We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh Hyatt! Where are you?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Sanctuary Cove Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Hope Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Until recently, this resort was part of the Hyatt group and this was my first visit to the resort under the ICH badge.

We have stayed many a time at the resort in the past because of its location being convenient to both Brisbane and the Gold Coast.

Even though the resort is showing signs of age it has always been a great experience, having the Sanctuary Cove marina with all its interesting shops and restaurants a short walk away.

I understand that it takes a while to rebadge a big complex like this but I would have thought that most of the staff would have stayed with the resort and would show the same enthusiasm and service as instilled in them by the Hyatt group.

Unfortunately, the staff that booked us in just didn't have that attitude we expected - it was more a matter of, well, yes, welcome and enjoy your stay without that feeling they should give you of you being special.

In the hospitality trade the customer is not only always right but should be made to feel they are definitely right! A typical example of this was one of the front desk staff, I think his name was Shaun, who gave the impression he was just going through the motions and would rather have been elsewhere.

Other than that, the accomodation and facilities have not changed and we still found the resort very much to our liking. Just a little work needs to be done with the staff that are obviously in a new environment and either need more training or perhaps should seek employment elsewhere.

Room Tip: Request a room closer to the reception because if it rains there is a good chance you are going to g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WellTravelledAussie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Sanctuary Cove Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Dear WellTravelledAussie2,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We have taken note of your valuable comments regarding the staff and will use these to monitor and improve the quality and services we offer to our guests.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,173)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

907 - 913 of 1,173 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2013

From the moment we arrived I could tell this was going to be a lovely weekend. The Reception staff were extremely professional,the rooms spacious and warm, the garden views delightful, the bathroom comfortable the amenities fantastic even a loofah !!. The food at breakfast was absolutely superb, the staff in every department outstanding. I have been in the hospitality industry for a long while and could not fault anything it was wonderful and I will be back.

Thank you Sanctuary Cove please don't change.

Room Tip: I loved the ground floor garden view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Indianajones16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We recently spent a weekend at the Intercontinental Sanctuary Cove. The location is quite good with beautifully landscaped gardens & the 'boutique' Marine Village a short stroll away with a good choice of places to eat.
We stayed in a garden view room and the view from the balcony was lovely, the resort has a man made beach entrance pool that is well designed. The staff we encountered were very friendly and professional. Unfortunately the outdated decor in the rooms lets them down.
A refurb is defnitely due, water saving shower heads would be good too!
Just a tip; watch out when walking around a night the lightening isn't great & we almost got run over by someone in a golf cart who obviously didn't see us!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MMR1316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Sanctuary Cove Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Dear mmr1316,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I am pleased to know that you had a satisfactory stay at our hotel and apologize for the inconvenience the room decor may have caused. I appreciate feedback that we receive, whether positive and negative to ensure we provide the best level of service and facilities that we can give to our guests. Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

In short, nice place to stay but don't eat breakfast at the hotel. Get a room only rate & then have a great breakfast at the numerous cafes in the nearby village - a short walk from the hotel. I can recommend Raw Cafe for a good healthy breakfast with excellent coffee.
Since Intercontinental has taken over this hotel the staff are very friendly & helpful & the facilities are nice. However, the quality and choice of food at breakfast has significantly dropped. A number of hot dishes were cold & even when mentioned to staff the replacement food was still only just warm. Most dissapointing is that even though the full breakfast includes tea & coffee, you are charged an extra $4 for a very small capuccino which didn't even taste any good.
A very relaxing atmasphere & the rooms are always excellent.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good but if you cant walk a fair distance ask for a room near reception or the po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dezer1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Sanctuary Cove Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Dear dezer,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I am pleased to know that you had a satisfactory stay at our hotel. I appreciate feedback that we receive, whether positive and negative to ensure we provide the best level of service and facilities that we can give to our guests. Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

We were
visiting from england 3 days was long enough had to travel for a bit of life, hotel had entertainment at weekends only we stayed mid week room has not changed since we were there 15 years ago breakfast was really good feux beach pool was amazing pool staff were great even though we Are seniors the hotel and immediate area was a bit quiet for us the whole place needs a bit of tlc

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobbysnanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

What a wonderful experience!! Took our two young (4 and 2 yo) grandaughters for a two night stay and from the moment we arrived the friendliness and efficiency of the staff was exceptional.

Lorraine and her team at breakfast went beyond their duties to make the kids feel welcome.4yo made a comment at the end of 2nd days breakfast that she "really likes watermelon" and lo a bowl of watermelon appeared from Chen who happened to hear her. She was delighted at the "magic".
Dinner at the Fireplace was delicious with great service and again the children were made to feel very welcome.

The room was extremely comfortable with ample space for all our mess of toys etc and the view across the lagoon to the marina as recognition for Platinum status a great bonus considering we also received chocolates and wine.

The grandaughters really enjoyed time in both pools and the spa with their new "best friends" who they met at the pool for the first time.

The mosquitos were very much in evidence but to be expected with lush gardens such as at this resort - we had repellent so not too much of a problem

All in all a very successful visit and we will certainly return for a quieter visit without the children

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

A wonderful place to unwind and read a book, swim and chill out. Friendly service and great facilities - can't beat it! A place to walk and talk and leave the car in the car park. A wonderful environment to leave the troubled world behind.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HadFuninBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hope Island
12.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,670 reviews
11.2 mi away
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
#13 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,327 reviews
10.8 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#5 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Palazzo Versace
Palazzo Versace
#3 of 5 in Main Beach
2,000 reviews
11.2 mi away
Peppers Soul
Peppers Soul
#1 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,319 reviews
13.2 mi away
Meriton Suites Broadbeach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Sanctuary Cove Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Sanctuary Cove Resort

Address: Manor Circle | Sanctuary Cove, Hope Island, Gold Coast, Queensland 4212, Australia (Formerly Hyatt Regency Sanctuary Cove)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Hope Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Hope Island
Price Range: $120 - $354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Sanctuary Cove Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Sanctuary Cove Resort is inspired by the grandeur of a beautiful Queenslander offering an elegant and stylish timeless design. Set in beautiful surrounds the pristine white sands of the resorts famous one acre salt-water beach lagoon pool is the backdrop to a resort filled with relaxation and sophistication. Escape to a world of comfort, style, luxury and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Sanctuary Cove Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Sanctuary Cove Hotel Gold Coast
Hyatt Regency Gold Coast
Hyatt Gold Coast
InterContinental Sanctuary Cove Resort Hope Island, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing