We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible, Shame on you.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Turtle Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Mermaid Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Queensland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Terrible, Shame on you.”
Reviewed February 15, 2010

We stayed for 2 nights with children. I heard this resort is Number One Family oriented resort in Australia. so, I booked and stayed with my family.
The truth is " terrible". We found 2 cockroaches from Kitchen during the first night.
I wonder how this resort can be the first ranked Aussie resort. This is shameful.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amsony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,095 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    417
    406
    160
    63
    49
See reviews for
879
41
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2010

We were very disappointed with every aspect of this "resort". Our so-called "executive apartment" was a big letdown - cheaply refurbished, small plasma TV in lounge, an ancient TV in main bedroom, very noisy location with hordes filing past our door from the 'adult pool' (which was supposed to close at 8pm) until late at night, and so poorly maintained. So many items in our apartment didn't work - both remotes, the DVD player (played green movies), ceiling fans in both rooms (so we barely slept because only the lounge area was airconditioned), balcony sliding door. But according to the young and very disinterested reception staff (obviously backpackers) nothing could be done to fix them because no maintenance person worked on weekends. The nighttime security man could come if we liked, though why anyone want a security man fixing things in their apartment at 10pm wasn't explained. When the maintenance man did arrive on Monday we were told that we'd have to recable the dvd everytime we needed to use it and that an electrician would be needed to fix the fans. Just what we wanted - a succession of tradespeople filing through our holiday. The service staff were wholely unsympathetic and treated us as if we were a right royal pain. One young woman simply hung up the phone. Later I found out I'd rung a little too close to her knock-off time. With respect to the rest of the "resort", the pools were small, tired looking, completely overcrowded and poorly supervised (and therefore unsafe). The much lauded "games room" was this poorly-maintained pokey little room with a few games and a broken-down airhockey in the basement car park. My children were very unimpressed with all of it. And worst of all is the location - on the vey noisy Gold Coast Highway close to nowhere. No beach, no nightlife, nothing interesting at all. Just a fast food corner!
After much angst and quite a bit of anger, a reluctant manager approved a refund minus the two nights (we only stayed one). We went and found a much quieter, breezy, well-maintained apartment close to everything, where the reception staff were polite and made us feel that nothing was too much trouble. We've travelled the world and Turtle Beach rates as among our worst stays.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tia49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2010

Stayed here for 4 nights with wife and 6 y.o. son after trawling the web for something round Mermaid Beach that was good value and had kid friendly pools.
Managed to get 2br apartment for $95 a night after ringing them which I think is exceptional value.
Arrived in from NZ early morning and with a 2pm check in they offered us a day pass to the resort, and called us when the room was ready. However we ended up going to Wet N Wild for the day and stocked up on supplies at the supermarket on the way back (recommended as convenience store prices are so mugh higher) English girl at checkout really helpful and friendly
Our room was on first floor near reception and despite worries of noise it was fine. Good size, air con, full kitchen, ensuite. I see comments on beds being uncomfortable - 'hotel hard' is the way I found them, no problem for me but my wife didn't like them
Plenty of pools though they can get pretty crowded. Little pools, big pools - only thing missing was like a sandy lagoon but then maybe I'm a bit overfussy. This is a big complex and really spread out so if you like small and compact not for you
Son went to cinema and watched X Men, all good there.
Mermaid Beach has pretty much everything you want without the high rises of Main Beach. Great surf club at Nobby Beach, Pacific Fair mall nearby etc
Highly recommended if you've got kids who love swimming. Wife used treadmill in gym and had no complaints
One point is that they seem to charge for everything apart from the bare essentials - extra towels, only minimal teabags etc, no salt & pepper etc

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hardsell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queensland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2010

we've just returned from a 5 night stay at this resort, and found we will never return, due to the fact ours backs were aching from the springs sticking out of the bed, we chose a ground floor 2 bdr apartment so we didn't have to lug up flights of stairs, the people above us were like elephants, and you can here the doors slam that access the resort from the rooms, which were slammed quite frequently. The rooms were o.k and very clean, the pizza was very nice, and the bakery outside the complex was fresh and made a nice cake for my daughters birthday, the pools were great except there's not enough room to people ratio, there is'nt great deal of room around pools or chairs, i think we got chairs twice in our 5 night stay. Cafe was nice food but very expensive, $50 for breakfast for 2ad/2ch . Massage was great........ Very disapointed at the noise and bad beds, we are'nt spoilt with our bed at home either, you could literally feel the springs sticking out.......

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank V8Lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2010

If you are thinking of staying here understand that this is equivalent to a 3star property. Sure it might have putt putt albeit around the resort, tennis courts ok fair enough, the pools are ok old,clean but salty not blue, the cinema is def for little ones, the reception staff are young and inexperienced. So overall it is ok but I have to say the rooms were average as far as cleanliness. You could tell that they had a quick wipe over. I expected more for a 41/2 star. Also the gym, only the rowers, treadmill and bikes were working. All the weight machines etc were out of order with minimal signage. While I am staying and paying at peak time I would have expected better. Overall good location but average property. Ok maybe for little ones, but even so still the accommodation is average as far as quality.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank huttshouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 11, 2010

Definitely family orientated - will definitely be back with the kids

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diver73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2009

We stayed at Turtle Beach in October for 7 nights, and thoroughly enjoyed it. There were 4 Adults and 2 kids (8yrs + 5yrs) we stayed in a 3 bedroom apartment. I cannot say a bad word about this place for us it was fantastic. Everything was modern and very clean. The location was fantastic with a great bakery next door, chicken shop, chinese restaurant, cheesecake shop, noodle box and subway. So you don't have to go far to get something to eat. We had pizza at the resorts pizzeria and it was beautiful. They also have a Rainforest Cafe but we didn't need to use it. They also have a convenience store aswell which is good it had internet facilities . Basically you don't have to leave Turtle Beach everything is right there. Pacific Fair is just down the road couple of minutes by car. We are definitely going back to stay again. Turtle Beach thanks for a great holiday!!!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mermaid Beach
1.3 mi away
Meriton Suites Broadbeach
Meriton Suites Broadbeach
#1 of 21 in Broadbeach
7,395 reviews
3.9 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
2,633 reviews
5.3 mi away
Meriton Suites Southport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Paradise Resort Gold Coast
Paradise Resort Gold Coast
#15 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
1,397 reviews
8.5 mi away
NRMA Treasure Island Holiday Park
6.5 mi away
Sea World Resort
Sea World Resort
#2 of 5 in Main Beach
4,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turtle Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Beach Resort

Property: Turtle Beach Resort
Address: 2346 Gold Coast Highway, Mermaid Beach, Gold Coast, Queensland 4218, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Mermaid Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Mermaid Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Turtle Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Turtle Beach Resort provides premier family accommodation set in a sub-tropical oasis just 300 metres to the beach. Truly a relaxing holiday home, the resort offers spacious one, two and three bedroom fully self contained apartments in a 3 storey walk up complex (please note we do not have lifts on site). Facilities include flat screen televisions and complimentary Foxtel channels. All apartments have balconies and terraces that overlook tropical greenery and manicured gardens. Take advantage of the extensive recreational facilities including 4 separate swimming areas with a mix of lagoon and lap swimming pools, waterslide, spa's, adults only pool and spa, Putt'n Around* our 15 hole themed putt-putt course, children's playground, 2 saunas, floodlit tennis court*, fitness room, games room*, 8 BBQ areas and FREE WiFi access. For those who prefer a slower pace, soak up the relaxed poolside atmosphere or send the kids to the cinema theatrette. Enjoy a woodfired pizza at our onsite restaurant 'The Deck' or pick up supplies at our onsite convenience store 'Fresh' which features a wide range of grocery items and an internet cafe. Turtle Beach Resort has designed a holiday program especially for the kids, packed with lots of fun activities to compliment our facilities. Club Turtle* is for kids aged four to twelve inclusive where they can choose to sit in and watch or join in the pre-arranged activities including creative art and craft sessions, big screen Wii interactive games, an Xbox only designated room for the game players, as well as party theme nights with Disco and Movies screenings. Our Exciting water playground 'Splash Zone" features 4 water slides, 2 toddler slides, dumping bucket, water cannons and lots more. Book for your family and friends..They will love you for it! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Turtle Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Beach Hotel Mermaid Beach
Sands Turtle Beach Hotel
Sands Turtle Beach Mermaid
Turtle Beach Resort Gold Coast/Mermaid Beach, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing