We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better for older kids”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Turtle Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Mermaid Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Better for older kids”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

With all the reports of Turtle Beach being so family-friendly, I was disappointed. We paid $90 to rent a cheap, old portacot (which can be purchased new for about $50) in our room which I felt should've been complimentary when we were paying roughly $1600 otherwise for accommodation there. The apartment was good, spacious with two bathrooms, aircon and foxtel. There isn't a lot for younger kids though. There's one fairly tame water slide but the rule is kids have to be over 5 to ride it. Kids' club is for 4-12 so our 3 year old was at a bit of a loss while his older sister was able to utilize the facilities better. The playground is really just like what you'd get at McDonald's, and I didn't see many kids on it at all. The Woodfire Pizza is good and not too pricey but the convenience shop is really expensive. It does seem to be the best accomm for families in the area, but mermaid beach generally is quite old and looks very dated.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 44bssg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie R, on behalf of the Resort Manager at Turtle Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear 44bssg, Thank you for your time and your review. I am sorry that you felt there was not enough to entertain your 3 year old at the Resort, this is not a comment that I see frequently, but I certainly understand that each child is different and not all facilities will suit all parties. I acknowledge your comments regarding the portacots and will ensure that our rental company maintains the quality of this service for all of our guests. The beauty of Mermaid Beach is that it is still more of a quiet residential area compared to Surfers Paradise and Broadbeach and we hope that it is not built out with skyscrapers, as much of the Gold Coast has been. Thank you again for your review and I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back. Kind regards Melanie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,072 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    411
    397
    155
    61
    48
See reviews for
860
39
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

Just spent a (very wet) weekend at Turtle Beach resort and it was fantastic! A friend
and I stayed together with our kids and left the husbands at home. When you are holidaying with 3 kids under 8, you have to be prepared to go into the pool in any weather so we utilised them well! We used two of the pool areas (one near the Pizzeria and the one with the waterslide) and both were fantastic. The adults enjoyed the warm spa and the kids enjoyed all the pools. My 2 year old was able to stand up in the kiddie pool (0.6m deep) which meant that I could hold her hand and stay close, but not get totally wet in the cooler water!
We only left the resort once to visit the mini golf place up the road (it was partly under cover!) the rest of the time was spent in the pool, relaxing in the spacious unit or eating in the restaurants. The units were nice and had laundry facilities and 2 bathrooms (in the 2 bedroom). There was a bit of noise coming from the pool on Saturday night, but nothing that you wouldn't expect from families on holiday. We had dinner both nights at the Rainforest Cafe and there was suitable food for kids and nice food for adults and the pricing was reasonable. One of us also ducked out for coffee each morning and brought it back to the room - the coffee was nice. I was very impressed that almost every staff member we came across was genuinely happy and went out of their way to assist us with any needs we had. I used the convenience shop a few times for milk, cheese and bread. Overall we had a fantastic experience and I would be very happy to come back again. The reason I titled it "Looks like the Pictures" is because it actually does look like the pictures on the website - and often they places don't!

Room Tip: If you have a pram and lots of luggage, you may want to choose a ground floor apartment so that you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RosEmmaKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie R, on behalf of the Resort Manager at Turtle Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear CuteEmma
Thank you for taking the time to write your review on tripadvisor and I am so glad to hear that you and you friend had such a lovely stay. Luckily our pools are heated, so even in the cooler months the children can always have an outlet when it is raining (and boy have we had our fair share of rain this year!!!) I am happy to be able to pass on your great comments to the rest of our team and look forward to welcoming your family back to the Resort on another occasion. Kind regards Melanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

We had 14 nights at Turtle Beach Resort and can't wait to come back. We arrived on the midnight flight from Perth and were feeling exhausted and staff managed to get us into our room earlier which was fabulous. Emma and James on reception were wonderful, easy to chat with and ever so helpful. Terry the shuttle bus driver was also awesome. Asks the kids all sorts of questions about how their day was. All have brilliant people skills. Resort was clean, reasonably quiet (considering their were loads of kids about) and a wonderful place to relax. Pools all sparkling, restaurants inviting and we didn't want to leave. Met some wonderful new friends and am just about to rebook for next year.

Room Tip: We had a ground floor between the 2 main pools. We had easy access out the front door to the main r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie R, on behalf of the Resort Manager at Turtle Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear Suzie – Thank you so much for your great review. We are continuing to invest time and resources in staff training, development and recruitment, to ensure we have the best people working for us. Emma and James are two of our more recent additions to the Reception team and their customer service skills are excellent. Terry is also a great asset, as is the shuttle bus service he provides to our guests, and your comment about making new friends is quite a common one, with families rebooking year after year after meeting here. Thanks again for your great comments and we will see you again next year. Kind regards Melanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburton, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

Turtle beach resort is a super place:) the resort has four great pools with a great kids water slide which I have to admit I had a ride on myself lol:) this resort has a great family feel u really feel at home. I loved the view from our room trees and birds everywhere so lovely could see the pools as well truely felt like heaven to my family:) its a very resort for children as well safety is the top of this resorts list. Its nice to have a shop right there as well and pizza right on your door step lol as its our sons fav:) there are plenty of shops not faraway either and a huge mall down da road.You can also rent a car at a very good price and its just a phone call away. I could go on and on about this awesome resort hehe:) anyway ahuge thankyou to the staff at turtle beach resort and we will hopefully see your in afew years its been real miss u already:) keep up da good work

Room Tip: second floor is good room 283:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheralyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie R, on behalf of the Resort Manager at Turtle Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear Sheralyn, please feel free to go on and on to all your friends and family… We love to hear such great comments on our Resort and greatly appreciate the time you have taken to write your review. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in a couple of years; the pool slide will be ready and waiting for you (and the kids!!) Thanks again. Melanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalby, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

This is our second stay and will be coming again. Staff are fantastic - the rooms are clean, the gardens are very well maintained, and the the "front of house" were always happy and helpful. Pools are great for kids and adults. On site cafe and bars cater for most needs of a weary family. Location to beaches and eateries is great. Tennis and putt putt golf are great for the "trying to relax parents" and the "energised kids". The wife and I feel comfortable and relaxed, and kids are happy - well done Turtle beach resort.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ross P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie R, on behalf of the Resort Manager at Turtle Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear Ross P. Wow!! Thank you so much for your comments and for staying with us again. Your positive review is greatly appreciated and I am pleased you had such a great stay. We look forward to welcoming you in the years to come. Kind regards Melanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oamaru, New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed the amenities. Great place for families to get together. The swimming pools were well kept. Very friendly and courteous staff. Room security was good. Clean units. Tennis court, putt putt mini golf, play areas for young children.. Underground car park. Handy location for beaches, shopping, theme parks, casino and Draculas. Bus outside resort, beach within walking distance. A restful place for a get away if one chooses to stay within the resort.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie R, on behalf of the Resort Manager at Turtle Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Hi Amanda. Thank you for your review and we hope to see you back again in the future.
Kind regards Melanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

Great for kids, heaps of activities, functional rooms. Basic food takeaway shops in walking distance. Coles and Woolworths a short drive away at Broadbeach/Pacific Fair.

Secure parking under complex.

No lift facilities to get to your room/ floor.

Room Tip: Added benefits for Accor members
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4017spiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie R, on behalf of the Resort Manager at Turtle Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear 4017spiro. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. Your comment about our lack of lifts is definitely worth noting so that potential guests are aware. We will always assist where we can with accommodating floor requests or there is also option to guarantee a specific floor when making your booking. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future, whether it is as an Accor or direct guest.
Kind regards Melanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mermaid Beach
3.9 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,573 reviews
1.3 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments - Broadbeach
1.4 mi away
Peppers Broadbeach
Peppers Broadbeach
#2 of 21 in Broadbeach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
NRMA Treasure Island Holiday Park
6.5 mi away
Sea World Resort
Sea World Resort
#2 of 5 in Main Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,220 reviews
4.0 mi away
Paradise Resort Gold Coast
Paradise Resort Gold Coast
#14 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turtle Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Beach Resort

Property: Turtle Beach Resort
Address: 2346 Gold Coast Highway, Mermaid Beach, Gold Coast, Queensland 4218, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Mermaid Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Mermaid Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Turtle Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Turtle Beach Resort provides premier family accommodation set in a sub-tropical oasis just 300 metres to the beach. Truly a relaxing holiday home, the resort offers spacious one, two and three bedroom fully self contained apartments in a 3 storey walk up complex (please note we do not have lifts on site). Facilities include flat screen televisions and complimentary Foxtel channels. All apartments have balconies and terraces that overlook tropical greenery and manicured gardens. Take advantage of the extensive recreational facilities including 4 separate swimming areas with a mix of lagoon and lap swimming pools, waterslide, spa's, adults only pool and spa, Putt'n Around* our 15 hole themed putt-putt course, children's playground, 2 saunas, floodlit tennis court*, fitness room, games room*, 8 BBQ areas and FREE WiFi access. For those who prefer a slower pace, soak up the relaxed poolside atmosphere or send the kids to the cinema theatrette. Enjoy a woodfired pizza at our onsite restaurant 'The Deck' or pick up supplies at our onsite convenience store 'Fresh' which features a wide range of grocery items and an internet cafe. Turtle Beach Resort has designed a holiday program especially for the kids, packed with lots of fun activities to compliment our facilities. Club Turtle* is for kids aged four to twelve inclusive where they can choose to sit in and watch or join in the pre-arranged activities including creative art and craft sessions, big screen Wii interactive games, an Xbox only designated room for the game players, as well as party theme nights with Disco and Movies screenings. Our Exciting water playground 'Splash Zone" features 4 water slides, 2 toddler slides, dumping bucket, water cannons and lots more. Book for your family and friends..They will love you for it! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Turtle Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Beach Hotel Mermaid Beach
Sands Turtle Beach Hotel
Sands Turtle Beach Mermaid
Turtle Beach Resort Gold Coast/Mermaid Beach, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing