We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised by this cheap & cheerful motel”

Mermaid Beach Motor Inn
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mermaid Beach Motor Inn
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Mermaid Beach
Reviewed December 9, 2009

Seeing as most our holiday budget was spent on flights, we needed to balance out costs by finding more budget accomodation, that provided comfort and basic facilities. We were not dissapointed by Comfort Inn at all.

Location-wise it's situated on (or just off) the gold coast highway, and only a 5-10 minute drive from surfer's Paradise. There are convenience stores literally a stones throw away, and the beach is a mere 3 minute walk away.

The room itself is great for the price. Smallish but not cramped at all for the 3 of us. the beds were comfortable, TV had cable channels (Fox sports for live premiership football!!), shower was fine and complimentary tea/coffee is provided. Our room was right next to the tiny swimming pool, which was probably 5m x 2.5m? There's plenty of space of cars, and u can park right in front of your room (if you're located on the ground of course.) Internet is free but slightly on the slow side which was the only thing i can really moan about.

There's a laundry upstairs which costs $4AUD a wash (powder sachets can be purchased at reception), and the drier is free (bonus).

Don't have much to say about the staff as we didn't need much help. But they seemed helpful enough whenever we did ask.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wai_j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (14)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 14 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2009

We spent 4 nights at the Comfort Inn on a quick getaway for the school holidays. The motel was very moderately priced and more than adequate for the three of us myself and my husband and daughter aged 6. We were out a lot and didn't really need lots of space or facilities so it was an affordable choice. Our room had a nice little balcony and while it was compact we weren't falling over each other. This accommodation is not the Hilton and is fairly plain, but if you are watching your pennies and plan to be out and about its a great choice and you can spend the money you save on the fun stuff.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kazatthebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2008

I recently spent one night at this Comfort Inn on a trip down the Queensland coast. I paid $130 AUS for my one night which didn't seem like a bad price for a weekend during this time of the year. The location is fairly good, although the motel is located on a very busy highway. It is only a short distance to a great beach and there are plenty of places to eat and shop at nearby.

My biggest problem was the size of the room. They are "tiny". There were 2 of us who were constantly having to step over each other. The pool is also quite small and not all that easy to get to.

All in all I suspect I could have found something more comfortable for a similar price had I shopped around a bit more. You might do well to see what else is available for your stay on the Gold Coast.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank highdesertbadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2006

Spent two nights here in Nov 06, only paid about 40 pounds for two nights, the room was clean and tidy and the couple who run the hotel are friendly and very helpul, great location as you're only a couple of hundred yards from the magnificent beach which seems to go on forever, also very close to the giant shopping centre Pacific Fair, Maybe not suitable for families with young children as the Motel situated very close to the main Gold coast Highway although it's not likely you'll be spending much time in the Motel with so many great places to visit. Loads of bus'es to take you to Surfers paradise and all the main tourist attractions, Oh if you are staying here over the wkend make sure you check out Fishermans Wharf on a sunday(some great bars with loads of live music and some very friendly Aussie girls)It Rocks!.

Stayed: October 2006
4  Thank Brucey72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2006

I chose to stay at this motel for its location to the venue of a family reunion. We were travelling in from London and hadnt been to the Gold Coast area of Australia before. It was a nice surprise to find it was only a short walk to an amazing stretch of beach. The room was well equipped, cleaned daily, air conditioned and quiet, with a mini fridge to keep drinks cold, and plenty of tea bags!
the owners (a couple), were both friendly and helpful, giving advice on local transport, where to eat, and some of the attractions we could do from Surfers Paradise which is only a short bus ride away.
we'd come back to stay here - the location is brilliant if you don't want to be caught up in the midst of touristy and noisy Surfers Paradise, but close enough to Broadbeach cafes to have lots of choice of where to go of an evening. Good value and that beach is amazing!

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank LT1411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2006

I stayed at this motel for 2 nights. Although the rooms were reasonably priced they were small but did provide basic amenities. On the 2nd night of my stay I accidentally locked myself out of my room at about 10.30PM. There was no other way of getting into my room and although the main office was closed when i rang the beel for assitance I was given a very rude and upsetting reception by the owner of the motel who was very disrespectful to me even though I was apologetic. After she gave me another key to my room I said I would return it right away after I opened the door to my room but she said to just go away and return it in the morning as she wanted sleep. My only other option would be to sleep in my car i nthe carpark of the motel overnight. I found this experience very upsetting and I would advise travellers from using this motel.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank kiwitraveller25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gaby51, Owner/Manager at Mermaid Beach Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2006

Firstly apologies for any actions that have upset this guest. Secondly, although our advertised opening hours are 7.30am until 8pm 7 days per week in actual fact we are consistently open a lot later and cater to guests at all hours and endeavour to be as helpful as possible. We know people may be out of their comfort zone and try to assist with all their requirements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2015
Thank Freeman1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mermaid Beach
0.6 mi away
Quality Hotel Mermaid Waters
Quality Hotel Mermaid Waters
#1 of 1 in Mermaid Waters
230 reviews
0.8 mi away
Meriton Suites Broadbeach
3.2 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#11 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Star Grand at The Star Gold Coast
0.4 mi away
Tropicana Motel Mermaid Beach
Tropicana Motel Mermaid Beach
#2 of 10 in Mermaid Beach
116 reviews
0.9 mi away
Surf Street Motel
Surf Street Motel
#7 of 10 in Mermaid Beach
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mermaid Beach Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mermaid Beach Motor Inn

Address: 2481 Gold Coast Highway, Mermaid Beach, Gold Coast, Queensland 4218, Australia (Formerly Eco Sleep Motel)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Mermaid Beach
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Mermaid Beach
Price Range: $1,218 - $1,271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mermaid Beach Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Mermaid Beach
Mermaid Beach Comfort Inn
Mermaid Beach Motor Inn Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing