We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“could be better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Turtle Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Mermaid Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Weipa, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“could be better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stayed at the apartment that belongs to Accor vacation club, we didn't have any issues with the furniture or kitchen utensils, everything was in perfect order. But I don’t think that 1 bedroom apartment could be very comfortable for more than 2 people. There were 3 of us so we had to use sofa bed, but the room is so long and narrow that every time we needed to unfold that sofa bed we had to move pretty heavy coffee table out of the way and put it back in the morning because there is not that much space to move around. The resort consist of few 3 storey buildings, our balcony was facing pretty shabby corner of the garden (if it could be called a garden) with a giant old wooden fence. It is a family resort and I found it to be too busy, to many people in all areas at the same time, too many children running around. Walkways are very narrow so if you need to get from A to B, you’ll be constantly avoiding people going into opposite directions. Probably perfect place for family with children, there were many ways to entertain little ones, but if you don’t have them, I think it would best to make a booking somewhere else.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nqueenslander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie R, on behalf of the Resort Manager at Turtle Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Nqueenslader, I appreciate the time you have taken to review our Resort and acknowledge that you have stayed in an Accor apartment. I have arranged for a copy of your review to be sent to the Accor Vacation Club for their records regarding your issue with the sofa beds. Our apartments differ slightly from the Accor apartments in that we provide rollaway beds instead of sofa beds, which can make space issues a little easier. I do agree that our main market is the family market and can understand that it may not be suitable for all demographics; however we have made one of our pools and adults’ only pool and where we are advised, we try to allocate couples to the area near this pool which tends to be a little quieter. Thank you again for your review.
Kind regards
Melanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,070 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    411
    396
    154
    61
    48
See reviews for
859
38
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed there for 5 nights . apartment ok but needs updating.basic kitchen cooking utensils, lucky I had my own kettle to boil my baby's bottle water as the kettle supplied in room was dirty and unusable. The smoke detectors kept on going off when you cook or make toast in the toaster. Kids loved the pool and water slides.3rd floor with stairs unpractible for a family with 3 young children and with a pram.location about 10 min from surfers luckily we had a car. Staff at front desk ok but could be more welcoming especially if this is a resort!!! Value for money 6/10 as we found an apartment on the beach at surfers for the same price with views and better location later .Overall Lovely tropical gardens and pool areas. Suitable for families with children .

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Italisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed for a week, the room was nice, but dirty. Bathroom hadn't been cleaned, one of the balconies was appallingly dirty with leaf litter and bugs. You wouldn't step out there. The couch had a white stain... eww. And one of the lights didnt work.
We were only supplied with one towel each and had to pay for more, and considering this place had three pools and high humidity you really needed more. No soap or toiletries were supplied.
Saying that, staff were friendly, the facilities were lovely, the food at the cafe and resturants were delicious and well priced... I would travel back for their "ocean and earth" pizza alone.
Things were relatively quiet, and they also run their own transfers.
I recommend that anyone who comes here to pack well, like towels, toiletries, washing liquid etc... And ant killer. Don't leave food on benches cause we had an at of ants on our first morning.

I wouldn't go back, unless with a family of kids. I'll look somewhere else.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurabeth131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

We have stayed at Turtle Beach Resort on 5 different occasions and would love to go back again. Something has to be done about the bedding in the apartments, we have complained now 4 times, the beds are too hard and not at all comfortable. I do realize that the apartments are all privately owned, but with the money guests pay we should have the access to comfortable bedding - after all we are on holidays. If this can be rectified, we will definitely be back. Great location, friendly staff a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mads1202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie R, on behalf of the Resort Manager at Turtle Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Mads1202, Thank you for supporting Turtle Beach Resort and for posting your review. I do appreciate your comments regarding the bedding in our apartments and yes, all the apartments are individually owned, however this should not result in an uncomfortable night’s sleep for anyone. I am very much aware that each person prefers a different level of firmness in their mattress and I would like to suggest that next time you stay with us to please contact our Reservations Team directly so we can ensure that you are allocated an apartment with newer bedding. In addition to this, our housekeeping department can arrange mattress toppers on beds for those guests who prefer a comfier type of mattress. We would like to do whatever we can to rectify this problem for you and hope that you will stay with us again. Kind regards Melanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

We stayed six nights, two parents, grandmother, two children aged 6 and 3. Our accommodation was a three bedrooms upstairs, two bathrooms, one ensuite, and living/dining, kitchen and laundry downstairs. There was a small personal seating area both outside the back and front doors. We were across from the pool close to reception, which made it somewhat noisy with the waterfall during the night. If you are looking for a quiet spot I would suggest you ask for accommodation away from pool areas.

You can read from other posts the facilities were excellent particularly if you are travelling with children.

We had two occasions on which to complain, one the tin opener would not work, and the seal on the oven door kept falling off. Both these issues were fixed within a few hours.

For me personally, (Granny), I was extremely delighted that there was a lap pool specifically for adults only. This I utilized every day bar one, most of the time having the pool to myself.

The staff were helpful and friendly and there was an excellent tourism area displaying a multitude of brochures depicting places to visit.

The Resort is not far from Coolangatta Airport, and down the road is Pacific Fair, an enormous shopping complex. However for urgent needs the Resort also has a small mini market on site. There are many restaurants of all ethnic bent along the strip.

I would highly recommend Turtle Beach Resort as a family holiday destination.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheeba02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie R, on behalf of the Resort Manager at Turtle Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Sheeba02, What a wonderful review!! We appreciate your support for Turtle Beach Resort and thank you for taking the time to review our property. The accommodation you selected was perfect for your needs and these 3 bedroom apartments are definitely the pick of the bunch when you are travelling with a larger family. It was great to hear that you had the opportunity to use the adults only pool as this was built as a little oasis for those who need some time out from the children. Thank you again, and I hope you can stay with us again. Kind regards Melanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Lets face it, if you didn't have kids you probably wouldn't stay here. But if you do have kids, you can't go wrong with this resort. Two family-friendly dining options, great pools, a waterslide, cinema, mini golf etc etc all set in nicely landscaped grounds with lots of palm trees. You feel like you are on holidays as soon as you enter the resort.

We booked a "standard" 2 bedroom apartment as none of the executive apartments were available. I was pleasantly surprised - the apartment was clean, modern, very spacious with two bathrooms and a very nice well equipped kitchen. The old cane furniture has to go - but was still perfectly clean and comfortable and I knew what to expect from the pictures. The carpet looked new and there were nice modern artworks on the walls. We were very happy with our apartment for the price we paid.

The meals at the Rainforest Café are good - not gourmet but very generous portions - and very popular on "kids eat free" nights. The take-away pizza from the Woodfire Café was also good. I highly recommend "The Thai Restaurant" (that's what its called!) which is a couple of doors up from the resort - we had two lots of take-away and both were excellent.

My only problem with Turtle Beach Resort is its location - pick this resort up and put it down in Broadbeach or Main Beach and it would be perfect. Firstly, its located on the Gold Coast Highway (a six lane highway). This in no way impacts on the serenity of the resort, as once you are inside you don't hear the highway at all. But it just means that walking outside the resort is not a pleasant experience.

Secondly, there is no parkland or esplanade along the beachfront at Mermaid Beach, just a series of dead end streets that lead to the beach. If you want to walk along the coast you have to go down onto the sand (which is not an option when you are pushing a stroller). We did find some nice parklands with children's playgrounds further north at Broadbeach but you have to hop in your car.

On our last day I asked Reception what we should do with our recycling. Unfortunately there is no recycling system in place and I was told that the resort had tried to implement recycling but abandoned it because people weren't able to (or willing to) sort their rubbish properly. Considering the size of the resort I think this is pretty disappointing.

If you want a relaxing no-stress holiday that keeps both adults and kids happy then Turtle Beach is a good choice if you don't mind the mundane suburban surroundings.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dgtravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie R, on behalf of the Resort Manager at Turtle Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you so much for your comprehensive review on our property. I think that all of your points are spot on and I appreciate the effort you have gone to. Our location is certainly a positive or negative depending on your view point, but we like to focus on the positives – no high rise buildings, no Surfers Paradise traffic jams, no nightclubs or noisy bars, easy access both North and South, right on the public network system and as you mentioned still a quiet environment internally.
We did have recycling bins on the property, but unfortunately, as our staff mentioned, it only took one or two people to place general waste in these bins to put an end to our green plans. The Council will not pick up contaminated recycling and after many tries, our efforts were abandoned. The subject is regularly brought up at our management meeting but we a yet to find a solution to the problem.
Thanks again for staying with us and I hope you will stay with us again.
Kind regards
Melanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Situated on Gold Coast Hwy, only 3-4km from Surfers Paradise, Turtle Beach Resort is a family centric getaway. Pools (inc. a water slide), tennis courts, putt-putt and on-site eateries make this an ideal place for families with kids <12yrs. Staff are friendly and responsive. Lots of people are, obviously, repeat visitors. Resort is clean and well maintained.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank The_4_Bears2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie R, on behalf of the Resort Manager at Turtle Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review of our property; you have definitely highlighted the best of our Resort. We hope that you have now joined our repeat guest list and we hope than you come back soon. Kind regards Melanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mermaid Beach
3.9 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,573 reviews
1.3 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments - Broadbeach
1.4 mi away
Peppers Broadbeach
Peppers Broadbeach
#2 of 21 in Broadbeach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
NRMA Treasure Island Holiday Park
6.5 mi away
Sea World Resort
Sea World Resort
#2 of 5 in Main Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,171 reviews
4.0 mi away
Paradise Resort Gold Coast
Paradise Resort Gold Coast
#14 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turtle Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Beach Resort

Property: Turtle Beach Resort
Address: 2346 Gold Coast Highway, Mermaid Beach, Gold Coast, Queensland 4218, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Mermaid Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Mermaid Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Turtle Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Turtle Beach Resort provides premier family accommodation set in a sub-tropical oasis just 300 metres to the beach. Truly a relaxing holiday home, the resort offers spacious one, two and three bedroom fully self contained apartments in a 3 storey walk up complex (please note we do not have lifts on site). Facilities include flat screen televisions and complimentary Foxtel channels. All apartments have balconies and terraces that overlook tropical greenery and manicured gardens. Take advantage of the extensive recreational facilities including 4 separate swimming areas with a mix of lagoon and lap swimming pools, waterslide, spa's, adults only pool and spa, Putt'n Around* our 15 hole themed putt-putt course, children's playground, 2 saunas, floodlit tennis court*, fitness room, games room*, 8 BBQ areas and FREE WiFi access. For those who prefer a slower pace, soak up the relaxed poolside atmosphere or send the kids to the cinema theatrette. Enjoy a woodfired pizza at our onsite restaurant 'The Deck' or pick up supplies at our onsite convenience store 'Fresh' which features a wide range of grocery items and an internet cafe. Turtle Beach Resort has designed a holiday program especially for the kids, packed with lots of fun activities to compliment our facilities. Club Turtle* is for kids aged four to twelve inclusive where they can choose to sit in and watch or join in the pre-arranged activities including creative art and craft sessions, big screen Wii interactive games, an Xbox only designated room for the game players, as well as party theme nights with Disco and Movies screenings. Our Exciting water playground 'Splash Zone" features 4 water slides, 2 toddler slides, dumping bucket, water cannons and lots more. Book for your family and friends..They will love you for it! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Turtle Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Beach Hotel Mermaid Beach
Sands Turtle Beach Hotel
Sands Turtle Beach Mermaid
Turtle Beach Resort Gold Coast/Mermaid Beach, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing