We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful quality food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ioesco Cafe

Ioesco Cafe
Ranked #1 of 49 Restaurants in Hope Island
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Gold Coast , Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Beautiful quality food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

This restaurant is going too cause others in the area to lift their game, amazing food, great service and not overpriced, an extensive wine list and BYO, you will need to make a reservation.
I dont have a favorite dish as everything I have tried has been amazing.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Malibu94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    219
    61
    18
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Coomera, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Cantina Napoli Renamed & Relocated”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014

Over the years we have dined numerous times at all of the restaurants that Max has owned. Going to Ioesco this week for the first time in over a year was like watching "Back to the Future" as its still the same dining experience and the same food that he was serving up at Cantina Napoli over 12 years ago. I guess we've moved on whereas Max is stuck in a time warp delivering the sameness that he has delivered in a variety of restaurants that has obviously been successful for him. Unusually the service was not up to standard as the few staff that were on were obviously trying to service too many tables. The food was okay but nothing spectacular although serving me a salad in a hot plate obviously straight out of the dishwasher raised our eyebrows. The Tiramisu that was always a trademark dish was way below standard with it being soggy and tasteless. Overall Ioesco is Cantina Napoli renamed, relocated and more up market but in reality just a very average restaurant that charges top dollar.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“how long to you have to wait just for your entre”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

Waiter gave us the menu of the day ,one hour later ,he informed us that they had run out and that I will have to choose another dish. A half an our later our entree arrived , 15 minutes before our main. I had a steak ( not confident that they could do anything else before midnight). My partner had some overcooked veal with a fungi sauce.Overall, expensive bistro food.Never again, life's too short.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Danny V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
64 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“"Can't get any better"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

I have lived on the Gold Coast for 26 years.

I have been lucky enough to keep bumping into follow max around to some great restaurants. Unfortunately when he moves so does the level of service and food.

I was so happy to find Max and his team pop up at the cove.

I have been here at least 6-7 times for a romantic lunch or dinner or a large group for Father's Day or birthdays.

In the past three years and never disappointed.

The veal scaloppine is just to die for.

Love that you can buy a case of wine and drink some while your at the table.

Keep up the outstanding work.


Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope Island, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great 5 star restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

Love the food here , top quality always . Sometimes it's hard to get a table as it has become so popular . The best entree is the potato and salami croquettes love them !
Service is great the waiters especially nic are very professional and well trained .
Atmosphere is ok .

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sharryn h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ioesco Cafe also viewed

Gold Coast, Queensland
Hope Island, Gold Coast
 

Been to Ioesco Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing