We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Wow"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Mouses House Rainforest Retreat
Ranked #1 of 4 Springbrook B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
BLACKSMITHS
1 review
“"Wow"”
Reviewed March 13, 2012

Our 3rd visit from NSW and the Mouses House just gets better and better.
This time we took our 2 children, 12 & 15 for a 1 night stay to give them their first rainforest experience. On arrival we were personally welcomed by Wayne. We loaded up our trolley and off we went down the enchanting timber pathway through the rainforest in search of our chalet "Doc" which was right next to a fully flowing stream. This was the perfect size for a family. The music, dimmed lighting, complimentary port, modern furnishings, large flat screen tv, attention to detail throughout was just too good to stay for 1 night, so we extended our stay for another night within the hour. It was raining so we lit the cosy fire and waited for the possums to visit, which they did both nights & so did the bush turkey. Enjoyed the hot spa tub and sauna, and the bbq on the chalet deck was great. Just an amazing place, very relaxing, felt like we were in another world. thank you Wayne, we'll definately be back.
The Nicos

Room Tip: Doc is great for families Any chalets next to stream for couples
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    384
    39
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
56
321
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 11, 2012

I surprised my partner by taking him to Mouses Houses,( pre his departure for trip trekking and teaching English in a Monastery in Nepal) He was knocked sideways and so was I, it was an utterly magical experience, the rain started as we arrived and we tucked in to our beautiful chalet beside the stream, listening to the roar of the water and there we stayed - it rained all weekend and this was just perfect for where we were at. The Hot Tub, the Wood fire, bbq's on the deck and a dip in the icy stream all heaven! Breakfasts were unbelieveable and the service second to none - so welcoming. The chalets outlook was serene and so private we really felt connected to the nature of the place. It has to be one of the most magical places I have ever stayed and I have travelled a fair bit! We have planned another trip here when my partner returns.

Room Tip: The stream chalets mean you can walk right into the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Veronica630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 1, 2012

This has to be some of the best accommodation I have ever booked. Unfortunately we were only able to stay for one night but I will definitely be returning. The chalet was beautiful inside and out (we stayed in a stream and spa chalet). The presentation and thought that had gone into the chalets was second to none, and the location was great being close to all the main sites of interest in springbrook national park. The log fire and friendly possums that visited in the evening were the icing on the cake.
Congratulations to the owners on their superb, romantic, peaceful and indulgent accommodation. I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmilywatsOn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed February 29, 2012

Thankyou very much for a beautiful weekend. My wife had no idea where we were going and on arrival was in tears with this place. It was the most relaxing and peaceful place we have ever stayed. The food hampers were excellant and the chalets were unreal. A real credit to the owners for making this place possible. we loved it so much we have booked another long weekend already. Love the place

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed February 29, 2012

A stay at 'The Mouses House' was a honeymoon present for my wife and I which we loved so much that we have come back every year since. From the moment you arrive you know you are somewhere special and little hints like the bell birds, the sound of the stream and if your lucky the rain on the tin roof as you go to sleep really makes for an amazing getaway. Wayne really makes you feel welcome and knows all the best places to eat and visit while your there.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MattyBland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2012

Prince Charming, 2 night stay. To get it out of the way now, value for money was excellent.

Very impressed with the attention to detail; the chalet is exceptionally well-appointed. Cleanliness was exemplary, a real credit to the cleaning staff. No sign of previous visitors whatsoever. Finishings superb, with charming touches here and there. Privacy at this particular chalet was remarkably good. Beautiful stream transforms into a rapid during rain periods (it rained a lot during our stay); is highly audible and pacifying at all times, and contributes to privacy. A real joy to fall asleep and wake up to! Spas were exceptionally clean, fully functional and much enjoyed; outdoor hot tub could have done with a small step or step ladder, however. The outdoor verandah is amongst the trees and has a great feel, even if the exterior lighting is somewhat lackluster and rain causes parts of it to become very, very wet. The indoor spa causes the window - which does not open - to mist up, which is tragic really, because the view from the unmisted window is quite splendid.

Not exactly spacious but for a two person chalet that wasn't really the point. Couch is small and causeways are a tad awkward. Arguably, the small size contributes to the very cosy atmosphere. The couch COULD have done with being a bit bigger, but we enjoyed three films anyway :) It must be said that this chalet has REAL personality, to the point of feeling like a part of you. Any small criticism simply could not subtract from the overarching sense of familiarity and welcoming in which we were constantly enveloped, as if Prince Charming were an old friend..

The kitchen was gorgeous, no fusses there at all. Served each and every one of our purposes aplomb; a pleasure to use. The breakfast basket was delicious and the Weber BBQ worked first time every time.

Facilities...the communal sauna was fantastic, I spent over an hour there. There was also a communal hot tub nearby. I nearly had the misfortune of falling into the surrounding brush as the wooden decking to the plunge pool was covered in algae and rainwater. I guess I was a little distracted by the beauty surrounding me.

Wayne was a superb host and a very personable character; we wish him well in the future.

All individual components covered, one can not truly depict the beauty and magnificence of the experience with words alone. We felt a very personal connection with our chalet that can not be adequately translated into words. Simply put, the whole was greater than the sum of its parts. It is a rare thing indeed to find a place where one can indulge the creature comforts in the nest of nature, and on one hand it seems almost contradictory to find such an experience rewarding. Strangely, surreally, the Mouse's House strikes an impossible balance to forge something truly ineffable, a hypnotising experience that one must experience to believe in. But the real tragedy is having to leave the place afterwards.

Until next time.

Room Tip: Prince Charming is exceptionally private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jmx1009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaukauna, Wisconsin, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2012

We stayed in Sleepy for three nights over the Christmas Holiday. What an amazing place! The chalets were gorgeous nestled in the rainforest and just steps from the Springbook National Park trails. The staff were great and went above and beyond to accomodate us when there was a misunderstanding regarding our booking. Although it was a great family holiday, I would love to go back for a quiet getaway for my husband and I.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Springbrook
20.3 mi away
Palazzo Versace
Palazzo Versace
#3 of 5 in Main Beach
1,914 reviews
18.4 mi away
Peppers Soul
Peppers Soul
#1 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,118 reviews
16.8 mi away
Peppers Broadbeach
Peppers Broadbeach
#2 of 21 in Broadbeach
2,805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa
5.8 mi away
Binna Burra Mountain Lodge
4.1 mi away
Springbrook Mountain Chalets
Springbrook Mountain Chalets
#2 of 3 in Springbrook
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mouses House Rainforest Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mouses House Rainforest Retreat

Property: The Mouses House Rainforest Retreat
Address: 2807 Springbrook Rd, Springbrook, Gold Coast, Queensland 4213, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Springbrook
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Springbrook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mouses House Rainforest Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mouses House Rainforest Retreat has 14 enchanted fully self-contained rainforest chalets with fireplace, private spa bath & streams located in the magical Springbrook National Park, a 30 min drive from the Gold Coast. Included in your rate is free wi-fi, free movies on demand, free use of a iPad, wonderful 38C hot tub, tennis and mountain bikes. Food baskets available on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your The Mouses House Rainforest Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mouses House - Springbrook Mt Hotel Springbrook

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing