We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful, private, totally relaxing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Mouses House Rainforest Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Mouses House Rainforest Retreat
Ranked #1 of 4 Springbrook B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
1 review
“Peaceful, private, totally relaxing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

Great location, hosts were helpful and the cabins were beautiful, clean and had everything you could want. Perfect little getaway, definatly recommend hiring a car to get around to see the sites but you may never want to leave the cabin.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Johfergusen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    369
    38
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
55
306
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

A few dot points...
*The chalet was beautifully decked out with some really thoughtful little final touches.
*The location was gorgeous, there were so many things for us tourists to do and see so close to the accommodation.
*The owner was thoughtful, friendly and definitely emphasised the fact that they were more than willing to exceed customer expectations and to contact them should we require anything at all.
*The log fire was built, ready to light and had plenty of wood to last us.
Wish we could have stayed longer!
Totally recommended to couples, as a gift, honeymooners - anyone!

Room Tip: We stayed in cinderella - and it was amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KimberleyLingard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highfields, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

I stayed 4 nights in the snow white cabin and it was incredible!
The owner was extremely helpful and polite, I travelled on my own for some relaxation from the daily hassle and bussle of life. He brought down my luggage without me having to ask for help. He also provided me with a few things i forgot to pack with no fuss at all. Couldnt fault the staff.
The cabin itself was beautiful, the waterfall by the outdoor spa was just heaven, even though i had a little vistor in a turkey hen that demanded to be fed every time i saw her!
The only thing i could fault is a lack of a roasting pan or similar for the oven.
I couldn't recommend the mouse house more, I will return in the near future.... maybe I'll even bring my husband along next time!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lildutchgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

We had a wonderful 3 night stay in April. The cabins are very comfortable with good facilities for self-catering. It was cool enough to get the fire going each night which added plenty to the ambience. The private barbecue area and outdoor spa alongside the beautiful mountain stream was absolutely superb. There are lovely walks through the National Park nearby, including some stunning waterfalls. All in all, this is a terrific getaway for couples high I highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisfromMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
65 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

Visited this place for the first time last week. Was wonderful, remote and relaxing. It was great to have a fire going as the night's are getting cold. Loved this place, we even had a friendly visitor (possum) while outside. Will definitely return :).

















  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank freespirited91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

This place is absolutely beautiful so I think it is a shame that it is not run better. We rented two of their chalets for three nights and the owner was only mildly friendly, polite but a little condescending to us. When paying this much money for a nice place there are basic things one expects. For instance, for the kindling and wood to be dry enough to build a fire. If that does not work then I expect the heater to be a working, clean and maintained device. Neither of these things were the case. They store their wood in a messy heap under a tarp so it is no wonder it is not dry enough to easily make a proper fire. When the heater didn't work my husband tried to fiddle with it and found the filter clogged with dead bugs. One of the sliding doors was jammed and to top it all off we found a used CONDOM WRAPPER under our bed while packing up to leave. I always look under the bed to make sure a stray sock, or what not, is not being left behind. When we kindly let the owner know of these things he just smiled at us like and idiot and said he would let the cleaning staff know. He didn't even apologize!!! Let alone offer us some sort of discount or compensation. I was so offended at his blatant lack of concern (not even an apology!!!!) that it just about ruined my whole morning. That is NOT acceptable for a paying customer on holiday! We were so polite and nice about it too. I could understand if we were loud and rude complaining customers but we were not. It's a shame too because like I said, the place it lovely.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank goldenfix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mouses22, Owner at The Mouses House Rainforest Retreat, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for review. It is a real shame we find out your feelings about your stay two months after you departed and via a social website. Firstly, I’ll apologise if I seemed slightly condescending. Hope it is only because of our Australian & American cultural differences. I always try to be extra polite and friendly to all of my guests and recall having several lovely casual conversations in the office and car park area with your husband, family, Mum & Dad during your three-night stay. I can’t recall speaking with yourself during your stay or at the end when you left, so your recollection about my response to the issues must be second hand via your husband.

It is always of concern if guests have any issues, difficulties or problems. This rarely occurs, but we understand sometimes guests can’t get something to work. We try to overemphasize to all guests at arrival to let us know during their stay if there is anything we can do to improve their experience. Unfortunately, you or your husband didn’t say anything about your concerns until he and your father checked out. Needed fresh wood? – done in 2 mins. We buy so much firewood for our guests that at times it cannot all fit into our woodshed; therefore we cover it with a tarpaulin. Need help starting your fire? I do it 2-3 times a week in Winter for guests who ask, as firebox starting can be tricky for non-experienced guests. Air-conditioner not working? – fixed in 30 seconds as the code just needs to be reset. A door off its slider – fixed in 1 minute. Please just pick up your chalet phone, dial 9 and we are more than happy to help 24/7.

If I looked like an ‘idiot’, as you say, it would be because I was embarrassed and shocked by the report of a wrapper under the bed. I must have forgotten to say ‘sorry’. We have very high cleaning standards and I am not used to receiving this type of feedback. It took me 5 mins of serious searching to find it, as it was flat and camouflaging in with the rug under the bed. It is only a piece of plastic which shouldn’t be there. I don’t see the difference between it and a lolly wrapper. The air conditioner filters are cleaned every month as a matter of routine, so having some filter dirt is normal. Insects like flies are also normal - this is Australia. In any case, it is always best not to open any type of electrical equipment for safety reasons. Report any problem to reception before departure.

Your husband briefly mentioned these issues to me when he checked out and didn’t express much concern at this time. It was more ‘by-the-way’ and ‘to-let-you-know’ expression as he was leaving. We don’t give instant refunds in Australia. Is this normal in America? This could make departing guests turn into liars just to get money back or pay less.

We hope otherwise you enjoyed your exclusive, extra private chalet with free endless high-speed WiFi Internet, instant movies on demand, luxury linen, wonderful appointed full kitchen, bathrobes, internal spa bath for two and an extra private Hot Tub by the cascading mountain stream in the rainforest. Please contact us if you would like to discuss this further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stayed in Sleeping Beauty 24th - 27th April for our anniversary. The Mouses house is absolutely perfect and I would recommend it to anyone. We were instantly relaxed upon arriving - the location is nice and secluded and we noticed the freshness of the air. Wayne the host was very welcoming and helpful. The chalet was beautiful, you can tell they really put love and care into maintaining the chalets. Was wonderful to stay here and just enjoy spending time with each other in this magical environment. Not only was the chalet beautiful but so comfortable too - hot tub, huge spa bath, lounge, fireplace and the bed - wow don't think we've ever slept so well in our lives. We will definitely return soon and for a longer stay, this place was everything we imagined and more.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brieblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mouses22, Owner at The Mouses House Rainforest Retreat, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear brieblack, Thank you very much for your lovely review and very kind words. My staff and I are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Would love to welcome you or your friends back sometime to experience our enchanted rainforest again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Springbrook
20.3 mi away
Palazzo Versace
Palazzo Versace
#3 of 5 in Main Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,826 reviews
18.4 mi away
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
#1 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,759 reviews
18.7 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.0 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,391 reviews
16.7 mi away
Peppers Broadbeach
Peppers Broadbeach
#2 of 21 in Broadbeach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,496 reviews
8.7 mi away
O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mouses House Rainforest Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mouses House Rainforest Retreat

Property: The Mouses House Rainforest Retreat
Address: 2807 Springbrook Rd, Springbrook, Gold Coast, Queensland 4213, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Springbrook
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Springbrook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mouses House Rainforest Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mouses House Rainforest Retreat has 12 enchanted fully self-contained rainforest chalets with fireplace, private spa bath & streams located in the magical Springbrook National Park, a 30 min drive from the Gold Coast. Included in your rate is free wi-fi, free movies on demand, free use of a iPad, wonderful 38C hot tub, tennis and mountain bikes. Food baskets available on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Mouses House Rainforest Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mouses House - Springbrook Mt Hotel Springbrook

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing