We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely oasis” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Diamond Sands Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Diamond Sands Resort
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Mermaid Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Ballina, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A lovely oasis”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

We, our family of 5, stayed in a 3-bedroom apartment right near the beautiful lagoon pool which had different depths for everyone, and a spa, and had easy access to the underground carpark. We thought it well situated, good security, spacious, clean and comfortable. Also found the price very affordable and the office staff were friendly and helpful and made all our activity bookings for us. We would definitely stay there again. Well done Diamonds Sands.

Room Tip: Ground floor on the south side of the pool was quiet, spacious and a great location
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JUDY R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    47
    22
    17
    16
See reviews for
98
21
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stayed as a group, on a work team building trip, as was conveniently located, services was great, in central location was the pool, with pool bedding with sand gave the beach setting with a corner spa, pool was so awesome that made you welcome to take a dip as soon as you get up or finish your day with a dip, the rooms were clean and tide with full standard facility, had enough bedding for the group who were booked in 2 separate unit, which had 2 beds, i room was a master bedroom, the hot and cold shower was a difficult to control as it would either get too hot or too cold, as i preferred the cold shower with the heat outside, as only difficulty was taking suitcases up the stairs, and also taking down to parked van, as our van was over height so couldn't park under the apartment, but side parking was available at clear safe location, as apartment had security tag entrance, as that gave extra security for guest and their belongings, would love to go back if get a chance again.

Room Tip: Chose the top units to get good view, or bottom units if have lot of luggage
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manukaucherry80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

Our room was dirty and had an awful smell. The vacuum cleaner in the room was full of cigarettes despite it being a non-smoking room. The balcony was filthy. When we complained to management they did send up 2 cleaners to clean the balcony and bathrooms but there was no follow up from management after that. Generally doors, walls and carpets felt icky and sticky. Taps and toilets dripped, door handles came off doors, by the end of a 4 day stay we were over the room. In contrast, the pool was awesome. It was huge, well positioned, warm and designed well for the kids with the lagoon style.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andergrove A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsworth, Queensland, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

Fantastic accommodation with a family atmosphere. Nice and clean, always someone cleaning the outdoor areas (pool). Key entry through gates and undercover carpark. Friendly staff. Close to convenience stores and plenty of variety of nearby restaurants. I would definitely go back :))

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Gina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geelong
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed here with our extended family, so we rented out 5 apartments! The problem I have when apartments are individually owned they are up to different standards. Some were nicer than others, thats why now I prefer to rent directly off private owners!

The pools were great, the kids loved having space to run around! The only thing I wasn't keen on was the location, I would have rather stayed closer to Surfers Paradise!

But if you like staying on the highway this is fine then!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunshine35Geelong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed at Diamond Sands with our teenagers and found it an ideal base. The apartment quality may vary as all are individually owned. Ours, a 2-bed on the third floor was adequate rather than luxurious but the rental was cheaper than more centrally located apartments in Surfers' Paradise.The pool was nice to come back to and opens until 9pm. The reception staff were helpful and able to directly book trips and attractions. One small gripe - the wifi seemed expensive so we used the local Spa shop to re-confirm flights.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hmoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

I have just come back from some seriously needed escapism and found a little bit of paradise in Diamond Sands. The apartments are so homely and cater to all your holiday needs. The location could not be better situated to all the Gold Coast has to offer. Nothing is more than a short bus trip or stroll away. Hats go off to the Management and maintenance staff who work effortlessly and efficiently behind the scenes to ensure that the pool and grounds are bang up to scratch. Even though the resort has many units you can always find a wee niche somewhere to enjoy a leisurely swim or just sit back poolside and read a book. No unit is looked upon from anyone else as the planting has been cleverley thought out still allowing each unit a view of the pool surrounds. Never before have I felt so at home and wish that my holiday did not end so soon. Will definately be back and will continue to plug your resort to all family and friends. Thank you once again for sharing your little bit of paradise with me. Sharon Birch -Dunedin NZ

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mermaid Beach
1.4 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments - Broadbeach
0.7 mi away
Quality Hotel Mermaid Waters
Quality Hotel Mermaid Waters
#1 of 1 in Mermaid Waters
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
1.4 mi away
Aruba Surf Resort
Aruba Surf Resort
#13 of 21 in Broadbeach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,550 reviews
0.1 mi away
Turtle Beach Resort
Turtle Beach Resort
#1 of 11 in Mermaid Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
1.1 mi away
BreakFree Diamond Beach
BreakFree Diamond Beach
#6 of 21 in Broadbeach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diamond Sands Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamond Sands Resort

Property: Diamond Sands Resort
Address: 2320 Gold Coast Highway, Mermaid Beach, Gold Coast, Queensland 4218, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Mermaid Beach
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Mermaid Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Diamond Sands Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Diamond Sands Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamond Sands Hotel Mermaid Beach
Diamond Sands Mermaid Beach
Diamond Sands Resort Gold Coast/Mermaid Beach, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing