We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large unit, excellent resort facilities, couch was very dirty though”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Turtle Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Mermaid Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Large unit, excellent resort facilities, couch was very dirty though”
Reviewed March 1, 2009

I booked this resort prior to reading the reviews on this site and I was quite worried that I might be disappointed. I was but only slightly. The size of the unit was great, large rooms, ensuite and bathroom clean, tv in master bedroom was a bonus. The eateries are excellent, very convenient if you have young children as we did ages 2 and 4. Pizza is yummy, hamburgers at cafe delicious and whole resort was very child friendly. Internet access at the conveniece store was handy as well. Only down side was, the main couch in our apartment was filthy. Very grubby looked like it came off the side of the road and should have been replaced a long long time ago. Rest of the furnishings were fine so this did seem rather odd. The other thing that slithly peeved me was that I requested an early check in which didn't happen. We arrived early and were told to leave our mobile number and we would be called when room was ready. Well we returned just after check in time 2.15 and although our room was ready nobody called us, so we'd probably wasted some time looking around the local shoping centre. Staff didn't ask us how our stay was on check out either which indicated the level of interest they have in your stay. Our room was on the 2nd level and I would say that having young children this level was a good choice. Would not recommend a ground level unit as not much privacy with peope walking by and terraces are not fenced so young children could easily escape. I think we probably would not have coped so well with 3 levels and youngsters climbing stairs so level 2 was a good choice. I would probably not stay here again not because I didn't like the resort but because I wouldn't want to land that filthy couch again!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sunnybreaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,094 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    417
    405
    160
    63
    49
See reviews for
878
41
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 1, 2009

We had a wonderful time at this resort. We had a 2 bedroom unit on ground floor (we requested this when we made the booking). We were travelling with a 2 & 4 year old. The rooms were spacious and the full kitchen and laundry (with tumble dryer) was great. We loved the cinema, pizzeria, the numerous swimming pools and mini golf. I even had a massage. The massage was lovely but it was located near the gynamism so you could hear people working out. The resort has a small shop for bread, milk etc and the bus stops right out the front. We have already booked for 10 of us to go again this November. I did see the other review and that has prompted me to do this. The staff were very helpful and feel that the other review was very harsh.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheryleeny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2009

We stayed at Turtle Beach Resort for 8 days. I was worried at first as there was mixed reviews. Im so happy we stayed there. We stayed on 3rd floor with 2 bedrooms. Was excellent views over pool, very very clean and spacious. The pizza restaurant and bar was great, right near pool. convenience store and internet access was handy. underground parking. Will stay again when travelling to goldcoast.
Good for familys but not reccommended for romantic weekend for couples.
There is an adult pool area which is lovely but there is no regulation of rules so there was alot of kids in adult retreat areas, it didnt bother us but there was alot of couples there without kids trying to go in adult spa. Exercise room was basically CRAP! no treadmills and stunk.
Mini golf and tennis cost extra but was fun. Overall fantastic.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank janeyperth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2009

We had already booked our accomodation, and after reading the reviews, it was with trepidation that we stayed here. I am glad that I did as the resort was fantastic.

We stayed with a 9 month old and 3 year old and had a great time. We were on the 3rd floor, so that was a bit of a pain with a pram, but that was only a small hurdle. The apartment itself was very clean and tidy, and had all the mod cons one requires!

The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, and were very accomodating in arranging a late check out - yes you have to pay an extra $50, but all other hotels/resorts charge extra for a late check out so this did not bother us too much.
The convenience store is expensive - but that's what it is, a convenience store.
We were lucky enough that a family that was leaving on the day we arrived gave us a lot of food to stock up our pantry. We did the same to another family when we left.
The pools were great and the kids went swimming every day. The grounds were beautiful with lots of palm trees.
We had a great time and would recommend this place for families with children.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Travelbug279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2009

Had a room on the 3rd floor - everything in it was new. Really nice furnishings. Very happy that we were able to check in 1 hour early & the cot was delivered within minutes of me requesting. You are given a starter pack of coffee, milk & detergents & small sachets of things like detergent are sold downstairs at the kiosk or across the road (I'd suggest bringing small containers from home if you can).
Pools were lovely, restaurants were reasonably priced, food was ok.
Biggest disappointment our room & the room next door did get broken into & our personal belongings stolen. However, we did receive great help from management on site (which all changed the moment we got back to Melbourne).
Public transport stopped right out the front & you could get to shops & theme parks easily. Great surf shop down the road & just a walk across the road to the beach (it is a busy road & the lights are a little bit up the road).

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ACTE30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christchurch
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2009

This is somewhere we were recommended for families but this is a place I would not personally recommend for families.
1/ Our room was up 6 flights of stairs and there was no lift
2/ When we booked the room the resort were aware we had 2 children a 2 year old and a 4 month old as porta cots had to be requested yet we were still placed in a room up 6 flights of stairs with no lift.
3/The booking also including our mother who is a pensioner and the stairs were a great burden to her.
4/ The curtains in the main bedroom were too short and did not fit the window so the sun streamed into the room at 4.30 am every morning.
5/When we requested to move room we were unable to as the police were staying there due to schoolies week. Why this family resort accepted bulk bookings from the police I do not know.
6/ As a result of the police staying one of the main swimming pools couldnot be opened until after 10.00 am instead of 8.00 am so they could sleep.Despite the fact that we were also paying guests the managers would not change this.
7/ our room was right next to the gold coast highway and the traffic noise was very noisy
8/The fan in our room was inadequate to cool the room.
9/ The room and the facilities if they were fully accessable would have been okay but the fact we were not given a ground floor or a second floor room was unacceptable.

  • Liked — the apartment itself was comfortable and had good kitchen facilities
  • Disliked — the 6 flights of stairs and the ill fitting curtains and the noise
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank moorboyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2009

We stayed here for a week with our 2 children, aged 8 and 2. We had a ground floor 2 bed apartment, which was a good size, however it was dirty. A bottle of spray and wipe and a mop would not have gone astray! The kitchen had the bare basics. The decor was average. The gardens around the resort were very nice.
I have to say that all the advertising and what we saw on TV about the resort was that it was set up well for the kids. Well, I have to say that there was not much there for the kids at all. There were 3 swimming pools which were OK, a bit small though. The Putt Putt was very well set up. There was one play equipment, which was small and not really good for smaller children to use.
The woodfire pizzas were great and we ordered them a few times.
Whatever you do, don't ask the reception staff anything about the entry fees for the theme parks, they just don't have a clue. We got different answers depending on who we asked. The best way is to just either ring the theme park direct or go there to find out about ticket prices/combos.
A bit disappointed and think overpriced.

  • Liked — good location, nice gardens
  • Disliked — room dark and dirty
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelbugP3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mermaid Beach
1.3 mi away
Meriton Suites Broadbeach
Meriton Suites Broadbeach
#1 of 21 in Broadbeach
7,393 reviews
3.9 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
2,633 reviews
5.3 mi away
Meriton Suites Southport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Paradise Resort Gold Coast
Paradise Resort Gold Coast
#15 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
1,397 reviews
8.5 mi away
NRMA Treasure Island Holiday Park
6.5 mi away
Sea World Resort
Sea World Resort
#2 of 5 in Main Beach
4,324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turtle Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Beach Resort

Property: Turtle Beach Resort
Address: 2346 Gold Coast Highway, Mermaid Beach, Gold Coast, Queensland 4218, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Mermaid Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Mermaid Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Turtle Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Turtle Beach Resort provides premier family accommodation set in a sub-tropical oasis just 300 metres to the beach. Truly a relaxing holiday home, the resort offers spacious one, two and three bedroom fully self contained apartments in a 3 storey walk up complex (please note we do not have lifts on site). Facilities include flat screen televisions and complimentary Foxtel channels. All apartments have balconies and terraces that overlook tropical greenery and manicured gardens. Take advantage of the extensive recreational facilities including 4 separate swimming areas with a mix of lagoon and lap swimming pools, waterslide, spa's, adults only pool and spa, Putt'n Around* our 15 hole themed putt-putt course, children's playground, 2 saunas, floodlit tennis court*, fitness room, games room*, 8 BBQ areas and FREE WiFi access. For those who prefer a slower pace, soak up the relaxed poolside atmosphere or send the kids to the cinema theatrette. Enjoy a woodfired pizza at our onsite restaurant 'The Deck' or pick up supplies at our onsite convenience store 'Fresh' which features a wide range of grocery items and an internet cafe. Turtle Beach Resort has designed a holiday program especially for the kids, packed with lots of fun activities to compliment our facilities. Club Turtle* is for kids aged four to twelve inclusive where they can choose to sit in and watch or join in the pre-arranged activities including creative art and craft sessions, big screen Wii interactive games, an Xbox only designated room for the game players, as well as party theme nights with Disco and Movies screenings. Our Exciting water playground 'Splash Zone" features 4 water slides, 2 toddler slides, dumping bucket, water cannons and lots more. Book for your family and friends..They will love you for it! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Turtle Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Beach Hotel Mermaid Beach
Sands Turtle Beach Hotel
Sands Turtle Beach Mermaid
Turtle Beach Resort Gold Coast/Mermaid Beach, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing