We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for families”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Turtle Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Mermaid Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Awesome place for families on holiday. We stayed in two bedroom apartment. Plenty of space and loved the layout of the rooms and lounge area. Plenty of seating area for families to visit us while we were there on holiday. Great bbq and swimming area for all ages. Place was in walking distance to the beach. Would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank L G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,185)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

760 - 766 of 1,185 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2013

We booked the day before for a two night stay. It was after that I reviewed Trip Advisor, so I had mixed feelings on our arrival. There was ample underground parking at the door of our wing, two short flights of stairs and we were at our apartment. Our one bedroom apartment was neat and clean, yes it was outdated but everything worked. Overall we had so much fun at the resort. The facilities were excellent, pools, water slide, playground, games room, cafe, bbq's, mini golf and convenience store. We packed in everything during our short stay. I loved the rainforest style landscaping around the resort, I often saw butterflies as I walked out the door and enjoyed the rainbow lorikeets in the trees by afternoon. We drove directly east to enjoy the patrolled beach of Mermaid. On the way or on the way back, be sure to stop at Vintage Espresso, a cool cafe serving brilliant coffee and snacks. We also walked to Trio Romano, a small family italian restaurant up the road for dinner one night and had friendly service and lovely meals, it's BYO too! If you are looking for lots of family fun, this is a good choice.

Room Tip: Sign up to the Turtle Beach Membership to enjoy 10% off the room rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bluesrules95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie R, on behalf of the Resort Manager at Turtle Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Dear Bluesrules95
Thanks so much for your great review. We really appreciate you taking the time to let other travelers know about your stay with us. Some great tips too!! We hope to see you back again soon.
Kind regards
Melanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Stayed one week in a 2 bed superior apartment on the third (top floor), overlooking the pizza place and adjacent pool. Having read the good and not so good reviews I think overall for a family (two children 8 and 10) the overall impression was very positive. There were small things I could pick on, but this place should be seen for what it is, strata titled (individually owned) apartments in a letting pool. Hence there will be variation in furnishings and the like. Bear in mind this is not a hotel so does not necessarily come with uniform standards or fittings.
The pools are great (Sheldon's slide a top pick by 8 and 10), the food at the pizza place (particularly) and Rainforest cafe hit the spot and the high level of security was appreciated with children. Staff friendly and helpful.
LIfts would be a bonus but we knew there weren't any at the outset. Not right on the beach but again a quick google map check showed us this before we arrived so no surprises there. And we certainly didn't pay top dollar for our spacious, well appointed (two bedroom and two bathrooms) apartment.
Overall I rated four out of five, but would have given 4.5 if there was the option.

Room Tip: This is a big complex and you certainly ask for a quiet room (away from pools and play areas) if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie R, on behalf of the Resort Manager at Turtle Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Dear Phil
I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and spent the time to let others know. Such positive feedback is always welcomed and you will be pleased to know that we are continuing to develop our facilities, and upgrade our apartments constantly – stay tuned for an announcement soon!!
Next time you stay with us feel free to mention the small things to our Reception Team so that we can look to improve our service.
See you next time.
Melanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

The resort needs a complete over haul!!! Every second piece of outdoor furniture was broken, big bulky heavy, hazard for the little space it was placed in. Of the two eateries one only opened for coffee and breakfast the other does not!!!! The rooms are basic, what you Ned but again big bulky uncomfortable furniture. Putt putt cost $17:00, tennis cost $5:00????? The cost of the rooms alone, families should not have to pay on top!!!!! No scooters or bikes welcome, understandable no space to ride them. Clearly it is just a drop in centre to sleep beyond that NOT a family friendly resort!!!! I really wanted to experience the resort for my kids, now that I have we will not be back. Finally three pools, good but again water slide is sooooo worn out kids get stuck, stand up and then jump off!!!! Really really did expect so much more oh and clearly the staff are not hospitality trained!!!! I will not repeat the conversation that was had with me buy one of the staff, appaulling. From this, I am now 100 percent sold on travelling to overseas resorts same money a far better, greater, up to date, more for your money experience to be had by the kids. Really disappointed. I won't even talk about the amount of feces experienced, seriously!!!! A major revamp, restructure of facilities required to make more user friendly!!! Save your money for overseas.

Room Tip: No tip, save money for overseas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Bridget P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie R, on behalf of the Resort Manager at Turtle Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Dear Bridget
To say that your comments are disappointing is an understatement and we are certainly disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Of course, we are not always going to hit the mark with every one of our guests as we know that each and every person has different thoughts on their idea of the perfect family holiday. When it comes to choosing a home away from home, it is definitely worth taking the time to research facilities to ensure that they suit your needs, budgets and of course your desires.
You are quite right, we do not allow scooters or bikes on the Resort grounds as our pathways are narrow cobblestone paths which meander through our lush gardens and with large numbers of guests staying, these can be dangerous to both guests and riders alike. There are however, so many wide paths just outside the property and near the beach which are perfect for these types of activities.
Your comment regarding outdoor furniture is somewhat strange as all of the balcony furniture in our apartments is the light aluminium style and was replaced in all rooms less than 12 months ago. My only thought is that perhaps you stayed in an apartment that was privately listed, which may have different furniture. This being said, however, if at any time you encounter maintenance problems in your room, we are more than happy to rectify them if we are advised. Likewise our pool slide was only open a year ago, so it is strange to think that it is “worn”, I will however follow up on this with our Maintenance Manager.
I had a quick look on the Internet at the price for a round of putt putt golf at 4 other gold coast courses and was surprised to see that prices for a family of four ranges from $35 to $75; so based on this information I am confident that the price of $17 at our Resort for a family of up to 5, is very well priced. We do include putt putt and tennis in some of our packages as well, but depending on the package you booked on, it may not have been an inclusion on this particular stay.
Again, you are correct, our Woodfire Pizzeria is not open in the morning and at this stage there are no plans to serve pizza for breakfast. We find that having the combination of such a variety of great cafes within walking distance as well as having serviced apartments, that the majority of our guests are able to find suitable breakfast options.
Finally, as I am not aware of any of the details regarding comments between yourself and another staff member nor the amount of “feces” you mention in your review, I am certainly unable to comment, however please feel free to contact me directly should you have more information which can assist me with following this up.
Bridget, there are some great family Resorts both in Australia and overseas and I hope that your next holiday meets your expectations.
Thank you again
Melanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We had fairly high expectations due to all the rave reviews this place gets, but unfortunately we didn't have quiet the experience we were expecting.

The Good -
The facilities, especially the pools, are just terrific. And the Rainforest cafe was excellent. We really appreciated the service from the staff and their friendly and helpful attitudes to their guests.

The not so good.
Very noisy dishwasher, washing machine and toilets. A washing machine that tangled to a standstill on every single load no matter how small. And very uncomfortable furniture - cheap uncomfortable lounges, and thin, uncomfortable mattresses on the beds.

Paying an above average rate, we were expecting above average comfort in the apartments, and it just wasn't there. Other than that, we still had a good time so it wasn't so bad that it materially affected the holiday. We just felt it didn't live up to the expectations.

Room Tip: Ask for one with comfortable furniture. I would doubt they are all furnished the same as ours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kevin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie R, on behalf of the Resort Manager at Turtle Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Dear Kevin
Thank you for taking the time to review our property and for highlighting the positives of your stay. I am pleased to see that our customer service and resort facilities ranked highly on your list, as we truly believe that our staff are one of our greatest assets, and that our facilities are unmatched in the area.
Negatives such as noisy appliances and uncomfortable furniture are the things that we can have an immediate impact on if they are brought to our attention during your stay as we have an onsite maintenance team. Over the last 4 months we have replaced approx. 40 lounge packages to new leather suites and approx. 35 apartments have had a full furniture package replacement. This process will continue on an individual owner basis so that we can ensure the quality of all of our apartments continues to improve.
Kevin, I am pleased that you still had an enjoyable holiday and would love to be able to welcome you and your family back to the Resort on another occasion.
Kind regards
Melanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Stayed with my family for a week in a ground floor apartment and had a ball.
Great location next to the tennis court, kids play gym and near the pools and pizza shop. Apartment was clean and tidy though could have used stronger light globes as it was a little dark.
The pizza shop in the resort was fantastic, great pizzas and a good place to sit with a cocktail while the kids swim.
The putt putt golf was also a hit with my kids and would recommend it as a way to make them smile and take some time up.
The resort was about 30minutes by car from Movie World and Wet and Wild and the same distance to Coolongatta airport and about 15 minutes to Cavill Avenue, Surfers Paradise. 5-10minutes up the road is Pacific Sq shopping centre and Jupiters Casino.
Great resort and would stay here again for sure.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Simon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie R, on behalf of the Resort Manager at Turtle Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Dear Simon
Thank you so much for your 5 star review!
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards
Melanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Just sent 7 nights in a 3rd floor 2 bedroom standard apartment with my wife and 2 kids.
The location was not all the best but it's fine if you have a car.
Staff were very friendly and helpful.
Did not try the restuarants so i cannot comment on them.
Gardens and pathways were all well maintained and looked after.
Car park at reception no where near big enough for when you arrive and leave.
Not all the pools were heated and on a hot day they can get a little over crowded.
The rooms seriously need an urgent upgrade. New carpets, ( the soles of my feet are still black) furniture, paint etc.
Walking up and down the stairs was a bit of a mission. Lifts of course would make it so much easier.
I didn't get the resort name of Turtle Beach Resort? Maybe a more suited name would be more appropriate. Don't think it's really a resort.
While I still cannot understand why it's rated number 1 for a family holiday resort our stay here was pleasant enough.
Does it tick all the boxes as a resort? Probably not.
Is it value for money? Yes
Would I stay again? I will think about it.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Philandfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie R, on behalf of the Resort Manager at Turtle Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Dear Philandfam
Well we definitely hope you will stay with us again, but make sure you book a Superior Apartment next time. By 1 April all of these apartments will have had the cane furniture replaced as well as the soft furnishing, so should be a “bit more flash”.
I certainly appreciate all of your comments as they always help us to move in the right direction to meet our guest’s needs. In response to one of them, we are currently working on adding additional car parking to the front of the Resort for check in, which should make a little bit of difference on our busier days.
All of our pools should be heated to 26-28 degrees all year round, however from time to time, as with everything, there can be problems with equipment. It is possible that this has occurred at some stage during your stay. Luckily we have a great maintenance team onsite who can quickly rectify problems.
With regards to our Resort rating, do we qualify as a Resort? Most definitely, as we provide for most of our guests wants onsite - such as food, drink, accommodation, sport, recreational facilities and entertainment; however we do understand that one person’s wants will not always be the same as another, which will affect an individual perceptions of the term.
Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to be able to welcome you back again.
Kind regards
Melanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mermaid Beach
1.3 mi away
Meriton Suites Broadbeach
1.4 mi away
Peppers Broadbeach
Peppers Broadbeach
#2 of 7 in Broadbeach
3,269 reviews
4 mi away
Paradise Resort Gold Coast
Paradise Resort Gold Coast
#16 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
1,475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Sea World Resort
Sea World Resort
#2 of 5 in Main Beach
4,643 reviews
8.5 mi away
NRMA Treasure Island Holiday Resort
5.8 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turtle Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Beach Resort

Address: 2346 Gold Coast Highway, Mermaid Beach, Gold Coast, Queensland 4218, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Mermaid Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Mermaid Beach
Price Range: $101 - $336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Turtle Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Turtle Beach Resort provides premier family accommodation set in a sub-tropical oasis just 300 metres to the beach. Truly a relaxing holiday home, the resort offers spacious one, two and three bedroom fully self contained apartments in a 3 storey walk up complex (please note we do not have lifts on site). Facilities include flat screen televisions and complimentary Foxtel channels. All apartments have balconies and terraces that overlook tropical greenery and manicured gardens. Take advantage of the extensive recreational facilities including 4 separate swimming areas with a mix of lagoon and lap swimming pools, waterslide, spa's, adults only pool and spa, Putt'n Around* our 15 hole themed putt-putt course, children's playground, 2 saunas, floodlit tennis court*, fitness room, games room*, 8 BBQ areas and FREE WiFi access. For those who prefer a slower pace, soak up the relaxed poolside atmosphere or send the kids to the cinema theatrette. Enjoy a woodfired pizza at our onsite restaurant 'The Deck' or pick up supplies at our onsite convenience store 'Fresh' which features a wide range of grocery items and an internet cafe. Turtle Beach Resort has designed a holiday program especially for the kids, packed with lots of fun activities to compliment our facilities. Club Turtle* is for kids aged four to twelve inclusive where they can choose to sit in and watch or join in the pre-arranged activities including creative art and craft sessions, big screen Wii interactive games, an Xbox only designated room for the game players, as well as party theme nights with Disco and Movies screenings. Our Exciting water playground 'Splash Zone" features 4 water slides, 2 toddler slides, dumping bucket, water cannons and lots more. Book for your family and friends..They will love you for it! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Turtle Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Beach Hotel Mermaid Beach
Sands Turtle Beach Hotel
Sands Turtle Beach Mermaid
Turtle Beach Resort Gold Coast/Mermaid Beach, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing