We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A place for families”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Turtle Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Mermaid Beach
Certificate of Excellence
South Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A place for families”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Great resort aimed at families. Suites that are modern and comfortable with all the modern conveniences. On site there is a cafe, convenience store, pizzaria as well as a games room and 2 pool area (kids and adult pools as well as spas) and tennis courts and numerous BBQ areas on the property. The room that we had was a 2 bedroom suite which was comfortable enough to sleep our family of 5. King bed in master suite with ensuite, twin beds in 2nd bedroom and a queen fold out sofa bed in the living area. In the main bathroom there was a washer and dryer hidden behind louvre doors (out of site). Dining area, kitchen with modern stainless appliances, television in living area as well as main bedroom. Bonus of a balcony which was great to have breakfast on in the morning or a glass of wine at night over looking the grounds. Wildlife is abundant with various birds even a friendly kookaburra to the evening entertainment of watching the fruit bats come in at dusk to eat the fruit out of the palm trees. One disadvantage is that you have to carry luggage up flights of stairs as there is no lifts, but by the end of you holiday one plus is that you have worked on your fitness. Under ground secure carpark is great and access throughout the resort is via electronic keycard which ensures security. The resort is close to the beaches, only 300metre walk to nearest, great shopping centre (Pacific Fair) within a short drive of the resort. To access all the Theme parks an easy drive through Surfers Paradise will get you there within 20mins (depending on traffic)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aussiefriend2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie R, on behalf of the Resort Manager at Turtle Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear aussiefriend2, Thank you for your review, I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. You have certainly highlighted some of the best features of our Resort including our wonderful resident Kookaburra. It was only yesterday afternoon I caught him napping in the sun outside our café – even he enjoys the Resort lifestyle. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you and your family back to the Resort in the future. Thanks again for choosing our Resort for you holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,070 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    411
    396
    154
    61
    48
See reviews for
859
38
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
auckland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

unfortunately our stay at turtle beach resort was not a good one. we booked for the school holidays 7 nights in october 2012 through blue sky group. Our whole family got bed bug bites!
My husband had severe bits for 2 weeks after we came home. Were given a can of fly spray to get rid of the bed bugs. But aboslutely no compensation. I would never stay here again. They seriously need to clean the place probably. Unit was dark and right by an entrance into the complex which was not very pleasant. Whole place needs a revamp and new furniture. Rattan headboards are loved by bed bugs!! angela auckland nz

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank angelag g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie R, on behalf of the Resort Manager at Turtle Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Turtle Beach Resort has no affiliation with the Blue Sky Holiday Group who manages its own private apartments within the Turtle Beach Resort complex. We can only comment on the overall standard and cleanliness of apartments that are not owned, managed and serviced by our management company.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Fantastic resort if you have young children, safe & secure, great pools, mini golf and rooms. There's a bus stop right outside so didn't need a vehicle used public transport all holidays. The onsite Cafe was very slow at getting orders out and quite often got them mixed up. Front desk weren't too helpful when it came to finding out about the public transport tried to push their own bus service which was very expensive. If you need to go to Outback Spectacular use a taxi.

Room Tip: There are no lifts so if you don't want to climb stairs request a ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank b0y0hb0y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie R, on behalf of the Resort Manager at Turtle Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear b0y0hb0y, thank you for your honest feedback which has been taken on board. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay overall and would be happy to welcome you back to the Resort when you next visit the Gold Coast. Kind regards Melanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

We stayed at turtle beach approx 1 year ago and have booked again for dec/Jan this year. It was our first holiday in 12 years. We had and have booked again a ground floor unit as we have a daughter with special needs. We were happy with apartment, service and layout of resort. My kids are looking forward to trying out new slide! Can't wait see you soon turtle beach

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leisa859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie R, On behalf of the Resort Manager at Turtle Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear Leisa859, We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the Resort and hope that you have a fabulous stay. Our new slide is proving enormously popular and your children will LOVE it. We also have a new trampoline on the Northern side of the Resort to try out. Thank you for your support.
Kind regards
Melanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

We went for three nights with our twenty month old son. There was a stuff up with our room when we first arrived but it was quickly fixed up and we were given vouchers as compensation which was ver generous.

The facilities there are fantastic for children, my son loved the pool, trampoline, put put, playground, and safe area to run around in.

The carpet in the bedroom was quite dirty and the rooms were a bit dated, but the family atmosphere made up for that.

Cafes were very kid friendly but the food was a bit unhealthy, but we had a great relaxing time and would recommend it with proviso's

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luckyme100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie R, on behalf of the Resort Manager at Turtle Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear Luckyme100. Thank you for your review, I am pleased that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. I appreciate your comments regarding the apartment – comments such as yours are certainly taken on board and help us in the management of funding so that we can maintain all of our rooms to a 4 star standard. Your comment regarding the café food will be forwarded to our chef for consideration in the next menu planning.
Thank you again, regards
Melanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

Spacious self contained apartment very nice. Great pools, tennis courts & kids club leader was fantastic! Glad to have woolies groceries (including detergents for dishwasher & washing machine) delivered to our door within a couple hours of checkin. Next time we will BYO: sharp knive, pegs, plastic bowls etc for kids.
We will stay on first floor again over the more expensive (but bigger) ground floor apartments. Although it was difficult lifting pram up stairs (no lifts), the rooms were carpeted not tiled and the balconies are more private.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Harrisson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie R, on behalf of the Resort Manager at Turtle Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear Harrisson
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Resort very soon.
Kind regards
Melanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

Our apartment was really avarage, old tvs, stained, smelly beds, ants in the kitchen, dark, dark, dark walls... Kids had fun in the pool though, but I would never go back there. Next time, back to the chevron of renessance...

Room Tip: Don't stay in the ground floor apartment!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Leki_Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie R, Public Relations Manager at Turtle Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Leki_Melbourne, Thank you for your honest review. I would be more than happy for you to contact me to discuss your posting, as I believe that all the rooms within our letting pool have been upgraded with brand new 40 inch TV’s approximately 6 weeks ago. It is possible that you may not have stayed in one of our managed apartments. I would also love the opportunity to hear of any other feedback which we can action. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mermaid Beach
3.9 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,573 reviews
1.3 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments - Broadbeach
1.4 mi away
Peppers Broadbeach
Peppers Broadbeach
#2 of 21 in Broadbeach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
NRMA Treasure Island Holiday Park
6.5 mi away
Sea World Resort
Sea World Resort
#2 of 5 in Main Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,171 reviews
4.0 mi away
Paradise Resort Gold Coast
Paradise Resort Gold Coast
#14 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turtle Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Beach Resort

Property: Turtle Beach Resort
Address: 2346 Gold Coast Highway, Mermaid Beach, Gold Coast, Queensland 4218, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Mermaid Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Mermaid Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Turtle Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Turtle Beach Resort provides premier family accommodation set in a sub-tropical oasis just 300 metres to the beach. Truly a relaxing holiday home, the resort offers spacious one, two and three bedroom fully self contained apartments in a 3 storey walk up complex (please note we do not have lifts on site). Facilities include flat screen televisions and complimentary Foxtel channels. All apartments have balconies and terraces that overlook tropical greenery and manicured gardens. Take advantage of the extensive recreational facilities including 4 separate swimming areas with a mix of lagoon and lap swimming pools, waterslide, spa's, adults only pool and spa, Putt'n Around* our 15 hole themed putt-putt course, children's playground, 2 saunas, floodlit tennis court*, fitness room, games room*, 8 BBQ areas and FREE WiFi access. For those who prefer a slower pace, soak up the relaxed poolside atmosphere or send the kids to the cinema theatrette. Enjoy a woodfired pizza at our onsite restaurant 'The Deck' or pick up supplies at our onsite convenience store 'Fresh' which features a wide range of grocery items and an internet cafe. Turtle Beach Resort has designed a holiday program especially for the kids, packed with lots of fun activities to compliment our facilities. Club Turtle* is for kids aged four to twelve inclusive where they can choose to sit in and watch or join in the pre-arranged activities including creative art and craft sessions, big screen Wii interactive games, an Xbox only designated room for the game players, as well as party theme nights with Disco and Movies screenings. Our Exciting water playground 'Splash Zone" features 4 water slides, 2 toddler slides, dumping bucket, water cannons and lots more. Book for your family and friends..They will love you for it! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Turtle Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Beach Hotel Mermaid Beach
Sands Turtle Beach Hotel
Sands Turtle Beach Mermaid
Turtle Beach Resort Gold Coast/Mermaid Beach, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing