We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and cheerful”
Review of The Palmy Cafe Restaurant Bar - CLOSED

The Palmy Cafe Restaurant Bar
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cheap and cheerful”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Simply cannot go past the $5 breakfast. We paid $23 for three breakfasts and two coffees. My husband said the mushrooms in his meal were the tastiest he had ever eaten. Quick and friendly service, cute décor. Will definitely be back!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kitchen_wench2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    8
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Excellent Ambience. Great Music on a lazy Sunday”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Had a great afternoon and early evening in the Palmy -First time!
The music provided by obviously talented musicians was spot on.
Food good - but not brilliant.
Ambience that afternoon was brilliant.
Will return.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nogos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“friendly enough staff but....”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Night time experience. Staff friendly but some were over familiar and intrusive, this spoiled our experience. We were cramped and the space didn't cater well to 40 people.

The owner was lovely though and I felt for her.. she tried. Food was meh...okay..nothing to rave about, although my partner liked the pork belly. The duck was not confit or if it was it wasn't done well. We didn't get value for our $40 odd a head. Wine list so very sad and lacking in variety and sophistication. They ran out of vodka, some boutique beers and I bought the last bottle of mid range aussie overpriced bubbles!!

Place had a nice enough ambience, good intimate lighting but felt a bit old fashioned and dated, needed to be tidier and cleaner too. Toilets are out the back, cramped... can't swing a handbag!

The place has a lot of potential and is in a great location with easy enough parking and a walk from a lot of accomodation. The owner appears to know what she is doing and was let down by those around her. Hospitality is hard work and when guests are paying they expect service and availability of products on menus. I hope they spruce it up, professionalise the look and the staff and keep going. I would give it another try if just to see if they make any changes. Don't take your customers for granted would be the mantra I would endorse.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Richelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Currumbin, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Another Palm Beach Gem”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Lots of competition in Palm Beach now, and the Palmy is definitely up there. Great food and excellent service. Will definitely be back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank howeyaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely and very welcoming atmosphere”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Wonderful cafe/restaurant. Took my daughter and her friends there for her 15th birthday. Made us all feel vey welcome and most definitely will be dinning there again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JoChipp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Palmy Cafe Restaurant Bar also viewed

Palm Beach, Gold Coast
Palm Beach, Gold Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing