We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place Shame About The Theft!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Turtle Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Mermaid Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 15, 2009

We had a two bedroom unit on the 3rd floor (stair access only). Room was ok. Cooking utensils not cleaned. The pools were cleaned and maintained everyday and kid friendly. There are two restaurants at the resort - would recommend the pizza very nice. Public transport right out the front, however as its on the highway it gets very busy, particulary if you are wanting to go to the beach which is 5-10 minute walk. Beach is very clean and suitable for families. Our biggest disappointment was that our room was broken into and some belongings were stolen. Management seemed very helpful in the beginning however that all stopped once we returned back to Victoria.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank heych
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CTSManager, Manager at Turtle Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2009

The Gold Coast provides the idyllic environment to holiday; the sun, the sand and a world of entertainment. Unfortunately, there is a criminal element that does exist and holiday makers are targeted. Sands Turtle Beach Resort welcomed the support of its Body Corporate with the install of an electronic proximity lock system throughout the apartments and common areas in September 2008. They also provide the funds for onsite security outside of reception hours. Whilst a deterrent, we continue to make all attempts to ensure guests remain alert and secure valuables, lock doors and windows and keep personal items out of sight. It is unfortunate to hear that, despite all efforts, our guests are still impacted by criminal activity. We do offer support on the property and would continue to assist police with any enquiry. We are, however, not in a position to cover for lost guest property and would highly recommend all guests ensure their travel insurance is current and that they bring only essential valuables with them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,147)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,058 - 1,064 of 1,147 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2009

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in a 2-bedroom apartment for the 1st week in April. Weather not great while we were there, rained a lot, but still warm. The room was clean and showed very little signs of wear. The lounge chairs were replaced with new cushions while we were there as were the bedspreads. Very nice, good quality ones that will wear well. We were impressed with the security (you need to carry your keycard everywhere so you can access room, stairwells, gates, etc). Never heard any traffic noise though sitting on the balcony at night you could hear neighbours and people walking past so not quiet then but this was not a biggie.
We had one meal at the Rainforest Cafe and enjoyed it. Friendly staff and lovely fresh food, You could tell it was cooked fresh on the premises and not just reheated and served up to you.
Internet was a little expensive but we often ate breakfast at the MacDonalds close by in Broadbeach and they had free wifi.
The size of the resort surprised me. I had not expected it to be quite so large, but we quickly found our way around.
Also had a couple of meals at the Pizza place on site and this was very nice and good value for money.

Friendly people at both the on-site convenience store and reception. Ivan, the security guy who gave us our key when we checked in after reception had closed was lovely and happy to answer all questions. He gave very good concise directions as to how to find our room which given the size of the resort and the fact it was in the dark was appreciated!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndAkiAnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2009

This place was very good value for money. Nice self contained appartments with a nice cafe and pizza bar. You also could use many of the BBQ's on hand and enjoy mini golf or a swim in many of the pools on the location. We really enjoyed ourselves. Despite many young kids running around the place we had a nice quiet room.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MadMike23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2009

Our Family have 2 Adults & 3 children under 10 have just returned from a 2 week stay at The Sands - Turtle Beach resort , I am pleased that I did not read to much into some of the " not so great reviews ", The resort is " FANTASTIC " nice apartments , great Pools very helpful satff and most importantly very children friendly and secure , swipe card access required on all gates etc.

The Location was great on the gold Coast Highway 10 mins to Surfers and as many restrauants as you wanted all along the Hight recommended for a cheap meal is the "Souvlaki Hut " Opposite " the resort in and row of various shops Baskin Robbins , Sushi , little shop for shopping essentials , as the Hotel Conveince store is very expensive.

All in All a Fantastic time was had by us and we can't wait to visit again.

Thanks Turtle Beach.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BEPMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2009

Really i think that turtle beach should undersell on the internet, because it totally killed my impressions of what i was going to receive when i got there....
so called 4.5 star resort!
From my experience at turtle beach resort the day we arrived in reception we were greeted by some of the most unfriendly & unhelpfull staff who could not care less about the business and its guests (they were more worried about their upcomming weekend). Arriving after 2pm it took us 35 mins to get in the room from reception which was a complete joke! to say the least. When we finaly got to the room after the mass of stairs to which there is no lift in the whole resort (beware!!) - We found the room to be only half cleaned, both bathrooms were not so clean as one would think & the stains on the carpets made the furniture look good!! Cooking utencils/cutlery looked as though they had not been washed/cleaned or checked for months. However we did manage to make the most of a shonky appartment i understand that these place are furnished by the individual owners and each to their own with style, but this unit had no charm what so ever! I would advise other travelers to stay away from sands Turtle beach resort.
definatley not a 4.5 star rating.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank playhard_25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2009

I recently had a three night stay at Turtle Beach with four children aged 8, 9, 13 and 16 years old.

We stayed in a three bedroom townhouse and was very happy with the accommodation -nice in size and located right next to a tennis court and pool. The townhouse was very clean although a few marks on the walls which you wouldn't expect to find in a 4.5 star property, but overall we were very happy and the children loved it and that's what the trip was about - the children. There have been some comments on trip advisor about the lack of light into the apartments and I disagree with this. Our townhouse did get natural light and the only it was limited was due to the amount of trees around the property but this gives the resort the tropical/holiday feel which I really liked.

There are four pool and spa areas (including one adult only pool) and the pools and play areas were great for the kids. The adult only pool was very nice and I had the luxury of sneaking off once to enjoy some R&R. The spas were heated which was a shame. There is a small cinema which is free and runs three times a day - 11am, 2pm and 5pm, the only suggestion I have is that they announce which films they will show before-hand as we found we had to wait until it was about to start to find out what was playing.

The property is gated and can only be accessed with a key card so this meant no one could come in or out without a card, this made us very happy as we felt confident letting the teenagers have more freedom. It is located a short drive to Surfers Paradise and has a bus stop out the front.

There is a cafe on site which serves breakfast, lunch and dinner and has a good range of meals and is well priced. There is also a woodfire pizza bar which is open for lunch and dinner and we dined at both frequently and were very happy with the meals. If you wanted to self cater there is a general store on site which we found had most things people would need and were rather well priced. A few metres fown the road there was a takeaway as well as Thai/Chinese restaurant and across the road there was subway, a bakery, sushi bar and a few other stores.

We found the staff at the cafe and pizza bar to be friendly and helpful and the young girls at reception too. The older ladies at reception were very unhelpful which was a shame.

Overall, this is a great property and I would definitely recommend it. I will be back!

  • Stayed: February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sarah2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2009

I booked this resort prior to reading the reviews on this site and I was quite worried that I might be disappointed. I was but only slightly. The size of the unit was great, large rooms, ensuite and bathroom clean, tv in master bedroom was a bonus. The eateries are excellent, very convenient if you have young children as we did ages 2 and 4. Pizza is yummy, hamburgers at cafe delicious and whole resort was very child friendly. Internet access at the conveniece store was handy as well. Only down side was, the main couch in our apartment was filthy. Very grubby looked like it came off the side of the road and should have been replaced a long long time ago. Rest of the furnishings were fine so this did seem rather odd. The other thing that slithly peeved me was that I requested an early check in which didn't happen. We arrived early and were told to leave our mobile number and we would be called when room was ready. Well we returned just after check in time 2.15 and although our room was ready nobody called us, so we'd probably wasted some time looking around the local shoping centre. Staff didn't ask us how our stay was on check out either which indicated the level of interest they have in your stay. Our room was on the 2nd level and I would say that having young children this level was a good choice. Would not recommend a ground level unit as not much privacy with peope walking by and terraces are not fenced so young children could easily escape. I think we probably would not have coped so well with 3 levels and youngsters climbing stairs so level 2 was a good choice. I would probably not stay here again not because I didn't like the resort but because I wouldn't want to land that filthy couch again!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sunnybreaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mermaid Beach
1.3 mi away
Meriton Suites Broadbeach
4.8 mi away
RACV Royal Pines Resort Gold Coast
2.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Peppers Broadbeach
Peppers Broadbeach
#2 of 7 in Broadbeach
3,036 reviews
4.0 mi away
Paradise Resort Gold Coast
Paradise Resort Gold Coast
#15 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,436 reviews
8.5 mi away
NRMA Treasure Island Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turtle Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Beach Resort

Address: 2346 Gold Coast Highway, Mermaid Beach, Gold Coast, Queensland 4218, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Mermaid Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Mermaid Beach
Price Range: $106 - $348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Turtle Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Turtle Beach Resort provides premier family accommodation set in a sub-tropical oasis just 300 metres to the beach. Truly a relaxing holiday home, the resort offers spacious one, two and three bedroom fully self contained apartments in a 3 storey walk up complex (please note we do not have lifts on site). Facilities include flat screen televisions and complimentary Foxtel channels. All apartments have balconies and terraces that overlook tropical greenery and manicured gardens. Take advantage of the extensive recreational facilities including 4 separate swimming areas with a mix of lagoon and lap swimming pools, waterslide, spa's, adults only pool and spa, Putt'n Around* our 15 hole themed putt-putt course, children's playground, 2 saunas, floodlit tennis court*, fitness room, games room*, 8 BBQ areas and FREE WiFi access. For those who prefer a slower pace, soak up the relaxed poolside atmosphere or send the kids to the cinema theatrette. Enjoy a woodfired pizza at our onsite restaurant 'The Deck' or pick up supplies at our onsite convenience store 'Fresh' which features a wide range of grocery items and an internet cafe. Turtle Beach Resort has designed a holiday program especially for the kids, packed with lots of fun activities to compliment our facilities. Club Turtle* is for kids aged four to twelve inclusive where they can choose to sit in and watch or join in the pre-arranged activities including creative art and craft sessions, big screen Wii interactive games, an Xbox only designated room for the game players, as well as party theme nights with Disco and Movies screenings. Our Exciting water playground 'Splash Zone" features 4 water slides, 2 toddler slides, dumping bucket, water cannons and lots more. Book for your family and friends..They will love you for it! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Turtle Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Beach Hotel Mermaid Beach
Sands Turtle Beach Hotel
Sands Turtle Beach Mermaid
Turtle Beach Resort Gold Coast/Mermaid Beach, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing