We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great food, great ambience”
Review of The Fireplace

The Fireplace
Ranked #4 of 50 Restaurants in Hope Island
Cuisines: Australian, Contemporary
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“great food, great ambience”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Loved it. We had the Lamb. It was delicious. Tiramisu is the way to go for dessert! We had a one year old baby with us but it didn't faze them. They were pretty accommodating.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SharShuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    30
    21
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
173 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Guess we chose a bad night.”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Let me say first that the food was good.
I had a wagyu steak from the grill which was good, though it was smothered in sauce which concealed the true taste of the beef.
My 3 guests were all happy with their choices, wagyu, fillet and fish.
There were however two problems.
Firstly it is incredibly noisy. There is a stone floor, hard walls and large windows with no drapes and the acoustics are terrible, forcing us to shout across the table at each other.
I note that several other reviews have mention it, so presumably the management are aware but choose not to resolve it.
Secondly the service.
We sat down about 7.15 pm, had to ask to place our order which was taken at 7.50pm. Our first course arrived very quickly but our mains arrived at 8.50 pm. By this time tables that had arrived later than us had already finished their mains.
I also had to ask three different people for a drink before it was finally delivered.
The problem appears to be a lack of staff. Two waiters were rushing around at increasing speed as the night wore on and the tables filled up. A third female member of staff floated around and occasionally helped out.
The noise, poor service and frantic rushing around spoiled what could have been a really good experience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Five-star-critiques
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Kobe Steak”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

This is a great little restaurant inside the I.H.G Sanctuary Cove,
The cook everything in an open wood fire and they have a good selection of food, the service was very good and they had a great wine list

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank regyuta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Hutt
Level Contributor
146 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Lovely food but a bit on the expensive side”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We were staying at the Sanctuary Cove and the smell from the Fireplace smelt Devine. The food was great as was the wine we had but I think overall it was a little expensive. Would go again the next time we visit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maureen55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Beautiful food”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Pleasant ambience, excellent food prettily presented. Good service. Recommended for a special evening.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank AngelaCaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fireplace also viewed

Hope Island, Gold Coast
Hope Island, Gold Coast
 

Been to The Fireplace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing