We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As expected.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Sanctuary Cove Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Hope Island
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“As expected.”
Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

I recently stayed for 3 nights as part of a work conference.

My room had 2 double beds as opposed to a Queen or King. This was fine for me but there were plenty of couples who were not happy with this arrangement. Some were able to change rooms. I was in the 500's and therefore a little walk to the main area. The room was clean and spacious and there were all the usual amenities of a 4 star hotel. I did particularly like the walk in wardrobe with built in draws. From what others in the group were saying, some of the rooms in the 200's have been refurbished - as they look over the pool and are the closest to the main hotel area they may also be a little more expensive!

The golf buggy porter's are great and always seem to be readily available to take you to the village or to and from your room - very handy if you wear heels and have a bit of a walk to your room!

The food is great and to the standard you would expect from a 4 star hotel. I was disappointed there was no gluten free bread option at breakfast, but as there was plenty to choice from it didn't matter too much.

The gym up is not in walking distance and therefore it seems like a hassle to have to get a buggy to take you. I went for a walk instead - it s very easy to following the pathways in and out of the resort and onto the golf club. I walked for about 45 mins in a bit if a loop.

The lagoon pool is great - it's size lends itself well to being able to find your own private spot! They could do with some type of way to wash the sand off your feet as it's a bit annoying to have to walk back to your room with your feet covered in sand. I used to bathtub back in my room!

Overall, this is what you would expect for a 4 star hotel.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank MicLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monique H, General Manager at InterContinental Sanctuary Cove Resort, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear MicLB,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us.

I am pleased to read that we met your expectation with all aspects of your stay. Thanks for the feedback on gluten free bread. We do not have it on the buffet, but always have it available on request. We might consider putting it on the buffet however to ensure our guests are able to easily access.

Wishing you safe future travels and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.

Kindest regards,
Monique
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    479
    417
    160
    58
    29
See reviews for
293
407
32
243
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Peregian Beach
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

If you want to get away from the world this is a good place to start. The hotel is lovely but is in need of a refurbishment. It has just become a bit dated and needs a bit of love. The pool is outstanding with its own beach, I've never seen better and there is another smaller pool if you want to stay off the sand. So for relaxation it's perfect and make sure you get a room with a view of the pool, it's well worth it. The room service was a bit hit and miss and the breakfast buffet also needs some updating and love. Reception and concierge staff were delightful and very helpful. Besides the marina there isn't much around here so you need a car if you want to get out of the area. The rooms are fine, nothing spectacular but a good size and nice balconies. So if you want endless days of doing nothing but lying by the pool it's a good choice.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Terri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monique H, General Manager at InterContinental Sanctuary Cove Resort, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Terri S,

I am delighted to read that you had a super relaxing stay with us recently and thanks so much for taking the time to post a review.

Thank you for acknowledging my fabulous Reception and Concierge teams - I agree that they are wonderful.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back!

Warnest regards,
Monique
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

It is unusual to use a hotel that is less than an hours from where you live but this weekend was different. The aim was to get away for a weekend and just unwind with my wife who is very patient with my regular business travel.

The Intercontinental at Sanctuary Cove is brilliant. I am IHG Platinum Elite so they upgraded me to a Lagoon Room view at the quietest end of a building. They made us feel very welcome and delivered on comfort and relaxation.

The Hotel is minutes for the shops, cafes and restaurants in the Sanctuary Cove village which is a bonus as it is almost impossible to get into the Fireplace the signature restaurant in the hotel because the Intercontinental is a popular venue for weddings and heavily booked most weekends.

For a refreshing and relaxing retreat with someone you love this is a great place for a getaway.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Terryl-55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monique H, General Manager at InterContinental Sanctuary Cove Resort, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Terryl-55,

As a loyal and valued elite member of our IHG Rewards Club it is a delight to read your great review.

I am so pleased that you had a relaxing weekend with your wife and we look forward to you visiting again when you need a quiet getaway!

Kindest regards,
Monique
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful place to stay
We had a lovely room that looked out over one of the golf course with a very good quality bed. The rang to book golf for the hubby and they made it all happen with out a problem, all the staff at this resort are a credit to them nothing but smiles and a offer of help at every turn thank you we will be back and next time it will be for longer than a week end

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank iamKelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monique H, General Manager at InterContinental Sanctuary Cove Resort, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear iamkelly,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us.

I am thrilled that you had such a great stay and thank you for acknowledging my wonderful team. I agree they are fantastic!

We look forward to welcoming you back for a longer visit!

Warmest regards,
Monique
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Hutt
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Stayed at this hotel in September and it was great. The grounds are beautiful with a lovely warm swimming pool and spa right I the centre. My room was dated but the new owners Intercontinental were well on their way to modernising every room. Even so it was spacious and had almost everything we needed. Service was great as well from the check in to check out.
My only thing would be that they look at their WiFi charges, very expensive and most hotels these days don't even charge.
I would certainly recommend this hotel to all who want a quiet relaxing time away.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maureen55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monique H, General Manager at InterContinental Sanctuary Cove Resort, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear maureen55,

Thank you for your great review, I am delighted to read that you had such a lovely stay with us.

With regards to free WiFi, we do offer this benefit to our IHG Rewards Club elite members, so may I suggest joining this program. It offers fantastic benefits and is free to join!

Wishing you safe future travels!

Warmest regards,
Monique
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We stayed in this Hotel for my littel brothers wedding, with the wedding also being on the grounds.
The whole hotel, grounds and catering staff were amazing!
We stayed with the children and there was plenty to do, the pools and the shops close by were lovely.
Our entire famly thought it was an amzing venue for the wedding! Both for accommodation and the reception!

Room Tip: The roooms overlooking the lagoon pool and the marina are definitely the pick with fantasitci outloo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cbomb5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monique H, General Manager at InterContinental Sanctuary Cove Resort, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear cbomb5,

I am so pleased to read that your brothers wedding celebration with us was such a success and that you were able to enjoy our fabulous recreational facilities during your weekend with us.

I have shared your feedback with the team and we all look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back.

Warmest regards,
Monique
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We enjoyed a beautiful holiday here. The beds were extremely comfortable, the gardens very beautifully manicured, swimming and relaxing at the lagoon pool, walks by the Marina, huge buffet breakfasts, delicious room service dinners. Ive come home feeling very happy and relaxed and I cant wait to go back for another holiday....

Room Tip: To avoid too many stairs, get a ground floor room that opens up to the gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SydneyBec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monique H, General Manager at InterContinental Sanctuary Cove Resort, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear SydneyBec,

I am just delighted that we were able to provide you with a relaxing environment to enjoy time with your family.

Thanks so much for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back!

Warmest regards,
Monique
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hope Island
10.8 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,659 reviews
9.0 mi away
Palazzo Versace
Palazzo Versace
#3 of 5 in Main Beach
1,914 reviews
12.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
#13 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,233 reviews
11.2 mi away
Peppers Soul
Peppers Soul
#1 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,115 reviews
13.1 mi away
Sofitel Gold Coast Broadbeach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Sanctuary Cove Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Sanctuary Cove Resort

Property: InterContinental Sanctuary Cove Resort
Address: Manor Circle | Sanctuary Cove, Hope Island, Gold Coast, Queensland 4212, Australia (Formerly Hyatt Regency Sanctuary Cove)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Hope Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Hope Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Sanctuary Cove Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Sanctuary Cove Resort is inspired by the grandeur of a beautiful Queenslander offering an elegant and stylish timeless design. Set in beautiful surrounds the pristine white sands of the resorts famous one acre salt-water beach lagoon pool is the backdrop to a resort filled with relaxation and sophistication. Escape to a world of comfort, style, luxury and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Sanctuary Cove Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Sanctuary Cove Hotel Gold Coast
Hyatt Regency Gold Coast
Hyatt Gold Coast
InterContinental Sanctuary Cove Resort Hope Island, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing