We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievably good”
Review of Jonez on Food

Jonez on Food
Ranked #2 of 50 Restaurants in Hope Island
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Restaurant serving European good with influences from asia
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Unbelievably good”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

Walked past it a couple of times..looked good and reasonable busy, so tried it today.

Monday blowing and unbelievably good,

Ambience first class, service excellent, staff friendly beyond reproach including the cook who came out to personally delivery each main course plate and described what we were getting down to the sauces etc....

Food was excellent in quality and price very competitive.

I have not seen that sort of service in years...

Wine list was a bit light on but who cares it was BYO as well...

Besides all that it's in the sanctuary cove village opposite the water...what more could you want.

We will be back...

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wizzaofoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    52
    14
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Interesting food..”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

Very interesting dining experience, we had the trio of duck and crab spaghetti which was very well presented and you could see that the chef really enjoys creating interesting looking and great tasting food. The initial reception of the waitress was somewhat cold and distant but the male waiter that we had for the rest of the evening was outstanding in his service.

The only thing that I found a little unnerving was that people dining around us, who only seemed to eat one course and were more interested in who's who (so a bit a seen and be seen atmosphere) rather than actually coming for a excellent meal, a shame really.

Perhaps this is because the restaurant is located on hope island and some of the residents there seems to be very out of touch with the real world. But if you want good food this is the place to be, although the price could be objectionable to some as it was relatively expensive in comparison to actual meal size.
So, if you are generally not bothered by dining among snobs and getting a bit of a feeling that the "regulars" receive preference of normal diners then this would definitely be the place to have an all out great food experience.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BelivahFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Lovely Food”
Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

Fantastic food, friendly staff but a little slow between courses which is the only reason I have given 4 out of 5 marks

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JF1507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
316 reviews
226 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Great lunch in a fantastic setting”
Reviewed July 4, 2014

We were there on a weekday,just 20 metres from the sanctuary cove boat harbour.
The three of us all ordered a different main. Beef cheeks, a slow cooked roast chicken and a grilled barramundi -- all 3 were voted just great. The sauces ,the vegetables treatment and the serve size were outstanding and they weren't over the top on price either.
the wine list is reasonably compact , but the pinot we shared was very good.
My wife had a rhubarb crumble dessert which was delicious [ i had a bite ] and the coffee was as good as you would expect, considering the food standard.
Really recommended for a great lunch

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BarryJ_100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
192 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Upmarket Restaurant for a Special Occassion”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

The Restaurant is set out with Chair covers and tables decked out in white. No doubt the locals can visit here for a special occasion etc. We were surprised there was no music to settle the noise from other tables since the restaurant is confined to a small area. The menu was upmarket which matched the prices. We were happy with the meals having entree and mains however I wondered if the Chef could lighten the menu to suit all tastes over the year. The service was polite and added to the evening of fine dining.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CharlieG_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jonez on Food also viewed

Hope Island, Gold Coast
Hope Island, Gold Coast
 

Been to Jonez on Food? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing