We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot handy to the airport and far enough from the concrete jungle of Surfers” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Currumbin Sands on the Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Currumbin Sands on the Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great spot handy to the airport and far enough from the concrete jungle of Surfers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Had a nice relaxing stay here with a few mates in a 3 bedroom apartment.
It was clean, tidy and well maintained.
The managers were friendly and very helpful.
It has underground parking, a gated complex that is handy to the beach.
Walked up the road a short distance for dinner most nights.
Pools were clean and the heated ones were warm.

Room Tip: Ask for one with sea views or away from the main road as ours was.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kerry255371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
currumbinsands, Manager at Currumbin Sands on the Beach, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you Kerry for taking the time to leave feedback on your stay here at Currumbin Sands. Its all about the location, and when the property ticks all the boxes as well you know you are going to have a relaxing holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    42
    9
    4
    2
See reviews for
87
16
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Queensland, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

We have just spent a wonderful week here and it was the perfect location. We stayed in a 3 bedroom apartment that was very spacious for our family of 5 and well appointed. The pool and spa area is amazing. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
currumbinsands, Manager at Currumbin Sands on the Beach, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you Annette for the kind words. We are glad you and your family enjoyed your stay here at Currumbin Sands. The grounds team take great pride in the way all the pool area's are kept, and with the location of the property its the perfect place to relax.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

We have visited Currumbin Sands about 7-8 times and always love it. We usually stay for a couple of weeks with two children and never get bored. We are not the high-rise, Surfers Paradise type people and this suits us perfectly. The kids love the novelty of having Foxtel, we spend a lot of time in the beautiful pools, my husband surfs right out the front and the Palm Beach Surf Club or the Thai takeaway are great for reasonably priced meals. It's also just a short drive to the airport, the worlds and Coolangatta whilst still being on a huge, quiet beach. We always look forward to going back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank millbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
currumbinsands, Manager at Currumbin Sands on the Beach, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful response. We are very glad you and your family enjoyed your stay with us at Currumbin Sands. It is a very hard location to replicate on the Gold Coast, with ocean and surf on one side and the calm estuary water on the other. Looking forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Our daughter got married August 17, 2013 at Currumbin. We travelled up from Sydney and are sooo glad we chose Currumbin Sands on the beach as our accommodation. The ladies at reception were very welcoming and helpful and they both had a great sense of humour. The room had stunning views and was very spacious, making it easy for us all to get ready for the wedding, including our daughter. It had everything we needed. Currumbin sands on the beach is a wonderful place for families to spend time together. We will be back next year!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gayleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
currumbinsands, Manager at Currumbin Sands on the Beach, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you Gayleen for the wonderful feedback. We are so glad the wedding went so well. The views are spectacular looking directly over the ocean right up to the skyline of Surfers Paradise. Looking forward to seeing you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrnambool
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

We spent 10 days at Currumbin Sands on the Beach on holiday with our family (two adults and 2 children, 2 & 4). The location was great, close to the Dune cafe, park and beach. A shopping centre, surf club for meals and small shopping strip is also a short walk away. The accommodation was well equipped and comfortable. The hosts went out of their way to assist us, loaning us umbrellas, shopping carts and toys for the kids.
We'd definitely stay again and recommend to friends.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
currumbinsands, Manager at Currumbin Sands on the Beach, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Hi Lee A, thank you for taking the time to write a review about our great location. The staff appreciate you acknowledgement of them. They love to assist you in making the most of your holiday be it supplying the shopping trolleys or directions to the nearest club, restaurant or the theme parks. We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmwoods, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

My husband and I were down the Coast to participate in the Cooly's Rocks on Festival but wanted to stay out of the rat race where we could relax in between the car adventures/festivities.
What a bonus it was staying at Currumbin Sands. Our first impression was a good one checking in with the minimum of fuss and being welcomed by the friendly staff. We had no concerns parking our "muscle car" in the undercover carpark and we were particularly impressed with the security and spaciousness of the parking area.
Our Unit was great and had everything we needed to make our stay comfortable and relaxing. I particularly enjoyed eating breakfast on our private veranda taking in the view of the beach and watching the passing parade of walkers and joggers and was impressed with the behaviour of the locals walking their four legged friends which provided me with endless entertainment!
The pool and surrounding area made it seem like we were a world away from the hussle and bussle of regular life.
The only downside was that our ten day stay flew by, not to worry, we will definitely be returning to Currumbin Sands!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank banaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
currumbinsands, Manager at Currumbin Sands on the Beach, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you, Banaro for your great review. We were happy to accommodate you and your husband and keeping you away from the rat race while still enjoying the events of Cooly's Rock. We try to keep guest car in secure parking no matter what their size. It sounds like you really took full advantage of the balcony while enjoying the activities of the passing 2 & 4 legged animals. We look forward in seeing you next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Currumbin Sands is great. Park your car and put your feet up! The apartments are clean and well-stocked. The facilities on site and the staff are great. There are a number of residents mixed in with holiday makers so makes for new friends and great conversations around the pools:-) You really don't have to go anywhere and don't have to cross a road to get to the beach or to the great play area for the children just outside the premises and a café too. If you do need groceries then nearest shops really close by. All in all a great place to stay. We prefer the units facing the ocean but everyone has their own preference and they have garden or pool facing units to choose from too.

Room Tip: We prefer the ocean facing rooms but estuary facing would be good too. On another visit we stayed fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kaz088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
currumbinsands, Manager at Currumbin Sands on the Beach, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Kaz088 thank you for such a wonderful review of your recent stay at Currumbin Sands. Great to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of our resort and made the most of the pools, beach cafe and park and felt that you didn't have to get in your car. Always feels like a true holiday when you can just relax and stay put. Look forward to you coming to stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Beach
1.3 mi away
19th Avenue on the Beach
19th Avenue on the Beach
#1 of 3 in Palm Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bay of Palms Resort
Bay of Palms Resort
#1 of 1 in Elanora
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
4.3 mi away
Nirvana By The Sea
Nirvana By The Sea
#1 of 12 in Coolangatta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Royal Palm Resort
Royal Palm Resort
#5 of 15 in Palm Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
0.0 mi away
Princess Palm On The Beach Apartments Gold Coast
1.1 mi away
Sanctuary Lake Apartments
Sanctuary Lake Apartments
#1 of 1 in Currumbin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Currumbin Sands on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Currumbin Sands on the Beach

Property: Currumbin Sands on the Beach
Address: Currumbin Sands 955 Gold Coast Hwy, Palm Beach, Gold Coast, Queensland 4221, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Palm Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Palm Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Currumbin Sands on the Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palm Beach and Currumbin Area: The local Palm Beach and Currumbin area is attracting continued growth in riverside cafes, beachside restaurants, shops and of course the popular Currumbin RSL is always packed giving holiday makers a wide choice of dining. Kids and adults alike love the Gold Coast for Australia’s best theme parks, and the friendly onsite management team can help you book your theme park tickets and advise you on the newest or most popular tours and attractions.•Absolute beachfront location •Adjacent to the Currumbin marine estuary, Dune Cafe and large pirate themed children's park•3 swimming pools (1 heated) - 2 heated spas •4 separate barbeque areas on the resort grounds•Spacious 1, 2 & 3 bedroom self-contained apartments•Main bedrooms with ensuite bathroom. Fully equipped kitchen with microwave & dishwasher•Ceiling fans in all bedrooms & lounges (air-conditioning available)•Direct dial phone - security intercom access to all buildings•Tropical landscaped gardens, waterfalls and brook•Security gated basement parking•Apartments on 3 levels serviced weekly•Units include full laundry facilities•Lifeguard tower and SLSA patrolled beach•Close to major retail outlets at The Pines•Resident managers and tour desk advice•Foxtel*Wireless internet available ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Currumbin Sands on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Currumbin Sands On The Beach Palm Beach, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing