We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Beaches On Wave Street Gold Coast
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Mermaid Beach
Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Never again”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

My family stayed here last week (2 adults, 2 kids) and were disappointed from the outset.
It is a very good example of you get what you pay for. We had a filthy rug and filthy couches in the lounge, unwashed bed cover, and as for paying "up to $100" for not emptying your own rubbish, don't get me started!!! The room stunk and needed repainting, the taps were noisy, only found one cockroach though....Best bit was the underground carpark, except it had a broken door handle as well.....Lastly on our final day housekeeping knocked on the door at 9.50am to clean when it was a 10am checkout...... Definately will not be going back.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor have the stairwell door continually slamming beside them as other guests c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank raytriplej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    25
    15
    14
    1
See reviews for
37
17
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Armidale
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Don't bother! We were in an apartment above the carpark, and the whole stairwell absolutely stunk like cigarettes, as did the whole complex, which was coming from one of the other apartments. The mattress was sunken and filthy, and every time somebody turned on a tap in one of the units it drowned out conversation! Definitely far better options for accommodation.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emnarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mermaid Beach hotels

Canberra, Australia
1 review
Reviewed August 28, 2012

The rooms themselves I think are pretty reasonable for the money - a little low on light as some people say, but I really found the service by far the worst part of our stay. We stayed for a week and the dishwasher broke down on the second day. Didn't see a serviceman for the rest of our stay and the dishwasher wasn't fixed before we left. The solution from Bob - wash up, which I did. Some holiday! I'd say if you'd like to actually relax on your holiday there are plenty of other great places to choose from on the coast - I certainly wouldn't bother going back to this one...

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

My family and I stayed here in Nov 2011. This a great alternative place to stay if you want to be just out of the Broadbeach area. We had a hire car so getting around was on our terms and the basement garage provided secure parking. Pacific Fair was a short 5min drive away. We had a ground floor 2 bed apartment which was clean and well appointed. The compleax was a short walk from a nice block of shops that had everything we needed as well as the beach and surf club (excellent food and reasonably priced) at the end of the road. Our teenage boys made full use of the pool and spa which was clean and well maintained. Overall this was a great place to stay for us and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2012

Where to begin.. we booked a one bedroom apartment, however when we arrived the only room available was two bedroom, this wasn't an issue initially, until a few hours later we received a phone call asking us not to use the second bedroom, as we had only booked for one.
This wasn't a problem, until we discovered dead cockroaches in our bathroom and cupboard.. and to top it off.. dirty men's underwear in the sofa bed.
To add to the uncomfortable circumstances, we later discovered the fees.. towel use fees, toilet paper fees, milk, tea and coffee fees, and to top it off, air conditioning fees, which we weren't told about upon check in and only noticed after hours..

At least the pool was nice..

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ashlynbriggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lithgow, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2012

We booked this as a last resort because everywhere else was booked and we were pretty shocked by it's cheap prices and good accommodation. It had a basic bathroom with laundry facilities. A bedroom with wardrobe & tv. A kitchen with basic utensils/plates etc. And a loungeroom with two lounges & a big tv with digital tv. Also it had a balcony. We also used the pool/spa facilities with were good. It was great to be able to cook our own meals instead of take-away. Right near Nobby's Beach too.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Madsies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2011

Great having the convenience of a full kitchen, living room, and separate bedroom. Soundproofing is OK - as long as you don't have excessively loud neighbours your stay will be quiet. It's spacious enough for our energetic toddler to roam freely. Secure parking is a plus, although no lift access. Owners were helpful and friendly.

Location is good, 2 min from the beach and some shops. A short drive to major attractions in Gold Coast. Staying here was better than Surfers Paradise which was a lot more crowded and noisier.

Bad points - the shower is moldy and off putting. Not a great deal of sunlight even up one floor. I don't know if this is the norm in Gold Coast but charging extra for towels & air con seems quite stingy.

Overall good accommodation, would be a much better one if it had a major clean up.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank boolnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mermaid Beach
3.8 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
382 reviews
5.7 mi away
Bay of Palms Resort
Bay of Palms Resort
#1 of 1 in Elanora
127 reviews
1.8 mi away
Meriton Suites Broadbeach
Meriton Suites Broadbeach
#1 of 21 in Broadbeach
7,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Alpha Sovereign Hotel
Alpha Sovereign Hotel
#17 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
847 reviews
0.5 mi away
Miami Beachside Apartments
Miami Beachside Apartments
#74 of 129 in Gold Coast
43 reviews
0.5 mi away
Turtle Beach Resort
Turtle Beach Resort
#1 of 10 in Mermaid Beach
1,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beaches On Wave Street Gold Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaches On Wave Street Gold Coast

Property: Beaches On Wave Street Gold Coast
Address: Corner Wave Street & Petrel Avenue, Mermaid Beach, Gold Coast, Queensland 4218, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Mermaid Beach
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Mermaid Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Beaches On Wave Street Gold Coast 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Beaches On Wave Street Gold Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beaches On Wave Street Gold Coast Hotel Mermaid Beach
Beaches On Wave Street Gold Coast Mermaid Beach, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing