We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“better than expected” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of A'Montego Mermaid Beach Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
A'Montego Mermaid Beach Motel
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Mermaid Beach
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“better than expected”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

Hi we stayed here for three days and were very happy with our room after reading some of the reviews.
the reception staff were very friendly and helpful.
our room was basic but clean and had all that we needed in it for our short but plesant stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank william s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at A'Montego Mermaid Beach Motel, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to a return visit. We aim to provide comfort/cleanliness at all times along with good friendly service from our staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    23
    14
    8
    18
See reviews for
21
17
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
perth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

just a little stop over but had a lovely time. room was clean, comfortable and staff friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: great for a quiet stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maria r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at A'Montego Mermaid Beach Motel, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
We are happy you enjoyed your stop over we look forward to seeing you again. Your stay was during a quieter time lucky for you when you need it a bit quieter.
We also try to assist solo travellers with helpful hints for dining alone etc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

found this place on expedia.com.
Rang this motel to see if my booking when through to found out only one room had been booked not two (not the motels fault) the lady at motel was very helpful and friendly and fixed everything for me before i got there.
Was abit a bit scared of staying here as i had read the reviews but found the motel to be very clean i bit run down in some parts like spots on floors and wood peeling off but nothing that would stop me staying here again.
I was quite noisy as its on main road and could hear people going up and down stairs.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tinam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager1GoldCoast, Manager at A'Montego Mermaid Beach Motel, responded to this review, June 3, 2012
Glad that we were able to sort out the problem for you. As we are still trying to do some repair work we try our best to give our guests the best possible comfort that we can during our work in progress. As always if you are not happy with the room we have preselected for you we are happy to change it if other bookings allow us to do so. We look forward to future visits
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
58 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012

If you're looking for somewhere cheap & nasty in the Gold Coast, this is the spot for you.

PROS: The sheets, kitchenette and bathroom were clean (apart from the mould on the roof in the shower). Very close to Mermaid Beach (100m down the road)
CONS: Our room in particular was dark and dingey, the walls are thin so you can hear everything going on in the rooms around you, it's on the main highway so road noise is constant.

Would recommend for those who are heavy sleepers and just need a place to crash for the night.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ilovereggae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager1GoldCoast, Manager at A'Montego Mermaid Beach Motel, responded to this review, May 28, 2012
We are sorry for this guest experience however rooms that do not receive the winter sun can be darker than normal. We are happy to relocate any guest if they are not happy with the allocated room if bookings permit this. We take pride in ensuring all rooms are cleaned and sanitised to a high standard. We are currently still renovating some rooms and that requires working in with the high demand we have had in the previous week to allow the work to continue with minimal disruption to guests. For most guests our location is perfect and the street proximity is not a bother. This past weekend was a particular busy one with many activities on the Gold Coast The Sanctuary Cove Boat Show, along with the Blues on Broadbeach along with other lesser known activities, thus creating a high volume of traffic.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mermaid Beach hotels

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2012

Found this little motel on the internet. Clean and comfy had everything we needed.
Manager I think her name was Sherli was very helpful with local transport services and surrounding area. Would definately stay again

Room Tip: close to restaurants, and grocery shop. bus stops close by
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mary h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager1GoldCoast, Manager at A'Montego Mermaid Beach Motel, responded to this review, May 25, 2012
thanks guys glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antrim, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2012

Our Bowling team from Ireland stayed at this motel for a week and found it to be great value for money. the rooms were very spacious and clean - they had just been recently painted as the paint smell was still just there . The manageress Shirley was brilliant, always very pleasant and will ing to help us get to bowls venues and restaurants etc. A great location, in quiet area beside beach and lots of food spots. Thoroughly highly recommended and we will tell all our Irish friends if they come to this beautiful area where to stay

Room Tip: Ask manageress which best suits, as she is very Knowledgeable
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kieran m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager1GoldCoast, Manager at A'Montego Mermaid Beach Motel, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
Thanks guys we look forward to a future visit. I try my best to keep up to date with changing local information
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2012

We booked this motel from the pics on the internet, what a disgrace! The camera DOES LIE! I asked to inspect the room on arrival, and after smelling and seeing the black mould growing in the shower curtain hem and the group in the cubical, the broken towel rail (no rail), the stained carpet, broken window, torn fly screen, and broken vertical blinds, I advised we wished to cancel our booking, but guess what, THEY'D ALREADY TAKEN THE MONEY FROM OUR CREDIT CARD for one night, and she said "I can't refund it", horrified that they did that. Paint peeling from the walls, and pillows that were obviously that old and filled with other peoples sweat and bugs were flat and hard. I felt sick, we stayed the one night as they had taken the money without our knowledge. The vertical blind was broken and so privacy was nil - $130 per night, what a dirty filthy motel. Never ever again, and such poor service.

Room Tip: do not give cc details and inspect the room before you commit to your stay - you ARE THE CUSTOMER, n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liz J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager1GoldCoast, Manager at A'Montego Mermaid Beach Motel, responded to this review, April 27, 2012
We should mention that during the past few months our motel has been undergoing maintenance to rooms involving painting as well as upgrading blankets, pillows amongst other things. During this time it has also been a time of high demand for rooms in the area due to many Gold Coast event as well as Easter/School holidays and although some rooms were still only half completed were sold due to the high demand. Customer expectations can be high and can be let down at times of renovations.
We are sorry that the customers experience in this case was not as expected.
We also advertise on all sites that a non refundable deposit is processed on credit cards given as our standard practise to ensure their room is secured for their stay. We verbally advise this and also send an email to advise this has taken place. With other customer sites it advises that a deposit will be taken by the hotel.
All guests arriving that request to check a room are immediately shown to their room and if it does not meet their needs if bookings allow it we are happy to change rooms. We do endeavour at all times to ensure all guests have a positive experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mermaid Beach
6.3 mi away
Bay of Palms Resort
Bay of Palms Resort
#1 of 1 in Elanora
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
3.9 mi away
Alpha Sovereign Hotel
Alpha Sovereign Hotel
#17 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
3.2 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#16 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Aruba Surf Resort
Aruba Surf Resort
#13 of 21 in Broadbeach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
0.8 mi away
Browns at Broadbeach
Browns at Broadbeach
#20 of 21 in Broadbeach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
10.6 mi away
Bombora Resort Motel
Bombora Resort Motel
#11 of 12 in Coolangatta
3.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A'Montego Mermaid Beach Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A'Montego Mermaid Beach Motel

Property: A'Montego Mermaid Beach Motel
Address: 2395 Gold Coast Hwy, Mermaid Beach, Gold Coast, Queensland 4218, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Mermaid Beach
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Mermaid Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — A'Montego Mermaid Beach Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A'Montego Mermaid Beach Motel is a family owned motel in the heart of the Gold Coast region situated approx half an hour from the Gold Coast Domestic/International Airport and within a short 5 min drive to Surfers Paradise. Approx 50 metres from the Mermaid Beach with many great restaurants within walking distance and public transport is easy to catch with bus stops only metres from the entrance. Theme parks are within easy access via public transport or we can arrange shuttle pick up. Local supermarkets nearby for your shopping needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your A'Montego Mermaid Beach Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
A'Montego Mermaid Beach Motel Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing