We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great View, but Very Local When There Are So Many Tourists around”

Nobby's Beach Surf Life Saving Club
Ranked #14 of 101 Restaurants in Mermaid Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Absolute Beach Front Dining !
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great View, but Very Local When There Are So Many Tourists around”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Nobby's Beach Surf Life Saving Club is just what its name says, a Surf Club. And a great club it is, many valuable international surfers come from there and it is a great thing to watch them tackle the waves, when there are any waves. Yet it is hard to regard this as a restaurant. It is either empty with little service, or crowded and you have to stay in line first to get your food and then cue again to get your drink. I've been there twice one year apart and I won't hesitate to go again if I feel like an XXXX Lager. But you have to be a member or, if not, to register your details in writing, including your full address. I do understand why, as you are on a potentially dangerous beach, but let's be honest: how many would jump into the water from 5 meters high and 20 meters to the beach through a glass window? I felt a bit like being checked in at the airport. Otherwise, all good and the beer is ice-cold.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank aplescan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    81
    25
    9
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bahrain
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Best value”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Ate here for dinner - ample portions and very tasty. Check the specials as they usually have 2 for 1 dinners and special offers which make it cheap for the family to eat out. A popular place because you get good service, tasty food plus the drinks are reasonably priced.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bahrain08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, Very good food”
Reviewed August 15, 2012 via mobile

I would like to start off by saying how great the atmosphere was in the club. Was very quaint and brought a good vibe. The food is no ordinary SLSC food, it's was BETTER I was very surprised at the food as the prices were very resonable, e.g 400g rump steak with chips, veggies & Gravy for $24.95 the plate was very well presented and delicious.

The bar was remarkable, fast service, staff knew what they were doing, very decent prices, e.g Schooner/Tallie was $4 I was drinking Carlton draught. Friendly staff made me feel relaxed and happy as how all dinners out should be.

Pokies area was small but entertaining. The only slight downside was the chairs in the bistro were plastic. It didn't however throw me off one bit, remember this is a SLSC, the food on the other hand make it feel like a top notch restaurant you would expect to pay $10 more for your meals.

Will defiantly be returning as this is a great place to eat out!

Helpful?
1 Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“great quality service & food”
Reviewed July 31, 2012

service was excellent, food was great, they catered for my gluten-free dad (made a steak sandwich without the sandwich bit!), drinks are very reasonably priced, nice views of beach and lovely open air dining room.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank superj1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Birthday Lunch”
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Great atmosphere, fabulous outlook to the surf, located right next to the beach, excellent food. First time been here ever for me, definately going back again.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nobby's Beach Surf Life Saving Club also viewed

Mermaid Beach, Gold Coast
Mermaid Beach, Gold Coast
 

Been to Nobby's Beach Surf Life Saving Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing