We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Quality Room Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Beaches On Wave Street Gold Coast
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Mermaid Beach
Townsville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Poor Quality Room Service”
Reviewed September 4, 2011

Upon arriving and finding our old discoloured 2002 TV and only being a TV with broken remote control we pushed on not to be discouraged and found into our second day we were short of toilet paper not being a full roll to begin with and a clean towel. After ringing and speaking to management we were advised that extra clean towels and toilet paper were either an extra charge or our own responsibility as our accommodation was fully self contained. The latter to me simply means that as a unit/flat kitchen, bathroom and lavatory are not shared facilities which has nothing to do with room service hence I reaquainted myself with their website and found no mention of the fact that our unit/flat was only serviced once a week. Sure Coffee and tea was supplied but only as a starter pack and not restocked. Being only able to stay short term (3 Days) you don't really expect to be carrying around a bundle of extra towels and toilet paper in your suitcase and albeit it should basically specify on their website what they have to offer for me to make a knowledgeable decision. It certainly doesn't deserve the ranking of 4 star for this type of accommodation. I believe the website to be a misconception of what is really on offer!

Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank surfndude56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    25
    15
    14
    1
See reviews for
37
17
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
qld
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2011

We stayed at Beaches On Wave Street with 2 young children. We enjoyed our stay. Our apartment was spacious and had all the basic needs. The pool area is nice and clean though the pool was very cold the heated spa was fantastic. The grounds are well maintained and clean. Short walk to a beautiful beach and the walk along the front of the beach walkways are nice with a great playground along the way. Located in a quiet area. Great secure parking, Very reasnably priced. Very helpful staff.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank warQld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2011

This all self contain apartment is in a great location for Nobby Beach just mins. away from the Ocean or Bus Rte. The apt. had all the basic one needs not fancy but nice and clean. The pool area and gardens are well kept. Bob & Jenny who run the place are great and very helpful. Check out the restaurants just around the corner "The Cave" has a great relaxing vibe-loved the garden area out back.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jmj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 12, 2009

We found the place to be well priced and the rooms were really nice. Also, the exterior was really nice, well maintained and the bus stop was only a short walk. The only negative was that the staff seemed a bit stressed, so soured our experience (but only a little). I would recommend this place to others.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rusty2862016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2009

We stayed at Beaches on Wave for a month and were very satisfied with the accommodations. The 3rd floor, corner, 2 bedroom, 2 bath apartment was roomy and with a breeze possible from two balconies and windows on three sides meant we never used the air conditioning even though temperatures were 30 degrees with humidity of 100% some days. We had only 1 cockroach try to enter the apartment from the stairwell and certainly did not have an infestation as reported in another review. In fact we saw only one cockroach on the entire grounds of the complex which since you are staying in the sub-tropics is exceptional. The management, Bob and his wife, could not have been more friendly or accommodating from the time of our son booking the apartment for us locally all the way through our stay. Bob always had time for conversation and was genuinely interested in making sure our stay was a pleasant one. The location is perfect, 3 short blocks to the beach ( 2 or 3 minute walk) and just around the corner from Nobby's Beach shops ( 2 bakers, butcher, grocery store, surf shops , several excellent restaurants, cafes and takeaways). The only negative is that street noise at night with the windows open can be a little loud but that is going to be true about every hotel and apartment located along the Gold Coast Highway. We definitely would stay at Beaches on Wave on our next visit to Australia.

  • Liked — Fantastic location to beach, shops, restaurants
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank DECretired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2008

Admittedly my stay was a while back, but after finding this website, I had to write a review.

The staff were very friendly and helpful in emails, and it was definately the best value. However we were given a ground floor apartment with no views, which was fine, except for the fact it was infested with cockroaches. We didn't complain at the time because we thought it was just commonplace, but of course it's definately not! Hindsight...

The apartment itself was fairly modern and nice, although dark because there was hardly any room for sun to get in, but the experience unfortunately was totally ruined for me and I would never go back. I only gave it a 2 rather than a 1 because it actually would have been great if it wasn't for that one major problem.

  • Stayed December 2005, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Malink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wavest, Manager at Beaches On Wave Street Gold Coast, responded to this review, September 28, 2010
As Managers of Beaches on Wave st for 2 1/2 years now we have regular pest control and also dragon lizards which keep all insects at bay so hopefully you'll give us another go
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mermaid Beach hotels

Dunedin, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2007

After extensive searching of the net decided to contact this property. Their own site has the best specials which travel agent said they couldn't hope to beat. Emailed owner with questions re location and the apartments, with the questions answered pretty briefly and not friendly - basically told "we are a very busy place and if we spend all our time answering questions wouldn't have time to have guests" etc. Nevertheless decided to give the guy the benefit of the doubt and pleased we did as the place itself is fantastic.

Located in Mermaid Beach a block back from bus stop and main shopping area. Heaps of restaurants nearby (the Italian one with plastic covers on outside has the most amazing steak!), and stores to get food from. Two blocks to beach, we were on top floor and couldn't see ocean but could hear it. Was a wee way out from the main Surfers area on bus, but does have underground parking if get a car which might have been better.

The grounds and apartments are in perfect condition. Nice pool and bbq area and spa etc. The apartments are secure and very spacious. We had a nice big lounge (couch not comfy though), with dining area and tv. Nice big balcony with clothes rack which was handy. The kitchen was outstanding - fully self catered, great oven and dishwasher etc. Very tidy and new. Nice big bathroom with full laundry also so were completely sorted. Bedroom was not the biggest, but was big enough. Bed was very uncomfy however after a week, and the pillows were extremely thin. Even though we were sleeping so close to main road could not hear it with window shut, and not too noisy with it open.

After initial bad vibe from owner he did book us one activity and was kind of helpful, but definitely could have been better. However do not let this put you off as the accommodation itself is absolutely amazing and very well self-contained.

  • Liked — Location, self-catering, spacious
  • Disliked — Service, uncomfy bed
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nzamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mermaid Beach
1.8 mi away
Meriton Suites Broadbeach
Meriton Suites Broadbeach
#1 of 21 in Broadbeach
7,798 reviews
5.7 mi away
Bay of Palms Resort
Bay of Palms Resort
#1 of 1 in Elanora
126 reviews
3.8 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,529 reviews
0.5 mi away
Miami Beachside Apartments
Miami Beachside Apartments
#71 of 128 in Gold Coast
44 reviews
5.9 mi away
Meriton Suites Southport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beaches On Wave Street Gold Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaches On Wave Street Gold Coast

Property: Beaches On Wave Street Gold Coast
Address: Corner Wave Street & Petrel Avenue, Mermaid Beach, Gold Coast, Queensland 4218, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Mermaid Beach
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Mermaid Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Beaches On Wave Street Gold Coast 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Beaches On Wave Street Gold Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beaches On Wave Street Gold Coast Hotel Mermaid Beach
Beaches On Wave Street Gold Coast Mermaid Beach, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing