We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Family Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Turtle Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Mermaid Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 9, 2008

We had 8 nights at the Sands Turtle with our two children, aged 3 and 4. We had an excellent time and found the apartment extremely well maintained with the flat screened tv, new carpet and lovely clean kitchen and bathrooms.
The surroundings were beautiful, luscious green trees all around. The pools were great, especially as they were heated; the spa was a bonus too.
Our children thoroughly enjoyed the big playground-great fun.
The pizzeria was very nice too and the Rainforest Cafe was fun to visit.
We did not play the mini golf, but it looked great fun (18 holes)
It was great to be close to the shops (over the road) and also to Pacific Fair. A nice walk to the beach too.We were extremely impressed with the resort and were thrilled with our choice. We would recommend it to those with families.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank lailbale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,193)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,127 - 1,133 of 1,193 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2008

We booked here thru a travel agent in adelaide - we initially booked for 5 nights but ended up staying an extra 4 nights.
although we were off peak tourists to the gold coast, we found the facilitites very good, front desk friendly and the night security helpful. As a family of 5, the 2 bed apartment was a bit cramped bedroom wise - 3 kids in one room was a bit of a tight squeeze!
some of the facilities were closed due to maintainance/upgrading, the onsite shop and takeaway had closed down but the shops opposite and within 5 minutes stroll were more than adequate. pools/spa were clean and working and despite heavy rain for the first 3 days we were more than happy! front desk very helpful, and helped us sort out a problem with our hire car.
Lovely beach only 5 minutes walk away, and easy access to public transport to get to surfers.
Fantastic place to have spent my 40th birthday!
Would def stay there again when we are in aus again!

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank sjy67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2008

We have just returned from a week holiday at Sands Turtle Beach Resort. It has great amenities for families, four pool areas, great BBQ areas, and for kids 4-15 there are heaps of things to do in gated secure parklike grounds. We had a floor level room next to an access corridor which was a bit noisy - request a first level apartment. Parking is all under the resort so you pop up through stairwells to rooms from the excellent secure parking. Rooms were nice, beachy feel, although walls needed painting and some minor things that you wouldn't expect at a 4-star resort, but nothing major enough to really complain about. Location is good, 24-hr convenience across the rd, subway, noodles, and other restaurants at your feet, and beautiful mermaid beach only 5 minute walk, but you do have to cross gold coast highway. Would highly recommend for families, especially with kids 4-12, but be aware they do charge for most things, even additional towels and linen!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Rilks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2008

The website of the resort sounded fantastic. So after some looking around and pricing of other places that could accommodate 5 adults and 2 children we decided on here. The kids love sandpits and as they are meant to have them we thought great. We got there and the only sand we saw was the sand at the mini putt-putt area which said no playing in sand, when asking staff about the sandpit they said they didn't have one(They have taken sandpit off their site since). The putt-putt are was a very small green area with 3 holes in it. We were in a 3 bedroom town house right opposite the tennis courts. We booked for 7 to stay in the townhouse which had 1 queen bed and 4 single and 2 sofa beds. We were not supplied linen for the sofa bed that was to be used. Staff were quite rude when asking for extra linen and wanted to charge us, and as it was the linen on the current beds was inadequate as there was blankets missing. It was rather cold during the evenings when we stayed there and found there was no heating. The split systems were a press button system which is preset on fan and on a timer. With not knowing this the button was pressed and made the place colder as we couldn't turn it off. There was another split system in the main bedroom up stairs that I believe you had control over but not much good in that area of the townhouse. It was an OK place to stay and maybe some of the other accommodation is better than what we stayed in but I would only give the place a 3* rating maybe 3 and half * and not the the 4 and half* they think they are.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank jadance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2008

After reading some recent reviews on Turtle Beach we were hesitant to book here but the kids were keen and we got a great rate from WOTIF.COM so we decided to give it a go. The resort itself is really lovely. The gardens and facilities for a family were exceptional. Unfortunately, the week we were in Surfers it rained constantly so we didn't get to make full use of pools etc. The kids were very disappointed.
The room itself was a two bedroom unit on the third floor. Some of the furnishings were a bit on the dated side.I think that we were probably on the "older" side of the resort. There was a new flat screen tv, lovely new kitchen appliances. Overall it was comfortable but not as fresh as it could have been.
The staff at reception were very helpful on the few occasions we asked for assistance.
This was our 5th trip to surfers and we have stayed in similar types of places each time. We always pick a low rise, family friendly type accommodation. The grounds exceeded any place we had previously stayed. The apartments themselves were average and similar in style to other places. If we had to pay the full asking price from their website or travel brochures I would have been disappointed I think . As it was we paid some $500 less by booking last minute we probably got what we paid for.
Turtle Beach was a great place for younger families with heaps of things for the kids to do.
We had a car, so getting around was not a problem but if you had to rely on public transport I think it may get a bit tedious. There were lots of take away foods in walking distance but a trip to the supermarket would be a trial. There was a bus right outside the front door. We hired a car through Thrifty who then gave us discount vouchers for theme parks etc. These alone saved us over $100. made the car hire more than worthwhile.
We had a great week despite the rotten weather

2  Thank insulbarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2008

My Family has just returned from an 11 night stay at Turtle Beach. Having stayed there in the past and loved it, I had recently read a lot of the reviews which I must say had left me a little concerned about a few things, most of these however were unfounded. I will say that checkin was two hours late as our room was not ready at the guaranteed time of 2.00pm. Our room was a ground floor two bedroom apartment, on the older side of the complex, it was in a excellent position very near to the pool, tennis court and the bbq. The apartment itself stunk of bleach on arrival but at least the toilets and bathroom were clean, unfortunately this was not to be for the rest of the apartment, which was filthy ! The walls need to either be scrubbed or repainted they are rotten... The kitchen is well equipped and everything you need is there, unfortunately for us the oven didnt work and also the toaster was on the blink so after several phone calls these things were finally fixed the next day. Let me say though that this could have happened anywhere and being in the middle of peak season perhaps things dont get maintained as they should. The major negative about our room was the constant banging of the external doors and the noise of people yelling and screaming in the hallways which seemed the echo through our apartment everytime someone entered the stairwell, this started at 5am and went until midnight, a little bit hard to take when trying to keep three small children asleep. Perhaps the noise from this wouldnt be as apparent on the upper floors! In saying that though you are on holiday so you tend to just deal with it and get on with it.

The grounds and outdoor facilities are second to none. The pool areas are fantastic, very clean and well maintained. My children loved the kids pools and play areas. The gardens are beautiful and so well kept it is incredible for a resort of this size. The bbq areas are well spaced out and spotless. We didnt play tennis but I believe there is a small fee for this, but hey there is at most resorts these days.

We did not eat at the cafe on site, but did however eat pizza from the resorts pizzeria, I must say it was fantastic, always freshly cooked and totally delicious. Fussy kids absolutely loved it. The convenience store on site has a good range and we found it really handy.

The reception staff could seriously do with a lesson in customer service as they are quite rude at times and we found the girl on check out to have a major attitude problem. Husband and I asked prior to check out if it was possible to view a three bedroom apartment to book for this christmas and was told to collect the key on check out for a look the next morning. When we tried to do this a very rude receptionist told us that this was not their done practice and that we could not look at one, when I asked if we could possibly make a booking was told that this was not her job either and that I would need to call reservations. Find this ridiculous, only hope for the sake of the resort that this kind of attitude does not turn people away, because on a whole it is a nice place to stay as a family, but hey lets face it there are a lot cheaper places around the area, with staff who actually want you there.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Tanni B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2007

Yes, This is true: you'll be asked to buy your toilet paper after you run out of the supplied by the resort (according to AAA - min 2 rolls/toilet. However, we had 3 rolls for 2 toilets...).
Usualy before we go on holyday I do my homework and chek the accomodation we intend to book. So I went on Internet and checked: 4.5 stars, 4 pools, 4 spas...superb! But at the moment we stepped in, the problems started! We arrived around 9.00 am and we've been told that the guaranteed check-in time is 2:00 pm, which we knew, so we went for a walk and lunch and we returned at 2:00 pm to discover, that our apartment is still not ready!!!! We waited an other hour to check -in. So I couldn't understand why the receptionist used "guranteed" check-in if they couldn't coply with it!
But wait - that's nothing! If you run out of toilet paper you'll be asked to buy it yourself!!!! I'm not talking about the expence here, but about the idea to buy toilet paper while on holiday...
Anyway I'm definetly not going back and from now on if I book holiday in Australia, I'll ask if they provide a toilet paper!

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank realtime-cheto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mermaid Beach
1.3 mi away
Meriton Suites Broadbeach
1.4 mi away
Peppers Broadbeach
Peppers Broadbeach
#2 of 7 in Broadbeach
3,348 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quality Hotel Mermaid Waters
Quality Hotel Mermaid Waters
#1 of 1 in Mermaid Waters
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Paradise Resort Gold Coast
Paradise Resort Gold Coast
#17 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
1,486 reviews
6.5 mi away
Sea World Resort
Sea World Resort
#2 of 5 in Main Beach
4,701 reviews
17.8 mi away
Peppers Salt Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turtle Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Beach Resort

Address: 2346 Gold Coast Highway, Mermaid Beach, Gold Coast, Queensland 4218, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Mermaid Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Mermaid Beach
Price Range: $103 - $264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Turtle Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Turtle Beach Resort provides premier family accommodation set in a sub-tropical oasis just 300 metres to the beach. Truly a relaxing holiday home, the resort offers spacious one, two and three bedroom fully self contained apartments in a 3 storey walk up complex (please note we do not have lifts on site). Facilities include flat screen televisions and complimentary Foxtel channels. All apartments have balconies and terraces that overlook tropical greenery and manicured gardens. Take advantage of the extensive recreational facilities including 4 separate swimming areas with a mix of lagoon and lap swimming pools, waterslide, spa's, adults only pool and spa, Putt'n Around* our 15 hole themed putt-putt course, children's playground, 2 saunas, floodlit tennis court*, fitness room, games room*, 8 BBQ areas and FREE WiFi access. For those who prefer a slower pace, soak up the relaxed poolside atmosphere or send the kids to the cinema theatrette. Enjoy a woodfired pizza at our onsite restaurant 'The Deck' or pick up supplies at our onsite convenience store 'Fresh' which features a wide range of grocery items and an internet cafe. Turtle Beach Resort has designed a holiday program especially for the kids, packed with lots of fun activities to compliment our facilities. Club Turtle* is for kids aged four to twelve inclusive where they can choose to sit in and watch or join in the pre-arranged activities including creative art and craft sessions, big screen Wii interactive games, an Xbox only designated room for the game players, as well as party theme nights with Disco and Movies screenings. Our Exciting water playground 'Splash Zone" features 4 water slides, 2 toddler slides, dumping bucket, water cannons and lots more. Book for your family and friends..They will love you for it! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Turtle Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Beach Hotel Mermaid Beach
Sands Turtle Beach Hotel
Sands Turtle Beach Mermaid
Turtle Beach Resort Gold Coast/Mermaid Beach, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing