We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nightmare”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Turtle Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Mermaid Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 10, 2012

worst hotel ever. Ugly room. Coakroach in walk in robe. Took a photo and posted it on Facebook. Old tired looking room. Stuff up by incompetent and staff front desk staff. The guys were great but the female front desk staff rude. I ss suppose to get a thrifty hire car at 9 as I had a medical appt. That I had book ages ago in Victoria. Stuff up by thrifty staff so at 8:40am asked turtle beach staff (assistant manager) if she could fax details to thrifty. At 10 am still no car and missed my medical appt.Went to the front desk again. Some other female staff member looked and me and smiled with a smirk and said they never sent thru fax as they were busy. I had told them to please send the fax as I needed to get to benowaby 9:30. What really irritated me was the smirk and patronizing attitude. I booked at the voyager hotel for the remainder of my trip. The pools at turtle ate small. Games room pitiful. Nevrt again

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gabi1959fromgeelong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie R, on behalf of the Resort Manager at Turtle Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2012

Dear Gabi, thank you for taking the time to post your review. It is disappointing to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at the Resort and felt you were unable to approach reception regarding the quality of your room, as our team will always look at moving you to a more suitable room if given the opportunity or rectify any problems you may find. We are lucky enough to be located on a large block of land with lush tropical gardens thorough out the resort and a climate which lends itself to an alfresco living style. This of course does lead to the occasional creepy crawly making its way into the rooms. I can assure you however, that our rooms undergo twice yearly pest control treatments, which is double the standard recommended for a residential dwelling and our housekeeping and maintenance teams are more than happy to attend to any isolated incidents. With regards to your car hire, I apologise that our front office team was unable to assist you quickly enough. I don’t believe that there was any intent to patronize you but I can certainly understand your frustration. Turtle Beach has 4 Resort pool areas including two 25 metre lap pools but we have found that since the introduction of our new pool slide, one pool in particular can get quite busy. Your feedback on the games rooms has been passed on to Resort Manager who will be looking into ways to improve this facility. I trust that you have received your refund on your car hire and hope that you enjoyed the remainder of your trip. I hope that we may be given the opportunity to welcome you to the Resort again. Kind regards Melanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,166)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

849 - 855 of 1,166 reviews

Reviewed December 4, 2012

I am currently sitting at Brisbane Airport covered in bed bug bites and our family holiday experience was much as others have stated. First night we were woken, blood on sheets from bites, pest control called but we had to leave our belongings behind. We were offered another beautiful room, and staff were very apologetic and generous in their response, this happened only when housekeeping was presented with evidence of bugs. Otherwise facilities great, staff especially Scott very helpful and great location. But I am sorry we will be back to Gold Coast but not Turtle Beach. I am now concerned that I am carrying these bugs home!

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
3  Thank Shell F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie R, on behalf of the Resort Manager at Turtle Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2012

Dear Shell F, I appreciate the time you have taken to review our Resort and I hope that your family are well. I have fully investigated your booking and the procedures taken with your belongings and I feel confident that these little pests would not have made it home with you. We have been told by our pest control company that in particular, dark places such as airplane luggage compartments and tour and transfers bus luggage bins are becoming the most common area for the transfer of these pests which then unknowingly accompany guests to their accommodation. It is for this reason that we take immediate action to ensure that all of your belongings are also treated to ensure that nothing is taken with you. I hope that you enjoyed the Executive Apartment upgrade and restaurant vouchers that were given for the remainder of your stay. I will also pass on to Scott your kind comments. I hope that we get the opportunity to see you again. Kind regards Melanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Stayed in a recently renovated, one bedroom, Accor Vacation Club apartment. Apartment was spacious, well equipped with a full kitchen, king sized bed and flat screen TV. Unit was spotlessly clean and as we had a unit in the back corner facing outwards, it was very quiet with a canal view. Inside facing units may be less quiet. Staff were very friendly and informative and while the resort has several pools for kids, we used the adults only pool and spa. We used both on site eating cafes which had good cheap meals. Shopping centre and beach are within easy walk. So we enjoyed a relaxing, enjoyable week. The resort would be fantastic for young children with a range of pools and other activities.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Greg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie R, on behalf of the Resort Manager at Turtle Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

Dear Greg B, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I was pleased to hear that you had a relaxing time at the Resort and found our facilities and location to your liking. We are lucky enough to have a great relationship with Accor as well as a large area within the Resort to be able to cater to couples as well as families. We hope you are able to stay with us again. Kind regards Melanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

This was our second time staying in a 2 bedroom apartment on the 2nd floor with a view of the pool, we had an absolute ball. My son loved the pools, mini golf and especially the tennis. Your staff were all friendly and helpful at all times........... thank you we will be back for sure :))

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie R, on behalf of the Resort Manager at Turtle Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2012

Hi Lisa - We are so glad you had another wonderful stay at our Resort. See you again soon. Kind regards Melanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

We had a fantastic time at Turtle Beach Resort. Kids were flat out in the pool each day, plenty to do, they loved the movies at night and they thought the water slide was awsome! The two bedroom apartment was great, plenty of room, kitchen had a large fridge which was great, bbq's most nights. Cant wait to go back again!

Room Tip: Ground floor apartment is great for young kids, especially with prams.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie R, on behalf of the Resort Manager at Turtle Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2012

Hi Amanda A – Thanks so much for your great review!! Good tip on the Ground Floor Apartment for the little ones. Hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Melanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

You can't get better if you have a young family. The 2 bedroom units are a great size, it's got two TV's, dishwasher, washer and clothes dryer, oven, microwave. I didn't use much of the kitchen though as the BBQ was just outside our room. The kids loved it, the pool areas are great, with a new little water slide, and new trampolines and mini golf. We've looked around and can't find anywhere better to stay. The pizzas were awesome too (although tell the chefs to go easier on the meatlovers, there's' way to much ham)

Tip - If you want to save money, don't go to the 24 hour store across the road. Walk 100m to the left and go to the SPAR (i think) store. Wayyyy cheaper.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rolly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie R, on behalf of the Resort Manager at Turtle Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2012

Dear Rolly H, Thank you for posting your review. It was great to hear you had such a wonderful time on your return trip!! I agree, the new pool slide and trampolines are certainly a hit with our guests. Next time you stay, you might think about using one of the online grocery stores such as Coles Online; they will deliver all your grocery items to you once you have arrived, so you only need to top up with those last minute items from our handy Convenience Store. I hope we get the chance to welcome you back soon. Kind regards Melanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Had stayed here before and it was great but unfortunately this time it was a big disappointment re the cleanliness had to buy cleaning products to clean down all the surfaces also cover the couch to feel comfortable sitting on it. When we heated bread in the oven it set off the smoke alarms and we were wary of using it after that although we could hear other alarms going off pretty frequently so not the only ones with that problem. Will probably look around for somewhere else next time which is a shame as its a great family resort.

Room Tip: If you dont want to cart luggage upstairs a ground floor is best. Ask for morning or afternoon sun f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank reeftonite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie R, on behalf of the Resort Manager at Turtle Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Dear reeftonite. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I apologise that our standards appear to have dropped since your previous stay; cleanliness is certainly taken seriously and I will ensure that out Housekeeping department is made aware of your comments. With regards to the smoke alarms, I was not aware of this, so I will certainly mention this to our maintenance team to see if we can work with our fire service providers. We would love the opportunity to welcome you back in the future and offer you the experience you received in your previous stays. Kind regards Melanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mermaid Beach
1.3 mi away
Meriton Suites Broadbeach
2.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,695 reviews
4.8 mi away
RACV Royal Pines Resort Gold Coast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
551 reviews
1.4 mi away
Peppers Broadbeach
Peppers Broadbeach
#2 of 7 in Broadbeach
3,167 reviews
4 mi away
Paradise Resort Gold Coast
Paradise Resort Gold Coast
#16 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turtle Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Beach Resort

Address: 2346 Gold Coast Highway, Mermaid Beach, Gold Coast, Queensland 4218, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Mermaid Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Mermaid Beach
Price Range: $96 - $369 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Turtle Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Turtle Beach Resort provides premier family accommodation set in a sub-tropical oasis just 300 metres to the beach. Truly a relaxing holiday home, the resort offers spacious one, two and three bedroom fully self contained apartments in a 3 storey walk up complex (please note we do not have lifts on site). Facilities include flat screen televisions and complimentary Foxtel channels. All apartments have balconies and terraces that overlook tropical greenery and manicured gardens. Take advantage of the extensive recreational facilities including 4 separate swimming areas with a mix of lagoon and lap swimming pools, waterslide, spa's, adults only pool and spa, Putt'n Around* our 15 hole themed putt-putt course, children's playground, 2 saunas, floodlit tennis court*, fitness room, games room*, 8 BBQ areas and FREE WiFi access. For those who prefer a slower pace, soak up the relaxed poolside atmosphere or send the kids to the cinema theatrette. Enjoy a woodfired pizza at our onsite restaurant 'The Deck' or pick up supplies at our onsite convenience store 'Fresh' which features a wide range of grocery items and an internet cafe. Turtle Beach Resort has designed a holiday program especially for the kids, packed with lots of fun activities to compliment our facilities. Club Turtle* is for kids aged four to twelve inclusive where they can choose to sit in and watch or join in the pre-arranged activities including creative art and craft sessions, big screen Wii interactive games, an Xbox only designated room for the game players, as well as party theme nights with Disco and Movies screenings. Our Exciting water playground 'Splash Zone" features 4 water slides, 2 toddler slides, dumping bucket, water cannons and lots more. Book for your family and friends..They will love you for it! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Turtle Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Beach Hotel Mermaid Beach
Sands Turtle Beach Hotel
Sands Turtle Beach Mermaid
Turtle Beach Resort Gold Coast/Mermaid Beach, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing