We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved the room and the grounds” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of InterContinental Sanctuary Cove Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
InterContinental Sanctuary Cove Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Hope Island
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
43 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Loved the room and the grounds”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Stayed here a few years ago, and forgot to add my review.
It was the last weekend of my traveling break in Aus, after one month in a camper van, I thought I would get a decent hotel for the last few nights.
Loved the room faultless food (and staff) hotel grounds were stunning, overall never disappointed.
Our room was very rustic and well laid out, the bathroom was huge, and well appointed.
The Italian restaurant close by served stunning food, as was the breakfast in the hotel. I would love to write more but can't , would highly recommend this hotel to any one

Room Tip: They are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mikec-edinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monique H, General Manager at InterContinental Sanctuary Cove Resort, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear mikec-edinburgh,

Thanks so much for choosing us and then for taking the time to post a review.

I am delighted to read that we exceeded your expectations with all aspects of your stay.

Wishing you safe future travels!

Monique
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,080 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    450
    396
    150
    55
    29
See reviews for
283
380
29
231
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

I really enjoyed this hotel, a little dated but it felt authentically Queensland, it had soul and a relaxed atmosphere. The large pool/lagoon looked great but was being renovated when I stayed. I loved the large, private balcony. The resort is spacious and you wouldnt know that there were potentially hundreds of other guests there.

Room Tip: I stayed in the 400 block but there wasn't much of a view, I believe the 500 block had a view of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jj k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monique H, General Manager at InterContinental Sanctuary Cove Resort, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear jj k,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience following your recent stay with us, we appreciate your time.

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the unique Queenslander style architecture of our property.

We hope to have the opportunity welcome you back.

Warmest regards,
Monique
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Recently stayed and enjoyed our time here although we thought rooms were a little tired. Nothing major, just carpet looked old, small t.v`s, furniture etc. Our room was at the end of the building and the blinds did not make the room very dark so were awake very early each morning.The grounds are immaculate, really liked spending time outdoors. Stayed club level and Danny in the club lounge was great. He is so friendly and welcoming, he seems to really enjoy what he does and it shows. Breakfast was limited in the club lounge and had to go to main restaurant for cooked breakfast. We traveled with our young grand daughter and another annoying problem was no children in club lounge in the evenings which I fully understand but we were not told of this when we booked and there is no other option for you. Other hotels we have stayed at have another area for families. Luckily for us it was not busy at the time so we were able to go into the club lounge in the evening. All in all we enjoyed ourselves and would stay again but suggest somewhere for families to sit in the evenings when staying club level.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg_Sheree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monique H, General Manager at InterContinental Sanctuary Cove Resort, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear Greg_Sheree,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent visit to the Gold Coast and thanks for the 5 star review!

Danny was delighted to be acknowledged. Thank you for recognising him like this.

Wishing you safe future travels!

Monique
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great location, rooms were spacious and clean and the view on the bay was simply delightful!

I had few problems with spiders in the room which kept coming and visit us in our room, but overall I had a great stay!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank crazytraveller07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monique H, General Manager at InterContinental Sanctuary Cove Resort, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear crazytraveller07,

Thanks so much for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay. I am delighted that you had such a great stay.

Thanks for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back.

Kindest regards,
Monique
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel was our favourite. The setting and the service were excellent. The rooms had the feel of understated quality. The staff made us feel that we were special and they also appeared to take their work very seriously. We will return for another stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan592013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monique H, General Manager at InterContinental Sanctuary Cove Resort, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear Susan592013,

I loved reading the title of your review! Myself and my wonderful team are just thrilled that we were your favourite resort on your recent travels.

I hope that you had a wonderful Australian holiday and we look forward to welcoming you back!

Warmest regards,
Monique
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
38 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

The best thing about this hotel is the service. The rooms, although enormous and very clean, were quite dated. The grounds were beautiful but unfortunately the lagoon pool was closed. Had the best steak I've ever in their restaurant where the service was once again wonderful. I can't really fault anything about this place but not sure if I'd stay again as I felt a bit isolated because of the location.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EvaMilan_Italy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monique H, General Manager at InterContinental Sanctuary Cove Resort, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear EvaMilan_Italy,

Thanks so much for choosing to stay with us recently and thank you for the 5 stars for our service!

I am delighted that you couldnt find anything to fault with your stay and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back.

Wishing you safe future travels!

Monique
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

My husband and I have stayed in a few IHG hotels and have to say that this one has been the best thus far.

We were welcomed warmly at the entrance, luggage removed from our car for us, offer of a buggy ride to our apartment and treated like absolute royalty at front desk. Nothing was too much! We even received a free bottle of quality wine!

Staff are an absolute asset to this hotel, you can just tell that they have hand picked each one for their superb customer service skills. From front desk, to room service, the cleaners, and waiters. All were nice, kind and every single one said hello and were courteous. This is the one thing that sealed the deal for my husband and I, we knew then that we were staying in a great place.

Sure the rooms and surrounds were a little outdated, but the furniture was quality and very impressive, so it did not matter one bit. The king sized bed was amazing, linen top quality and pillows were soft and feather down.

The bathroom was like stepping back in time...large bathtub, huge shower with fantastic water pressure, old fashioned bathroom taps and the gift products they provided were the very best quality. Not just shampoo/conditioner and a few other items but toothbrushes (with paste), razor (with soap), scrubber, cotton buds, sewing kit, face soaps, body soaps, body bath wash and much, much more!

The gardens and surrounds were well looked after; a lovely tropical feel. Wildlife in abundance (it was wonderful to see Wallabies and Roo's first thing in the morning on the golf course). THe lagoon was being repaired but it didn't take away the feel of the place as everything else was lovely.

We take our hat off to the chef; the food was sensational. We ordered room service and our meals were good restaurant quality. Steak was cooked correctly, the vegetables not over done nor underdone, the salad was crisp and fresh and the banana splits were delicious! We recommend the Parmesan chips, crispy and very moreish.

Breakfast buffet is worth the money, if you are a big breakfast eater, I recommend it 100%.

Will we go again? Without a doubt! We cannot wait!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monique H, General Manager at InterContinental Sanctuary Cove Resort, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Natalie A,

Thanks so much for taking the time to post such a detailed review following your recent stay with us.

I am thrilled that you had such a lovely stay. I appreciate your recognising my wonderful team and acknowledging the skill in the kitchen brigade. I am very fortunate to have a team of talented and passionate colleagues that are focused on making the guest experience the best it possibly can.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Warmest regards,
Monique
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hope Island
10.7 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,548 reviews
12.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#6 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,131 reviews
13.2 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments - Broadbeach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Palazzo Versace
Palazzo Versace
#3 of 5 in Main Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,826 reviews
13.1 mi away
Peppers Broadbeach
Peppers Broadbeach
#2 of 21 in Broadbeach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,495 reviews
11.4 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Sanctuary Cove Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Sanctuary Cove Resort

Property: InterContinental Sanctuary Cove Resort
Address: Manor Circle | Sanctuary Cove, Hope Island, Gold Coast, Queensland 4212, Australia (Formerly Hyatt Regency Sanctuary Cove)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Hope Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Hope Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Sanctuary Cove Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Sanctuary Cove Resort is inspired by the grandeur of a beautiful Queenslander offering an elegant and stylish timeless design. Set in beautiful surrounds the pristine white sands of the resorts famous one acre salt-water beach lagoon pool is the backdrop to a resort filled with relaxation and sophistication. Escape to a world of comfort, style, luxury and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your InterContinental Sanctuary Cove Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Sanctuary Cove Hotel Gold Coast
Hyatt Regency Gold Coast
Hyatt Gold Coast
InterContinental Sanctuary Cove Resort Hope Island, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing