We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chinese cuisine”

Peking Duck Chinese Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 49 Restaurants in Hope Island
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Chinese cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Very effecient take-away service available. Appears to have very little MSG. One of the most authentic chinese food style restaurants around. The only downer is the 3% surcharge for using AMEX.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    28
    6
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hope Island, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Reliable local Chinese Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

Yama and her team offer great service and the food is always fresh. Venue is your usual local Chinese haunt (not fine dining) as previously noted "don't let looks be deceiving". Great for a group.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Disappointing Takeaway”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

Being new to the area we decided to try this restuarant based on its reviews on this site. The restuarant itself is a little dated but tidy and clean. Staff were prompt and attending. On ordering our meal I was provided a complimentary bag of prawn chips. The menu was not that interesting and despite the name of the restuarant there was hardly any duck menu apart from the Peking duck itself. The order was filled quickly.

On arriving home we were ravenous and could not wait to try this highly commended Chinese. However the spring rolls despite being larger than others was largely just pastry with little filling. The combination chow mein was the most disappointing with not much flavour, large various filling with a mash of soggy noodle on one side and torched noodle on the other.

Truly this was not our expectation for the cost of the dishes.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tash K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agnes Water, Australia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A good Chinese Restaurant and good duck”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014

Our last night on the Gold Coast and we wanted Peking Duck, so off to the restaurant we went. The duck was ordered the day before so there was little waiting involved which was great. In the style of chinese family tables we just ordered an assorment of dishes to share and with the two course Peking Duck and we had a delightful night. The staff were very good, attentive an knew their menu so suggestions etc were perfect. Located in a small shopping area parking was not a problem and being BYO means you can bring along something special to drink. We thoroughly enjoyed our night and look forward to a rerun soon.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hotabbots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Wow!!! What a Great Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

Unpretentious location in a shipping center, but don't let looks be deceiving. We had a great dining experience. The Peikink Duck was excellent and not to be missed. The Won Ton Soup and egg roll were also very good. As good as the food was the service was better,

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank vettesfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peking Duck Chinese Restaurant also viewed

 
Miami, Gold Coast
 

Been to Peking Duck Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing