We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Camden Motor Inn(Mermaid Beach)(Great Value!)
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$51
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Diamond Sands Resort(Mermaid Beach)
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Ocean Blue Motel(Mermaid Beach)
$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Horizons Motel(Mermaid Beach)(Great Value!)
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Splendido Resort Apartments(Mermaid Beach)(Great Value!)
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Turtle Beach Resort(Mermaid Beach)(Great Value!)
$194
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Spindrift On The Beach(Mermaid Beach)(Great Value!)
$257
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Classic Motel(Mermaid Beach)(Great Value!)
$56
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Reviews (117)
Filter reviews
117 results
Traveler rating
69
35
7
2
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
69
35
7
2
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspacific fairacross the roadlarge televisionthe gold coastnerang stationcutlery and crockeryan overnight stayoff street parkingplace to sleepbrisbane airportmodern roomslight railstayed here for one nightminute walkroom was spotlessthree nightsqueen bed
Filter
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 117 reviews
Reviewed April 4, 2016 via mobile

Was not expecting this motel to be as nice as it was.
The rooms are spacious and modern. The bathrooms are very beautiful.
The owners (especially Stuart) are very friendly. Would highly recommend this motel.

Stayed: May 2015, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Samantha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kiwicatz, Manager at Tropicana Motel Mermaid Beach, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2016

Good onya Samantha!
You've made my day already !
Look forward to seeing you again
Stuart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2016 via mobile

We came across this little motel while cruising for a place to stay on the drive up to Brisvegas from Sydney. The friendly helpful hosts were more than happy to show us the room because, tbh, they all look a bit dodgy on that gold coast strip. We were surprised by the room, the cleanliness, the whopping great mugs, the great basket of goodies and the relative quietness considering how busy the road is. They also let me park my trailer in a safe spot, and gave us a room ax far away from the road as we could get. Decor was great, beds were comfy, free internet and all the crappy tv channels you could want, all at a very reasonable price. Highly recommended as a nightly stop over.

Stayed: April 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank kim g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kiwicatz, Manager at Tropicana Motel Mermaid Beach, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2016

So glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and yes, appearances are deceptive.
We strive to make this a welcoming, friendly, well looked after property, and always appreciate any feedback from our gusts.
Thanks for taking the time to comment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2016

I booked our room at the Tropicana Motel direct rather than by my usual booking.com method – prices were the same either way.

Based upon reviews I read we weren’t expecting much from the outside of the building, but it was fine – clean, tidy with room to park directly outside our room. Check in was friendly and we were soon settling in.

Our airconditioned room was modern and comfortable. The queen size bed was made up with crisp linen and beautiful rich coloured covers. A big flat screen TV was connected to Foxtel. A large wardrobe provided ample storage space with an adjoining bank of smaller cupboards one of which housed the fridge. Tea and coffee facilities were provided and I have to agree with other reviewers that the mugs are a bit too chunky to enjoy the morning tea experience!

The bathroom was fabulous. A large shower with solid pressure – I didn’t want to get out.

Internet was provided free of charge.

Although located right on the busy Gold Coast Highway we did not hear any road noise during the night. The Pacific Fair Shopping Centre is just across the highway and the beach is an easy walk. The Easy Street Diner, an American burger place is a great dinner option and is located nearby. Bam Bam has a host of breakfast options and is well worth the short walk.

The Tropicana Motel is a good value, overnight venue if you need a place to stay on the Gold Coast. I thoroughly recommend this motel and am just about to make another booking for our return trip!

  • Stayed: March 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank FreoCreatures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kiwicatz, Manager at Tropicana Motel Mermaid Beach, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2016

Thank you for your lovely comments, and we are working on the mugs!!
Glad you enjoyed the amenities and surrounds, we are luck that there is something for everyone nearby as regards food, plenty of coffee, and shopping at the revamped Pacific Fair.
Thanks for taking the time to comment, and we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2016

Tropicana motel is in a fantastic location and very comfortable place to stay. Mine hosts Stuart and Jan were most helpful and very friendly. Rooms were clean and well equiped.
Had a wonderful stay and enjoyed the atmosphere. Thanks.

Room Tip: Be nice be treated nice.
  • Stayed: March 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dalglen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kiwicatz, Manager at Tropicana Motel Mermaid Beach, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2016

Many thanks for your review.
(If you are who we think you are), we enjoyed your company too!
See You next year?!
Stu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2016 via mobile

Great motel. Best location to Pacific Fair opposite motel. Also tram stop. Casino 5 min walk and all the restaurants of Broadbeach and the Entertainment Centre. Walk to beach two streets over. Stuart and Jan great managers and even the reliefs were so friendly and helpful. Very clean and quiet would recommend to anyone

Stayed: March 2016, traveled as a couple
1  Thank k1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kiwicatz, Manager at Tropicana Motel Mermaid Beach, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2016

Many thanks for your well chosen words. Hopefully they will be of assistance to others when they consider Tropicana as an option for accommodation. I have passed on your compliments to both our room attendants and the relief management team.
Hope to see you again!
Stu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews