We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay at Diamond Sands”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Diamond Sands Resort
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Mermaid Beach
Reviewed November 17, 2011

Just returned from a family holiday at Diamond Sands. I have read all of the reviews and had a slight query over the place, but some of the reviews do not seem to bear much co-relation to the resort, and you wonder if it is the same resort they are reviewing or perhaps a competitor playing a nasty trick. We stayed in apartment 16 which didnt have a pool view, but this was a major benefit for us as we have 2 young children and this apartment is particularly quiet. Some reviews mention that you only get a starter pack of soap, laundry & dish washing detergents and loo paper on arrival, but this is common at all the apartment complexes on the Gold Coast and the comments seem to reflect the inexperience of the reviewer rather than a fault of the apartment complex. We found the resort to be great value for money, our apartment to be modern and clean, and the reception staff to be friendly and pleasant. The buses to the theme parks leave 15o metres north, and it is a good idea to buy Go Transport cards - cost is 35% cheaper than paying cash. We spent many lazy days just sitting around the great lagoon pool, with our kids in the pool at 7.30 in the morning, and wanting to stay all day. We had a couple of barbeques and had friends over who were staying at Turtle Beach. They wished they had booked in with us. We will defintiely be returning here for our family holidays - we loved the place

Room Tip: If you like a quiet apartment, request a first or second floor non poolside apartment - so much quie...
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jasonfatheroffour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (171)
There are newer reviews for Diamond Sands Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 171 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2011

We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment I requested a room with view of the pool and this was granted.
Cleanliness average
facilities as expected
However the couch was old, dirty and extremely uncomfortable ;-((
The bed was terrible it was so uncomfortable we might aswell have slept on the floor and the pillows why bother having them- we had never experienced anything like that we used to dread going to be......
Would I return no but at least it wasn't overly expensive.....

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mind2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2011

After reading some of the reviews, I was a little worried about booking in to Diamond Sands. However, we had a very pleasant time at this resort. We arrived in the evening, after reception had closed. It was very easy to find the phone outside the office, ring the number writtten down, and then access our keys in the nearby locked box.
We were in apartment 20, on the ground level. The apartment was quite modern, clean and attractive. A few of the fittings looked a bit tired, but this is not unexpected. The only criticism of the apartment would be that having a glass top table and coffee table with sharp edges might not be wise for toddlers, but our kids are older and this was fine.
The outside pool was lovely. The kids used it very often, and enjoyed the small sandy "beach" on the side. The spa was a little of a let down as it was tepid.
We didn't have any problems with noise until the final night - and that was not the fault of management; rather an inconsiderate neighbour upstairs who couldn't use an "inside voice" while sitting on the balcony until 2am, and her family gallomping up and down the stairs at top voice!
We have stayed previously at other resorts, and thought that Diamond Sands was very good value for money, and would have no hesitation recommending it - other than to suggest trying to get an upstairs apartment to minimise impact of inconsiderate neighbours.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kiwilisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2011

Our family recently returned from 8 nights at Diamond Sands (our first trip to the Gold Coast) and all we can say is we love it and can't wait to go back. Our 3 bedroom 2 bathroom apartment was spacious and very comfortable. We had a gorgeous view from our balcony over the resort pool through the palms. It felt like we were on a tropical island. The resort was in great walking distance to local shops, beach and restaurants, close to Pacific Fair Shopping complex and an easy drive to all the theme parks. We look forward to returning in the future.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shiree691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2011

Firstly, I was a bit worried after reading some of the reviews on here. We just spent 7 nights at Diamond Sands in a 2 bed aprtment ( no 52). The apartment was spotless when we walked in, no probs with hard beds , just fine. I found the lady in reception to be very nice & friendly when we checked in & the only other time I had to deal with her was when we checked out, no probs here either!! Are you sure you people were staying at the same place, lol.The pool is just beautiful, my kids loved it, but it looks like they are putting in a new pool fence around the area.This is the 2nd time I have stayed here, & both times were just fantastic.Just a hint for anyone going to the themeparks, first off go to the big newsagent in Pacific Fair & buy a Go Card for the local bus, it works out so much cheaper than the shuttles. I think it cost adult $10.80 return with the card, more expensive to pay the bus driver, they people at the newsagent are really good & will explain how it works.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking pool
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bigmumma60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2011

I have nothing nice to say. The room was not clean. We were not given the room we asked for over the phone. The manager was extremely rude and arrogant. My family visit the Gold Coast regularly. Unfortunately, we could not get into Turtle Beach this time so we stayed at Diamond Sands. Will never make this mistake again!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jac255068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

Apart from the unit being disgusting and dirty the Manager left a lot to desire. The manager was nothing but a bully who didn’t care if the customer was happy as long as he had someone to have a go at!! I will agree the pool is beautiful to look at but not worth it when there are so many properties to choose from. The cost for this property is not cheap, over priced. I don’t believe the property had been cleaned, may be by the quests themselves. A band over the toilet had been placed stating it had been cleaned. Oh dear if you see yellowish drops on the scratched toilet seat and hair it would say, NO! I really thought at the time this could not be that bad its me, but I read the reviews on my return to Tassie! Thick mould was also a concern. The unit was large but was in need of maintenance. Things had been broken and patched. The threat of having to pay $50 if you don’t remove your rubbish before leaving was just rude for the price of this property. That is while I feel the units are not cleaned by anyone only the poor customer! In all of the years I have travelled to the coast I rate this one the worst for dirt, over priced and the rudest manager ever. We tried to look pass the shabby unit because we didnt want it to ruin our holiday but not the rudeness of the manager and the price we paid. Diamond resort you get top award for the worst resort on the Gold Coast Turtle Island looks good and the reviews seem good - they may see us in a couple of months.

Room Tip: I am sorry i dont have anything good or helpful to say about this property. Except its not worth ru...
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank CME50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mermaid Beach
1.5 mi away
Meriton Suites Broadbeach
Meriton Suites Broadbeach
#1 of 16 in Broadbeach
8,004 reviews
2.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,655 reviews
0.7 mi away
Quality Hotel Mermaid Waters
Quality Hotel Mermaid Waters
#1 of 1 in Mermaid Waters
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Peppers Broadbeach
Peppers Broadbeach
#2 of 16 in Broadbeach
2,953 reviews
3.2 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,602 reviews
0.1 mi away
Turtle Beach Resort
Turtle Beach Resort
#1 of 10 in Mermaid Beach
1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diamond Sands Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamond Sands Resort

Address: 2320 Gold Coast Hwy, Mermaid Beach, Gold Coast, Queensland 4218, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Mermaid Beach
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Mermaid Beach
Price Range: $100 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Diamond Sands Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Diamond Sands Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamond Sands Hotel Mermaid Beach
Diamond Sands Mermaid Beach
Diamond Sands Resort Gold Coast/Mermaid Beach, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing