We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay with the Family”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Turtle Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Mermaid Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 2, 2007

We stayed at Turtle Beach Resort from 29 August to 5 September 2007. We stayed in a gorgeous 2 bedroom apartment (the kids had their own bathroom and bedroom, we had our own bedroom and ensuite). The kitchen was excellent and the balcony was huge with a big living and meals area. It exceeded all of our expectations. The only downfall is climbing three flights of stairs to our room. The pool was great and the kids just loved it. We had a hire car, so free car parking facilities were provided. You could also catch the bus from the front of the resort. It is definitely in a prime location and not far from the beach. Would recommend this resort to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Paula35au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,193)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,138 - 1,144 of 1,193 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2007

We have stayed at this resort twice. As a family of three, the first time was in a 1 bedroom with a rollaway, the second time was in a 2 bedroom. (Go the 2 bedroom!). We have stayed on both sides of the resort, in which we found the first side (built later) to be a bit better - but they were upgrading the rooms on the older side when we were there last. The rooms are lovely, we had a ground floor both times (as we requested). On the second visit, the walls had food and black marks on them from previous visitors. We rang housekeeping
and they sent someone over (after 2 phone calls). They cleaned the room and all was well. We liked the ability to go to the theme parks on one day and relax at the resort the next. We have hired a car on both trips and parked in the free parking underneath the resort. Staff are pretty friendly and grounds well kept. We didn't have any problelms with noise or dirty BBQ areas. Met lovely guests from NZ, who we keep in touch with. It has a real family feel to it. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank rat68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2007

Exceeded our expectations for the price paid. Room was clean, quite roomy with a nice balcony overlook a courtyard area. Very conveniently located bus stop, literally right out the front door, which will take you to all the destinations (ie Surfers Paradise, all the theme parks, shopping centers, etc). Resort pools were great, although the small kids pool could have been a bit warmer. The other pools were heated and absolutely beautiful. Easy walking distance (<5mins) to Mermaid beach, if you like something away from the hustle and bustle of Surfers. Mermaid Beach Surf Club great for a meal too!

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Tazzie07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2007

We have just got back from Turtle Beach Resort and found it to be fine, a really great family resort, it's huge! The apartment was nice and clean, we had a 2 bdrm on the third floor - a bit of a pain to carry up bags and prams etc but there is no noise of other people coming up and down the stairs all the time and it's sunny up top - the bottom ones looked dark. There are lots of pools, but they aren't very warm. It's o.k. if it's nice and hot and sunny, they are tepid, but they have spas and the kids don't seem to mind the cold. It had great facilities, very nicely done. The only gripe I would have is that they say they have tennis courts and mini golf etc, but the catch is you have to pay a 'small fee' like $5 or something for the golf and I'm not sure what it is for tennis. I just felt this was a bit off because it should all be included in your stay in the price, but other than that, an excellent place for a family. Buses right outside the door, a bit of a walk to Broadbeach, about 20 mins or so, and accross the highway to the beach, but there are lights etc and it's o.k. It's not too noisy either. All in all, we found it to be just perfect for our family.

Stayed: September 2007
2  Thank NewZealandSunseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2007

2 adults, 2 kids booked here based on reviews and with 2 other families were happy with the price. Rooms are good with all required amenities. There is no cleaning which is a pain when you are on holidays. The pools were calimed to be heated but were icy, even for the kids. Definitely a disappointment. The BBQs were excellent, always spotless the next day. There is obviously some security issues with breakins, but they warn you and there is not much more they can do if your fellow guests are robbers! Would stay here again, everthing is nearby. Check out Nobbys Beach Surf Clu for a meal or drink,

Stayed: July 2007
2  Thank rdcoorey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2007

Family of 3. Wondered what to expect after reading reviews after booking this resort. Our room I am pleased to say was clean and in a good location. Pools great for kids. Playground disappointing!!!!! Needs updating. Location close to local shops(bakery right next door), beach not far to walk. Overall a great holiday was had and would stay there again in same area (close to Lap pool). Take along your own tennis racquets to use on one of two courts.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank starfish68Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2007

We recently got back from a week at Turtle Beach where we stayed in a 3 bedroomed apartment with another family. After reading the other reviews we had a good idea what to expect, eg crossing the highway to get to the beach and the games room in the carpark. We knew these things when we booked and were more concerned about the comments on cleanliness. However I have to say our apartment was spotless, we were really pleased with it and it was very spacious as well.
The resort was very relaxing, we spent a fair bit of time by the pools. They all seem to be varying temperatures, and if some are a bit cold then try another (we found the pool near the cinema next to the spa quite good!)
Reception were both friendly and helpful. We arrived after hours and no problem there, you just ring on the phone and the security guard comes out with your room key and resort map.
Wonderful weather, 21-28 C and sunny every day.
We got a trans coach bus pass that includes transfers from airport, transfers to theme parks and use of local buses. It was quite expensive really but very convenient. Bus stop is right outside the door and for the theme parks you just ring reception to book the bus transfer.
Would definitely recommend Turtle Beach, especially the 3 bed roomed apartments. We had a really good time there.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank southislandfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mermaid Beach
1.3 mi away
Meriton Suites Broadbeach
1.4 mi away
Peppers Broadbeach
Peppers Broadbeach
#2 of 7 in Broadbeach
3,346 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quality Hotel Mermaid Waters
Quality Hotel Mermaid Waters
#1 of 1 in Mermaid Waters
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Paradise Resort Gold Coast
Paradise Resort Gold Coast
#17 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
1,485 reviews
6.5 mi away
Sea World Resort
Sea World Resort
#2 of 5 in Main Beach
4,699 reviews
17.8 mi away
Peppers Salt Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turtle Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Beach Resort

Address: 2346 Gold Coast Highway, Mermaid Beach, Gold Coast, Queensland 4218, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Mermaid Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Mermaid Beach
Price Range: $105 - $264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Turtle Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Turtle Beach Resort provides premier family accommodation set in a sub-tropical oasis just 300 metres to the beach. Truly a relaxing holiday home, the resort offers spacious one, two and three bedroom fully self contained apartments in a 3 storey walk up complex (please note we do not have lifts on site). Facilities include flat screen televisions and complimentary Foxtel channels. All apartments have balconies and terraces that overlook tropical greenery and manicured gardens. Take advantage of the extensive recreational facilities including 4 separate swimming areas with a mix of lagoon and lap swimming pools, waterslide, spa's, adults only pool and spa, Putt'n Around* our 15 hole themed putt-putt course, children's playground, 2 saunas, floodlit tennis court*, fitness room, games room*, 8 BBQ areas and FREE WiFi access. For those who prefer a slower pace, soak up the relaxed poolside atmosphere or send the kids to the cinema theatrette. Enjoy a woodfired pizza at our onsite restaurant 'The Deck' or pick up supplies at our onsite convenience store 'Fresh' which features a wide range of grocery items and an internet cafe. Turtle Beach Resort has designed a holiday program especially for the kids, packed with lots of fun activities to compliment our facilities. Club Turtle* is for kids aged four to twelve inclusive where they can choose to sit in and watch or join in the pre-arranged activities including creative art and craft sessions, big screen Wii interactive games, an Xbox only designated room for the game players, as well as party theme nights with Disco and Movies screenings. Our Exciting water playground 'Splash Zone" features 4 water slides, 2 toddler slides, dumping bucket, water cannons and lots more. Book for your family and friends..They will love you for it! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Turtle Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Beach Hotel Mermaid Beach
Sands Turtle Beach Hotel
Sands Turtle Beach Mermaid
Turtle Beach Resort Gold Coast/Mermaid Beach, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing