We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get better cleaners!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Turtle Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Mermaid Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Get better cleaners!”
Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

See the pictures for yourself. Blood stained cushions, fraying carpet, dirty utensils, ants and coakroach infestation!!!! No air con in bedrooms.... Place needs an overhaul. Best thing is the slide and pool. Rooms dirty, ruined holiday having to throw out good eaten by Insects!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wicked386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie R, on behalf of the Resort Manager at Turtle Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Wicked386
Thank you for taking the time to publish your review on Trip Advisor.
As it has been over a month since your stay it can be quite tricky following up cleaning issues unless they were brought to our attention whilst you are staying with us or a room number is left on the review. However, this information will still be forwarded to our Executive Housekeeper for follow up if possible.
I have looked at your photos and apologise if you were disappointed with the standard of your room. As it can cost a substantial amount to re-carpet a whole apartment, small frays will not always result in replacement, however when brought to our attention can certainly be looked at and repaired.
Our housekeeping team are one of the hardest working groups within the Resort and during high occupancies work extremely long hours cleaning, sometimes very dirty rooms as they are vacated by our guests. Do things get missed on occasion? Absolutely! But I can assure you it is not our intention to lower our standards and all of our staff are eager to ensure a clean environment for our guests.
All of our apartments are treated for pest control every 6 months, and as with residential homes, occasionally during a week-long period uninvited insects can make their way into the apartments. All our apartments are surrounded by lush gardens which are home to many little creatures and occasionally they like to share your holidays. Again, a quick call to our housekeeping team will ensure some instant action to assist with any problems you may have. Likewise if you feel there is anything has been missed in the room we are more than happy to replace or recheck this for you.
Thank you again
Kind regards
Melanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,089 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    416
    404
    157
    63
    49
See reviews for
874
41
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
74 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

I would have given this place a better rating after a lovely family holiday at this resort. This has been spoiled by the reaction of management on our return.
We were allocated a 1 bedroom so called superior apartment. On entering the unit there was a very strong smell of smoke, the fridge had multiple dents on the outer surface & when going onto the balcony area amongst the outside furniture was a chair with multiple burn holes!
We immediately reported the problem to reception who apologised & arranged to spray the smoke filled room with a freshener.
We were asked if we wished the chair replaced but declined as we were only using two of the chairs & subsequently moved the damaged chair from the balcony to an area of the lounge which we did not use.
We thought no more about this incident & continued to enjoy our family holiday in a resort that has great facilities & lovely well kept grounds. It's such a shame that this amount of care is not applied to the units. The incident that resulted in our disappointment is the fact that on our arrival home an email was received stating that a fee of $50 would be deducted from our credit card for the damage to the chair! What a cheek Turtle Beach. To add insult to injury we did have a further communication offering an apology but no recompense. Such a shame Turtle Beach. You need to communicate with housekeeping to improve their standards as they were surely lacking by the previous clean of our unit prior to arrival.

Ps there was also a beer can thrown beside the air con unit on the balcony!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Cadgiebin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie R, on behalf on the Resort Manger at Turtle Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Cadgiebin
Thank you so much for your review and for staying at Turtle Beach Resort. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and am happy to note that the mix up with the furniture was promptly fixed as soon as you notified us of the incident. An honest miscommunication between our Maintenance and Guests Service staff resulted in the email being sent to you; however I have spoken to our Guest Service Manager who has advised that the charge for $50 was never charged to your credit card. Our procedure is always to contact guests first to ensure that there is no mistake and as soon as you responded, our team emailed an apology for the inconvenience caused and as there was not charge processed, there was no need for any further recompense.
I apologise if there was any lack of attention to detail in the cleaning of your room either before or during your stay. Our housekeeping team has been notified of your review and will be checking cleaning records so that follow up can be made with the staff member responsible for your apartment.
Thank you again for your time and we look forward to welcoming you back again.
Kind regards
Melanie Reid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

Great for the kids, lots of facilities, the rooms were a little outdated but Comfy, the cushions were quite rank (smelly) the kitchen was practical & handy. The pools were clean as were the bbq's.. Would stay there again especially once the new water park is completed, the cooked breaky & coffee was great! The only complaint I would make is that we had smokers next door & they are allowed to smoke!! With all the warnings & knowledge of the harm it causes why are people allowed to smoke with kids around?? They need to section/zone a bunch of smokers rooms so it doesn't affect my kids!!!

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank BigWaveDaveo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie R, on behalf of the Resort Manager at Turtle Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear BigWaveDaveo
Thank you for your review. We appreciate you taking the time to voice both the positives and negatives during your stay.
The issue of smoking within the Resort is high on our agenda at the moment as a result of several comments of late and we hope that we can resolve this in the near future to the satisfaction of all.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Resort soon, with our water park is due for completion in April.
Thank you and kind regards
Melanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 21, 2014

I took my 75 Yr old mother and 2 sons 20yr and 11yrs and we all had the best time ever. The staff were very friendly and really helpful on arranging tickets for theme parks and places to go.I work in a hotel,motel in Goolwa S.A. and this resort is above average on value for money.Our room was on the top level with gorgeous views of the pool and resort,it had everything we could ever need nice and clean.Great work in the cleanliness of the whole resort from the rooms to the pools and grounds .We ate at the cafe and pizza bar in the resort it was great food and great prices. Thanks to the staff and resort for the best holiday ever .We will definitely come back on our next trip over from the Johnson family Feb 2014 .

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blayde02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie R, on behalf of the Resort Manager at Turtle Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Dear Blayde02
Thank you for wonderful review.
Please come and visit us again soon.
Kind regards'
Melanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

We had been recommended Turtle Beach by several people and unfortunately we where very disappointed when we arrived at our accommodation. The apartment was very dated, with dusty cane furniture, items broken in the kitchen and only one old air conditioning unit in the living room which meant that the bedrooms where very hot. The curtains in the kids room where not hung and we had to safety pin them up and also put a blanket over the window as curtains where to short and was very bright in the morning, we also had to leave the windows and door in the bedrooms open all night (which did not feel safe) because the rooms where so hot (would recommend another air conditioning unit up the other end of the unit). The restaurants where OK but we tended to eat elsewhere. Thought the games room in the basement car park was ridiculous and not at all safe, I did not take my youngest down there as concerned about cars if I was busy with my older child. We did however really enjoy the pools, the kids had a fabulous time and I thought the grounds where very nice and kept very clean, as where the bbqs.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has been updated and lower level rooms are great if you have small children
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natlaie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie R, on behalf of the Resort Manager at Turtle Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Dear Natlaie
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.
Next time you stay with us, I would recommend booking a Superior Apartment which has had all of the cane furniture removed as you may find it more to your liking, and I do hope you that you were able to pass on to our Guest Service Team, the maintenance items you have mentioned so that we can have them looked at and fixed where required.
Of late, the Gold Coast has had higher than normal evening temperatures, which may have resulted in the heat you mention during your stay. We find that the single air-conditioner in the living area is usually suitable to cool the 2 bedroom apartment when used in conjunction with the bedroom fans. Running 2 air conditioners in over 300 apartments in the complex would be hugely zapping on energy resources and also an extremely costly exercise for these vary rare occasions, but I do thank you for your suggestion.
Thank you again for your time.
Kind regards
Melanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

I booked this hotel purely based on its kid friendly facilities. I booked a 2 bedroom apartment and it faced the Gold Coast Highway, so very noisy and not a particularly scenic or relaxing view. If I'd been told our apartment was on the highway when I booked (and I booked in person at reception) I would have elected to go elsewhere. The room was clean but dated. There was no door handle on the bedroom door, neither remote worked and the kitchen was very sparsely equipped (bring your own bowls and utensils!). But my main gripe is that during our first day, half the pools were closed for half the day - one was closed for the whole time we stayed! The only reason we came was because of the facilities! Also, some of the mini putt holes were closed due to renos, but there was no reduction in the fee charged . And as for the games room - a tiny room located in the basement carpark! Not a particularly child friendly location. So, disappointing all round sadly.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kerryn1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie R, on behalf of the Resort Manager at Turtle Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Dear Kerryn1978
I appreciate your review and thank you for taking the time to voice your concerns regarding your stay.
I apologise that you were not happy with the location of your apartment. We have very few apartments located on the highway side of the Resort and we would have happily moved your rooms had you mentioned this on check in. Often these apartments have larger living and balcony areas and are favoured by guests travelling with a family of five. Certainly batteries can go flat in the remotes and our maintenance team will happily attend to any items which you feel are below par in your room; likewise our housekeeping team can assist with any kitchen equipment you may feel is lacking.
Your comments regarding our pool closures should however, be placed in perspective. We have 4 Resort Pool areas and each pool was closed, one after another, whilst dangerous coconuts and palm fronds were removed from tall trees in these areas. At all times there were at least 3 pool areas open to cater for our guests which we believe to be more than adequate during this time.
Three putt putt holes have been temporarily removed for the construction of our Splash Zone water park and we have not had an increase in the price of a game of putt putt for over 6 years. You will find that our prices are extremely competitive with any other putt putt course on the Gold Coast, you are more than welcome to continue to play additional holes or another round should you wish and we have no restrictions on the time limit you have to play. Amongst the other facilities, we also have a tennis court, a playground and of course our kids club and cinema available for family entertainment as well as the beach within walking distance. The two games room are certainly not in the league of “Time Zone” but are yet another facility which brings pleasure to many of our guests despite being quite small.
Kerryn1978, thank you again for your review and we hope to be able to welcome you back on another occasion. When you book, please feel free to request an area of the Resort you would prefer to be accommodated in and we will be more than happy to assist you.
Kind regards
Melanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormeau, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014

As stated a good value accom for a family with 2 bed and kitchen for the price of a motel. The units are pretty close together and no real views but comfortable. Good entertainment for the family with cinemas, putt putt, tennis etc. bit peeved at the $5 per pool towel per person during the visit, all other resorts these are free at the pool. 2 blown bulbs in the rooms and a roller fell off the shower screen. Crap happens but was fixed promptly.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Biomed_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie R, on behalf of the Resort Manager at Turtle Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Dear Biomed_traveller
We also believe that Turtle Beach Resort offers value for money when compared to many other products and it was pleasing to hear that you enjoyed the various types of entertainment we have to offer and made use of many of our facilities. Thank you also for your feedback on the maintenance issues and also the prompt and professional service you experienced.
Now that you have stayed at the Resort you will no doubt have seen an area which perhaps you would prefer to be located in during you next stay. Feel free to request this when you make your booking as we understand that many of our visitors prefer a particular outlook or location.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon and thank you for your review.
Kind regard
Melanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mermaid Beach
3.9 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,606 reviews
1.3 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments - Broadbeach
1.4 mi away
Peppers Broadbeach
Peppers Broadbeach
#2 of 21 in Broadbeach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
NRMA Treasure Island Holiday Park
6.5 mi away
Sea World Resort
Sea World Resort
#2 of 5 in Main Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,256 reviews
4.0 mi away
Paradise Resort Gold Coast
Paradise Resort Gold Coast
#15 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turtle Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Beach Resort

Property: Turtle Beach Resort
Address: 2346 Gold Coast Highway, Mermaid Beach, Gold Coast, Queensland 4218, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Mermaid Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Mermaid Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Turtle Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Turtle Beach Resort provides premier family accommodation set in a sub-tropical oasis just 300 metres to the beach. Truly a relaxing holiday home, the resort offers spacious one, two and three bedroom fully self contained apartments in a 3 storey walk up complex (please note we do not have lifts on site). Facilities include flat screen televisions and complimentary Foxtel channels. All apartments have balconies and terraces that overlook tropical greenery and manicured gardens. Take advantage of the extensive recreational facilities including 4 separate swimming areas with a mix of lagoon and lap swimming pools, waterslide, spa's, adults only pool and spa, Putt'n Around* our 15 hole themed putt-putt course, children's playground, 2 saunas, floodlit tennis court*, fitness room, games room*, 8 BBQ areas and FREE WiFi access. For those who prefer a slower pace, soak up the relaxed poolside atmosphere or send the kids to the cinema theatrette. Enjoy a woodfired pizza at our onsite restaurant 'The Deck' or pick up supplies at our onsite convenience store 'Fresh' which features a wide range of grocery items and an internet cafe. Turtle Beach Resort has designed a holiday program especially for the kids, packed with lots of fun activities to compliment our facilities. Club Turtle* is for kids aged four to twelve inclusive where they can choose to sit in and watch or join in the pre-arranged activities including creative art and craft sessions, big screen Wii interactive games, an Xbox only designated room for the game players, as well as party theme nights with Disco and Movies screenings. Our Exciting water playground 'Splash Zone" features 4 water slides, 2 toddler slides, dumping bucket, water cannons and lots more. Book for your family and friends..They will love you for it! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Turtle Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Beach Hotel Mermaid Beach
Sands Turtle Beach Hotel
Sands Turtle Beach Mermaid
Turtle Beach Resort Gold Coast/Mermaid Beach, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing