We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great stay.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Currumbin Sands on the Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Currumbin Sands on the Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great stay.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

Stayed from Sunday 10th March until Friday 15th March. Our apartment was on the 1st floor which was preferable with three little ones (aged 2, 3 & 4). Being on the 1st floor and facing the ocean this also gave us direct access to the beach (via the rear gate) and the pathway to the calm water and park. Direct access was via stairs from our very spacious back patio/balcony, again ideal and preferable with a swag of littlies.
The rooms were clean and tidy and presentable and functional. The kitchen was roomy and pleasant and well equipped. The apartment as a whole was pleasant, appealing and very comfortable.
Staff all seemed genuinely friendly and happy to chat and help with all inquiries.
As a facility we were totally satisfied and pleased with our choice of accommodation, our only inconvenience was that there is no shop within a short walking distance for conveniences like milk, bread or basic groceries. Likewise; there are no take away food places within a short walking distance. This just meant a brief car trip each time we wanted/needed basic items or take away meals though. The Dune cafe is close but is only open for breaky and lunch and is not a "go to" place for bread and milk etc of course. It was very nice but the menu was a bit ..... dare I say "pretentious" for my own personal, humble and basic liking.
Our three boys loved the pools and I must say they are kept and maintained to an immaculate standard as are the gardens and lawns. The Pirate park playground right next door was an enormous hit too, in fact our eldest preferred being there rather than the beach (sadly).
Overall we were very pleased with Currumbin Sands, its staff, facilities and location and we had a wonderful 5 night stay.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ocean side, facing the open ocean on the first floor have beach access from your room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
currumbinsands, Manager at Currumbin Sands on the Beach, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Andrew thank you very much for taking the time to post your very positive review on Trip Advisor. We do truly value what our guests have to say and are always happy to hear that guests have had a great holiday time with us. Glad that the children were able to enjoy the pools and yes the large balconies on the ground floor units are fabulous for littlies. The Pirate Park is always such a hit with children as is the calm water in the lagoon. I'm sorry you needed to hop in the car for basic supplies but I am hoping we pointed out that the Coles supermarket is about a 10 - 15 minute walk up the road and the cafes and take out places also a 15 minute walk. Not any good if you have all your littlies with you though I understand!! We do hope you are able to come and stay with us again next Summer and make sure you book early for the ocean front ground floor units as they are very popular. See you again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    42
    9
    4
    2
See reviews for
87
16
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kobe, Japan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

I grew up on the lower part of the GC, and it felt strange to come back to stay in a resort in my hometown, but this place was really comfortable (had some of the same fittings as the house I grew up in- but most fittings and fixtures were far more modern - quite a new renovation from what I could tell). It was great to be a guest in a place I'd driven past so many times, but never knew existed. The apartments themselves, are tucked away just of the edge of the Gold Coast highway. Convenient, but secluded enough to feel truly 'private'.

This place is great for kids, and really convenient if you want to visit both the southern and northern parts of the Goldy. Car access to and from is very easy. I wouldn't enjoy this place without a car, but I needed to go to places that most tourists wouldn't go. Most people could get away without a car. Just be careful of the GC taxis, and when they switch the meter on. I had a $30 ride to the airport, including a short wait for luggage to be loaded (this is expensive for me. It's practically the suburb next to the GC airport, or so I thought).

My family arrived late (be careful on a Sunday - office closes at noon), but there was no problem with getting into the apartment. There was a slight problem with our fridge, but somebody came to have a look at it the same day.

We had noisy visitors for an evening, but we were tucked away far enough to not have any complaints (I think that was why - thank you!).

Next time, I'll inquire about apartment location. I booked a discount room on an third-party website, so I didn't expect a full ocean view (unfortunately, my wife did >_<).

All around, an enjoyable trip, and I hope to book directly with you guys next time. Thanks for the quiet and relaxing place.

Chad

Visited Feb 23rd-28th, 2013.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chad M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
currumbinsands, Manager at Currumbin Sands on the Beach, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Chad, Thank you so much for your comprehensive review posted about your recent stay at Currumbin Sands. We discuss all our reviews and take action where necessary, but what is important also is that these comments posted by past guests really do help future guests when they are deciding where to stay for their Gold Coast Holiday. I'm glad that you had a great stay and managed to catch up with your friends in our peaceful and relaxing setting. What a shame about the Queensland weather this Summer but you will have to come back and stay with us again in the sunshine! Once again thank you so much for your kind words and we do look forward to welcoming you back again when you return to the GC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

The complex is ideal for a family relaxing holiday. The main pool is ideal for those days you need to just veg out. The surrounds also offer the best of surf beaches or quiet lagoons. Fishing, surfing, swimming, or just quiet walks along the beach. The units are comfortable and convenient to all activities. There is a great Dune restaurant 100 metres for breakfast or lunch and they serve the best chips for hungry grandkids. Recommended for an all round relaxing family holiday. Will definitely come again.

Grandparents with two grand children.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
currumbinsands, Manager at Currumbin Sands on the Beach, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear John C thank you very much for your recent review posted on Trip Advisor. We appreciate the time our guests take to post their comments and appreciate your feedback very much. Glad that you had a great time with your grandchildren and I'm sure you enjoyed some relaxing time at the Dune Cafe overlooking the lagoon too! See you again next year. Denise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

My 2 daughters 6 and 8 had a magnificent stay for 6 nights. Our back yard was the Oceon, The Lagoon, The Pirate playground and a beautiful Cafe. That was when you turned right from the front gate. Turn left you have a strip of Golden sand and rolling waves, witha variety of eateries around. You would be very hard to please if this destination does not please. Especially if you love dogs. The worlds best dog beach is also there. The accommodation was fantastic and the staff very helpful.. We will go again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ourfamilyfuninthesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
currumbinsands, Manager at Currumbin Sands on the Beach, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you so much for your recent comments posted on Trip Advisor. We are so thrilled to hear that you and your daughters had the best holiday and took advantage of everything that the surroundings have to offer. We look forward to you holidaying with us again. Denise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

We checked into Currumbin Sands into a ground level 2 bedroom apartment a couple of days prior to New Years eve and I have to say it was a very relaxing and enjoyable stay. My mother requires a walking aid and the location and amentities were excellent and suited her very well. My two boys (aged under 8) were both excited by the swimming pools, the fabulour playground next door and the fantastic lagoon and beach which happened to be a stones throw away.

Would highly recommend this location and facility to anyone looking at holidaying in beautiful Gold Coast region. The staff were extremely helpful to our needs and made this stay a very memorable experience.

Thank you for the memories.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kiehlko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
currumbinsands, Manager at Currumbin Sands on the Beach, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Kiehlko, Thank you for taking the time to post your comments with Trip Advisor. We are very happy to hear that our resort and it's facilities and location was enjoyed by 3 generations of your family. Tends to make holidaying very pleasant!! The adjacent safe lagoon for swimming and paddling, pirate park playground and the cafe are a winning combination with everyone who stays. As well as having the surf beach out the front we think we cater for everyone.
We hope to see you all back at Currumbin Sands for your next holiday. Denise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

This place has it all, pool, spa, patrolled surf beach on its door step, self-contained apartments, BBQ, great undercover parking, Foxtel and Air Con.

We were overjoyed at having found such a wonderful holiday destination after having stayed at several quite mediocre holiday rentals over the years.

We met loads of great people in the pool, and down at the estuary while fishing, and really enjoyed our time there.

What a pity the staff don't match their surrounds!

We have never been spoken to so rudely, and in such an accusatory manner in all our lives.

BEWARE.

Room Tip: Check the ceiling fans as soon as you arrive, as ours are noisy and we couldn't sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DisgustedGuest2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
currumbinsands, Manager at Currumbin Sands on the Beach, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to make your comments on Trip Advisor. We do take all comments posted very seriously - so this includes both negative and positive reviews. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us at Currumbin Sands with our great location and resort facilities but we are very sorry that you didn't receive the service that we pride ourselves on. We have since had a staff meeting and your comments were discussed and we apologise for any rudeness that you expericnced. We would love to see you back with us in 2013. Denise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

First let me start off saying the rooms are pretty good and the location and views are very nice as well. Surf was very dumpy and allarge pull in the water but that's the way of the season.

Some let downs are that it's located right next to a dog beach. So if you have dogs I'm sure it's great, but otherwise you have to walk through sand that is oddly wet to get to the beach. Secondly the place is like fort knocks. You need to swipe to get in and out of the perimeter fence, then swipe in and out of the pool fence, then key to the staircase then key to your room. I love security but the pool fence is just overboard and an inconvenience.
The cleaners were at our door at 830 trying to kick us at upon exit which I found very rude. They didn't even enquire if we were nearly out nicely.

I wouldn't stay here again but at the same time it was a pleasant stay with a few minor annoyances. So if you haven't been to this area before and don't mind any if the things I listed above then it may be worth a look for you.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trentgibbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
currumbinsands, Manager at Currumbin Sands on the Beach, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Trentgibbo, Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor. We are sorry that you found our complex too secure but we make no apologies for this with small children and swimming pools, the majority of our guests stay here because of our top security. There is a dog park to the south of Currumbin Sands but immediately in front and to the north there is 3km's of beach that is a non dog area. With regards to our cleaners we have discussed your concerns with them and they assure us this isn't there usual practice, so we are very sorry this was unpleasant for you. Unfortunately at such a busy time of the year guests are arriving as soon as guests are leaving and it can be a very stressful time for cleaners with time constraints. Once again we apologise for this. We would like to think you would come back for a vist at some time in the future. Denise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Beach
1.3 mi away
19th Avenue on the Beach
19th Avenue on the Beach
#1 of 3 in Palm Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bay of Palms Resort
Bay of Palms Resort
#1 of 1 in Elanora
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
4.3 mi away
Nirvana By The Sea
Nirvana By The Sea
#1 of 12 in Coolangatta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Royal Palm Resort
Royal Palm Resort
#5 of 15 in Palm Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
0.0 mi away
Princess Palm On The Beach Apartments Gold Coast
1.1 mi away
Sanctuary Lake Apartments
Sanctuary Lake Apartments
#1 of 1 in Currumbin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Currumbin Sands on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Currumbin Sands on the Beach

Property: Currumbin Sands on the Beach
Address: Currumbin Sands 955 Gold Coast Hwy, Palm Beach, Gold Coast, Queensland 4221, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Palm Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Palm Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Currumbin Sands on the Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palm Beach and Currumbin Area: The local Palm Beach and Currumbin area is attracting continued growth in riverside cafes, beachside restaurants, shops and of course the popular Currumbin RSL is always packed giving holiday makers a wide choice of dining. Kids and adults alike love the Gold Coast for Australia’s best theme parks, and the friendly onsite management team can help you book your theme park tickets and advise you on the newest or most popular tours and attractions.•Absolute beachfront location •Adjacent to the Currumbin marine estuary, Dune Cafe and large pirate themed children's park•3 swimming pools (1 heated) - 2 heated spas •4 separate barbeque areas on the resort grounds•Spacious 1, 2 & 3 bedroom self-contained apartments•Main bedrooms with ensuite bathroom. Fully equipped kitchen with microwave & dishwasher•Ceiling fans in all bedrooms & lounges (air-conditioning available)•Direct dial phone - security intercom access to all buildings•Tropical landscaped gardens, waterfalls and brook•Security gated basement parking•Apartments on 3 levels serviced weekly•Units include full laundry facilities•Lifeguard tower and SLSA patrolled beach•Close to major retail outlets at The Pines•Resident managers and tour desk advice•Foxtel*Wireless internet available ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Currumbin Sands on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Currumbin Sands On The Beach Palm Beach, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing