, unfortunately all the restaurant were downs the other end of the street but as we had a rental car it wasn't a problem we would definitely recommend Kokonut Willies for a meal, we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rita T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Classic H, Manager at Golden Shores Holiday Club, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Hi Rita T,

We're very glad to hear that you had an excellent stay at our resort. We'd love to welcome you back on your next trip to the Gold Coast, please let us know if we can assist with your booking in any way.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Golden Shores was a very welcoming resort to arrive at for our weeks holiday on the Gold Coast. Staff were very helpful and friendly. We were pleased we hired a car to get around as it was slightly further away from the shops etc when staying in a self contained unit. Buses did seem regular on the nearby Gold Coast highway though. We had a 2 bedroom apartment which was very clean and plenty of space. However for a winter holiday (June) the sun left the front balcony at approx 9.30am so was very cold to come home to after being out and about most of the day. There was a heat pump but we were not meant to turn it up above 25 degrees C so it didn't warm the place up very well. Kitchen etc was well appointed with everything you need and the spa pool was nice at the end of a cool day. Bikes were available to use free of charge.

Room Tip: If travelling in winter, rooms closer to reception side get more sun.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BuzzyBees18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Classic H, Manager at Golden Shores Holiday Club, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2013

Dear BuzzyBees18,
Thanks so much for sharing your thoughts with us about Golden Shores Holiday Club. Great to hear that you had a car for a little more freedom but for those that don’t, the bus stop is only block away on the Highway where the buses run 24/7 all over the Gold Coast.
Buzzy we are happy to hear that you did enjoy your time with us and please let us know if we can help you with any further bookings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The 2 bedroom unit we had was on the second floor and was walkup (no lift) but that was not a problem. Parking was plentiful and directly underground. Did not use the pool but it looked clean and well maintained. The spa pool was nice and was a good temperature for the time of year.

The unit was a bit old fashioned in layout and fittings but more than adequate for us.

The main attraction is the peace and quiet as it is in a residential area but has very easy access to Australia Fair, Seaworld and a variety of food outlets. There is easy access to Harbourtown by bus or car.

The staff were helpful and there was plenty of powder for the dishwasher and washing machine.

Room Tip: Middle rear is furthest from the road although road noise is negligible.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NzHils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Classic H, Manager at Golden Shores Holiday Club, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Hi NZHils,

We are so please to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at Golden Shores. This resort is perfect for a quiet getaway but you as mentioned, it is still close to all the activities and amenities you may need.
Thanks so much for taking the time to share your review and we hope to see you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a two bedroom apartment. It was spacious, clean and well appointed.

The pool and heated spa were great, and the BBQ area was more than adequate.

The location is great, with a park and the broad water across the road and plenty of take away, restaurant and cafe options within walking distance.

Being in Labrador it is a bit away from the hustle and bustle of surfers, but with a young family that was a bonus for us, being quieter and that little bit closer to the theme parks.

In all, a very enjoyable place to stay, and we will definitely choose to stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MendozzaMagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Classic H, Manager at Golden Shores Holiday Club, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2013

Hi MendozzaMagic,

Thanks so much for taking the time to share your review on Golden Shores. We look foward to you coming to stay with us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Labrador
0.6 mi away
Sandy Point Beach Resort
1.7 mi away
Meriton Suites Southport
1.5 mi away
Palazzo Versace
Palazzo Versace
#3 of 5 in Main Beach
1,972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Peppers Soul
Peppers Soul
#1 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,226 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Grand Apartments
The Grand Apartments
#3 of 6 in Labrador
145 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sea World Resort
Sea World Resort
#2 of 5 in Main Beach
4,444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Shores Holiday Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Shores Holiday Club

Address: 210 Marine Pde, Labrador, Gold Coast, Queensland 4215, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Labrador
Amenities:
Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Labrador
Price Range: $135 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Shores Holiday Club 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Overlooking the fabulous Broadwater" Golden Shores Holiday Club is located on the fabulous Broadwater. The resort itself consists of 16 spacious fully self contained two bedroom apartments and is only minutes from Surfers Paradise, cinemas, shopping centres, restaurants and Gold Coast Theme Parks. If you prefer to relax, you can soak in the sun by the pool or take a stroll through the Friday night beach markets in Surfers Paradise. For the more adventurous holiday makers, a Bungee Jump or hike through the Hinterland may be more your style. The dedicated resident managers will ensure that your holiday is a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Golden Shores Holiday Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Shores Holiday Club Hotel Labrador
Golden Shores Holiday Club Labrador, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing