We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful resort, fantastic location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental Sanctuary Cove Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Hope Island
Certificate of Excellence
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful resort, fantastic location”
Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

Friendly staff, willing to help. Clean bright rooms. Had a room service dinner which arrived quickly and was delicious.
Asked house keeping for mosquito spray , they turned up within 10 minutes with both personal repellant and room spray.
Fantastic views , beautiful pools.
Highly recommend . Carts and drivers to take you to your room .

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madigliana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    470
    412
    159
    58
    29
See reviews for
291
399
31
240
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Recent 1 night stop over. Pretty hotel but that’s it. Old and a little run down. Half of the staff brilliant customer service but the rest completely incompetent.
Bent over backwards to get us in our room early and fixed a rather large issue with food and beverage at the breakfast, however concierge didn't know the local restaurants and the next morning they struggled to get our car to leave.
Very mixed feelings about the customer service.
Rooms very very old. If you like heritage type accommodation you may like. Building is simply stunning however we enjoy more modern accommodation.
Pool seemed un clean and bar was not large enough, we had to sit in an adjacent room.
Sad but even as Intercontinental ambassadors we will not be staying again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelin_Ge0rge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Sanctuary Cove Resort, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Travelin_Ge0rge,

Thank you for staying with us on your recent visit and for taking the time to write about your recent experience at our hotel. We strive to accommodate all of our guests and their needs and I’m disappointed that we did not meet your expectations. We are very sorry to read that you experienced inconvenience because we did not meet your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

I want to extend my personal apology, and to thank you for helping us improve our hotel and services. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel and replace your bad experience with one that reflects our true standards.

Without your guest feedback we cannot continue to improve our services. We look forward to your return.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

I came here for a work conference just this week and have also been here for a wedding and another work function in the past when it was the Hyatt Regency.
This was the first time I have stayed here and I extended my stay for the weekend so my partner and I could enjoy some time together. Room was nice - had a view over the marina (I think they upgraded us!) and service was generally very very good. Concierge was always very helpful and offered to drive us to the room in a gold buggy. We often walked as it was pleasant to wander through the landscaped resort.
Beach pool probably could do with a clean, but the other pool was perfectly clean but a little too warm. It looked like there was a kitchen at the pool area but it wasn't ever open.
We hired a car the first few days which is recommended if you are going to stay here for leisure as it is a fair way out from everything, unless you want to be secluded (which isn't a bad thing for relaxing!). It rained solidly for the 2 day conference so my partner was stuck with absolutely nothing to do :(
The concierge kindly organised a private hire car back to the airport as it was cheaper than a taxi. Unfortunately, when I was checking out, it left a bad taste in my mouth as they mixed my bookings together (personal and work) and didn't tell me there was a surcharge on Amex.
All in all, I'd definitely return if I was after a holiday relaxing by the pool.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the marina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ch1nadoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Hyatt did let this once exceptional resort run down but after only three months the Intercontinental stamp is becoming obvious. Spent three nights in an executive club room and could not fault the position, staff or service. Its always nice to be welcomed back to an IHC hotel and the Sanctuary Cove staff did it with panache. The Executive Club Lounge was exceptional - great food and wine and plenty of it. The food was not of the usual lounge standard but bordered on gourmet. The lounge was great for breakfast (you can eat in the restaurant and top up in the lounge for no extra cost) and evening canapes (who needs dinner) AND afternoon tea - wow. A simple mention to the dsk staff that we wished to do some local touring resulted in them gathering a host of broachures and suggesting a range of activities. They could not do enough. it may be a while before the Intercontinental refurbishes the whole complex but don't let that put you off. Great value for money when you discount the estimated cost of lounge food and beverages from the total tariff. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for an Executive Club room and save on meals and drinks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NOVO1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Level Contributor
104 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We visited in the first week during the IC takeover of the Hyatt. Overall it had its ups and downs, there were amazing staff (the duty manager that nursed my husband's foot) and very mediocre staff at the pool lounge and club lounge, who were unaware they were working in a so called 5 star resort. Its a great location providing a true sanctuary away from the norm of Gold Coast accommodation, it is good enough, but definately needs renovation and a total thematic face lift, the lagoon pool is really special (although needs a spruce up), the nearby marina offers a fabuous array of dining options that should not be missed.

Happy to give it another try this April and maybe play some golf. But please can you train your staff to desist in calling us "guys" regardless that my husband and I are both RA status, no guest should be greated with "hi guys" unless they are less than 12 years old it's an aussie grate that needs to go, it's tacky and not cool, just uncooth.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ormiston62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Stayed at this resort when it was the Hyatt.
It is a bit sad but the resort itself, needs a face-lift. Things are looking a little tired, dated and worn. Bed was creaky; air-conditioning was loud; food was expensive ($40 for eggs benedict). Paving around the verandah and pool could do with a good scrub.

Must say that the attitude of the staff has improved immensely under the Intercontinetai management. in fact, if it wasn't for the excellent service provided by everyone from Josh at the front door upon arrival all through our stay, the rating would have been lower.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SharonW59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We have just had the most perfect break at Sanctuary Cove ,where everything is done so well you can just relax and enjoy yourself. With the Marine Village an easy walk away offering numerous options for dining as well,you can just park your car until departure. The grounds , cleanliness,maintenance and food including afternoon tea are all to be commended. Can't wait to return!

Room Tip: A room on the end of a block is a good option, and club privileges are worth the outlay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whilewecan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hope Island
9.0 mi away
Palazzo Versace
Palazzo Versace
#3 of 5 in Main Beach
1,891 reviews
10.8 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
2,631 reviews
12.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
1,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
#12 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
3,197 reviews
11.2 mi away
Peppers Soul
Peppers Soul
#1 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
2,043 reviews
13.2 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments - Broadbeach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Sanctuary Cove Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Sanctuary Cove Resort

Property: InterContinental Sanctuary Cove Resort
Address: Manor Circle | Sanctuary Cove, Hope Island, Gold Coast, Queensland 4212, Australia (Formerly Hyatt Regency Sanctuary Cove)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Hope Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Hope Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Sanctuary Cove Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Sanctuary Cove Resort is inspired by the grandeur of a beautiful Queenslander offering an elegant and stylish timeless design. Set in beautiful surrounds the pristine white sands of the resorts famous one acre salt-water beach lagoon pool is the backdrop to a resort filled with relaxation and sophistication. Escape to a world of comfort, style, luxury and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, IHG, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Sanctuary Cove Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Sanctuary Cove Hotel Gold Coast
Hyatt Regency Gold Coast
Hyatt Gold Coast
InterContinental Sanctuary Cove Resort Hope Island, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing