We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Mouses House Rainforest Retreat
Ranked #1 of 4 Springbrook B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“What a Weekend”
Reviewed February 29, 2012

Thankyou very much for a beautiful weekend. My wife had no idea where we were going and on arrival was in tears with this place. It was the most relaxing and peaceful place we have ever stayed. The food hampers were excellant and the chalets were unreal. A real credit to the owners for making this place possible. we loved it so much we have booked another long weekend already. Love the place

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    39
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
55
318
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed February 29, 2012

A stay at 'The Mouses House' was a honeymoon present for my wife and I which we loved so much that we have come back every year since. From the moment you arrive you know you are somewhere special and little hints like the bell birds, the sound of the stream and if your lucky the rain on the tin roof as you go to sleep really makes for an amazing getaway. Wayne really makes you feel welcome and knows all the best places to eat and visit while your there.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MattyBland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2012

Prince Charming, 2 night stay. To get it out of the way now, value for money was excellent.

Very impressed with the attention to detail; the chalet is exceptionally well-appointed. Cleanliness was exemplary, a real credit to the cleaning staff. No sign of previous visitors whatsoever. Finishings superb, with charming touches here and there. Privacy at this particular chalet was remarkably good. Beautiful stream transforms into a rapid during rain periods (it rained a lot during our stay); is highly audible and pacifying at all times, and contributes to privacy. A real joy to fall asleep and wake up to! Spas were exceptionally clean, fully functional and much enjoyed; outdoor hot tub could have done with a small step or step ladder, however. The outdoor verandah is amongst the trees and has a great feel, even if the exterior lighting is somewhat lackluster and rain causes parts of it to become very, very wet. The indoor spa causes the window - which does not open - to mist up, which is tragic really, because the view from the unmisted window is quite splendid.

Not exactly spacious but for a two person chalet that wasn't really the point. Couch is small and causeways are a tad awkward. Arguably, the small size contributes to the very cosy atmosphere. The couch COULD have done with being a bit bigger, but we enjoyed three films anyway :) It must be said that this chalet has REAL personality, to the point of feeling like a part of you. Any small criticism simply could not subtract from the overarching sense of familiarity and welcoming in which we were constantly enveloped, as if Prince Charming were an old friend..

The kitchen was gorgeous, no fusses there at all. Served each and every one of our purposes aplomb; a pleasure to use. The breakfast basket was delicious and the Weber BBQ worked first time every time.

Facilities...the communal sauna was fantastic, I spent over an hour there. There was also a communal hot tub nearby. I nearly had the misfortune of falling into the surrounding brush as the wooden decking to the plunge pool was covered in algae and rainwater. I guess I was a little distracted by the beauty surrounding me.

Wayne was a superb host and a very personable character; we wish him well in the future.

All individual components covered, one can not truly depict the beauty and magnificence of the experience with words alone. We felt a very personal connection with our chalet that can not be adequately translated into words. Simply put, the whole was greater than the sum of its parts. It is a rare thing indeed to find a place where one can indulge the creature comforts in the nest of nature, and on one hand it seems almost contradictory to find such an experience rewarding. Strangely, surreally, the Mouse's House strikes an impossible balance to forge something truly ineffable, a hypnotising experience that one must experience to believe in. But the real tragedy is having to leave the place afterwards.

Until next time.

Room Tip: Prince Charming is exceptionally private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jmx1009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaukauna, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2012

We stayed in Sleepy for three nights over the Christmas Holiday. What an amazing place! The chalets were gorgeous nestled in the rainforest and just steps from the Springbook National Park trails. The staff were great and went above and beyond to accomodate us when there was a misunderstanding regarding our booking. Although it was a great family holiday, I would love to go back for a quiet getaway for my husband and I.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2012

The most magical place I have ever stayed!! Wonderful setting with fabulous walks and exceptionally friendly and helpful staff. Stayed in the wicked witch and didn't want to leave!! Don't hesitate in staying here you won't be disappointed!! Thank you for a magical stay xx

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2012

My husband and I will never forget our magical stay in "Grumpy's House" at the Mouses House Retreat. Our chalet in the heart of the rainforest overlooked a gushing river and we spent our first evening on the deck at river's side barbecuing up the delicious food provided for us in the hugely generous gourmet dinner basket. (This was our favorite dinner of our whole Australian stay.) During the day we hiked the breathtaking trails right down the road, lunched at a pleasant cafe recommended to us by our host, and visited a fascinating Glow Worm Tour. At night, we returned to our chalet via boardwalks through the rainforest (romantically lit by small glowing lights and a wonderful adventure of their own.) Our chalet was extremely well equipped: the kitchen with silverware, dishes, stove, pans, refrigerator.... the bathroom with fluffy towels and sweet smelling shampoos and soaps... I could go on and on. This is the rainforest, so I think you must expect some bugs, BUT strangely we never saw a single bug in our spotless chalet. I'm not sure how this is even possible. We did see some wonderful opossums which came to our glass door and peered in at us, adding greatly to the thrill of our stay. My husband and I would both like to thank the Mouses House and particularly its thoughtful host for providing us with an unforgettable stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RedPeony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2012

My wife and I recently celebrated our 21st wedding anniversary at "The Mouses House". We chose "Snow White" as the chalet for our special occasion situated on the bubbling brook. I must say it was brilliant!! The rainforest setting and the chalets far exceeded my expectations and the accommodation is exceptionally well priced considering the luxury and privacy. The hot tub/spa situated on the edge of the stream is just on of the many luxury appointments. So close to Brisbane and equally as good if not better than comparative chalets in Far North Queensland. We have already booked our anniversary for next year...can't wait!! The owners/hosts are very kind and friendly also, only to willing to assist with your stay. This is a must for anybody seeking a rainforest hideaway for a romantic weekend.

Room Tip: All options are perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Springbrook
20.3 mi away
Palazzo Versace
Palazzo Versace
#3 of 5 in Main Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,880 reviews
18.7 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,609 reviews
18.0 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
Peppers Broadbeach
Peppers Broadbeach
#2 of 21 in Broadbeach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,686 reviews
8.4 mi away
O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa
4.1 mi away
Springbrook Mountain Chalets
Springbrook Mountain Chalets
#2 of 3 in Springbrook
3.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mouses House Rainforest Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mouses House Rainforest Retreat

Property: The Mouses House Rainforest Retreat
Address: 2807 Springbrook Rd, Springbrook, Gold Coast, Queensland 4213, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Springbrook
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Springbrook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mouses House Rainforest Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mouses House Rainforest Retreat has 12 enchanted fully self-contained rainforest chalets with fireplace, private spa bath & streams located in the magical Springbrook National Park, a 30 min drive from the Gold Coast. Included in your rate is free wi-fi, free movies on demand, free use of a iPad, wonderful 38C hot tub, tennis and mountain bikes. Food baskets available on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Mouses House Rainforest Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mouses House - Springbrook Mt Hotel Springbrook

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing