We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic holiday, beautiful resort” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Turtle Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Turtle Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Mermaid Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic holiday, beautiful resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2010

We loved our stay that this resort and would recommend to families. The apartment was beautifully appointed, very comfortable (especially the beds) and was exactly like the photos. Enjoyed every minute of our stay and would love to go back.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennikee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,054 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    402
    391
    153
    60
    48
See reviews for
846
38
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2010

I was concerned about staying at this hotel after reading the reviews on this website but wanted to set the record straight. We had a fantastic time at this hotel. The 2 bedroom room was incredibly spacious (much bigger than expected) and clean. The kitchen was modern and well equipped. The resort grounds were well maintained. The kids loved the pools, mini-golf and the cinema - they couldn't ask for more and didn't want to leave the resort to attend the theme parks. Location was fantastic and despite all the families holidaying away we had a peaceful time at the resort. My only issue with the hotel were the staff - they were indifferent and acted like they would rather be somewhere else. In the wet weather it would also be good if there was an undercover area for children to play including toddlers. I consider myself to be a discerning consumer and would not hesitate to recommend this resort for families with young children. If people want all the creature comforts of home maybe they should just stay at home.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Proudmumofthree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2010

Specifically asked for ground floor as we were travelling with our daughter and 15 month old grand daughter. Unfortunately this meant 17 concrete steps from the sub ground floor car park to our apartment carrying luggage, high chair and stroller. Walking around the complex with the baby in the stroller meant more stairs and lifting the stroller over steps to move between the levels.

The complex lends itself well to families with children who can move independtly of assistance. We had a very lovely meal at the pizzeria and the Rainforest Cafe at very reasonable prices and the meals were excellent.

Unfortunateley we experienced very bad weather for our stay, but it was easy to access the little row of shops across the road which offered chinese, subway, fish and chips etc.
We did get take away from the chinese next door which was deplorable and very expensive.

Our 2 bedroom apartment was very roomy and there was nothing lacking in making our stay comfortable. We would recommend this establishment to families of young children or older who will gain from the well maintained amenities.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nanna4a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide SA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2010

I stayed with my teenage daughter over the Christmas period. I'd stayed at another resort the year before, and eyed off Turtle Beach, because it looked great from the road. However, I didn't realise there were two complexes: one new and one not so, and we were housed in the not so new. While the rooms were quite nice, they were very small (we were in a one bedroom apartment) and we were hit with having to buy "extras" like dishwashing liquid; small sachets were supplied, but they only lasted a day. The balcony was so small it was a joke.

The resort was also very noisy. Every time someone came up the stairs and let themselves into their rooms, we heard it. I also discovered that our one bedroom apartment shared a common wall with a two bedroom "family" apartment... more noise! And the family next door smoked, so even if there was room to go out on the balcony, it was not a pleasant experience.

We didn't make the most of the facillities like the in-house cinema... because we couldn't find it! However, the onsite restaurant was pretty good, and prices were reasonable. The pools (more than one) were nice. The location of the resort was convenient: the bus was directly outside.

If you are wanting a family holiday that you share with other couples and their kids, this is probably the place for you. If you want a quieter experience, steer clear.

  • Stayed December 2008
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dileeshus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2010

We just got back from staying at Turtle Beach Resort. The location was great away from surfers. We found it clean and tidy. The Greenery around the resort was beautiful. Kids loved the tennis courts, playing golf and swimming. What we didn't like was the little creatures crawling around the kitchen bench. The beds/cushions were pretty bad (my back is still hurting) it was like sleeping on a piece of wood. We had the bottom level and i swear you could hear every single noise the person upstairs was doing (that drove me nuts). Also some people have no respect walking through the corridors early in the morning making so much noise it woke us up. The pizzas at the pizzeria were not crash hot. We were glad it was closed for 5 days during our stay. I doubt we will stay there again.

  • Liked — gardens
  • Disliked — beds
  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank vivaperth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2010

Fantastic location if you dont wont to stay in the hub of Surfers. Great facilities with lots of eating places and choice child friendly pools and activities within the resort. Close to eating places - buses available to all the major sights.

Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank LucyAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2010

We stayed for 2 nights with children. I heard this resort is Number One Family oriented resort in Australia. so, I booked and stayed with my family.
The truth is " terrible". We found 2 cockroaches from Kitchen during the first night.
I wonder how this resort can be the first ranked Aussie resort. This is shameful.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amsony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mermaid Beach
3.9 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,550 reviews
1.4 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments - Broadbeach
6.5 mi away
Sea World Resort
Sea World Resort
#2 of 5 in Main Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
NRMA Treasure Island Holiday Park
4.1 mi away
Paradise Resort Gold Coast
Paradise Resort Gold Coast
#14 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,360 reviews
1.0 mi away
BreakFree Diamond Beach
BreakFree Diamond Beach
#6 of 21 in Broadbeach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turtle Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Beach Resort

Property: Turtle Beach Resort
Address: 2346 Gold Coast Highway, Mermaid Beach, Gold Coast, Queensland 4218, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Mermaid Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Mermaid Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Turtle Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Turtle Beach Resort provides premier family accommodation set in a sub-tropical oasis just 300 metres to the beach. Truly a relaxing holiday home, the resort offers spacious one, two and three bedroom fully self contained apartments in a 3 storey walk up complex (please note we do not have lifts on site). Facilities include flat screen televisions and complimentary Foxtel channels. All apartments have balconies and terraces that overlook tropical greenery and manicured gardens. Take advantage of the extensive recreational facilities including 4 separate swimming areas with a mix of lagoon and lap swimming pools, waterslide, spa's, adults only pool and spa, Putt'n Around* our 15 hole themed putt-putt course, children's playground, 2 saunas, floodlit tennis court*, fitness room, games room*, 8 BBQ areas and FREE WiFi access. For those who prefer a slower pace, soak up the relaxed poolside atmosphere or send the kids to the cinema theatrette. Enjoy a woodfired pizza at our onsite restaurant 'The Deck' or pick up supplies at our onsite convenience store 'Fresh' which features a wide range of grocery items and an internet cafe. Turtle Beach Resort has designed a holiday program especially for the kids, packed with lots of fun activities to compliment our facilities. Club Turtle* is for kids aged four to twelve inclusive where they can choose to sit in and watch or join in the pre-arranged activities including creative art and craft sessions, big screen Wii interactive games, an Xbox only designated room for the game players, as well as party theme nights with Disco and Movies screenings. Our Exciting water playground 'Splash Zone" features 4 water slides, 2 toddler slides, dumping bucket, water cannons and lots more. Book for your family and friends..They will love you for it! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Turtle Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Beach Hotel Mermaid Beach
Sands Turtle Beach Hotel
Sands Turtle Beach Mermaid
Turtle Beach Resort Gold Coast/Mermaid Beach, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing