We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly service and reasonable rates”
Review of Surf Street Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Surf Street Motel
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Mermaid Beach
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We had a two nights at this great motel. The motel rooms were of an older style but quite comfortable and very clean. The owners were very friendly and accommodating to our needs. My father could not climb stairs and this motel suited us nicely as it is on one level. The motel is within walking distance to shops and the bus is not far away either. Within walking distance to the beach. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorene L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surfstreetmotel, Owner at Surf Street Motel, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2017

Thank you so much for your review, we appreciate your valuable feedback here at Surf Street Motel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (32)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 32 of 32 reviews

Reviewed November 17, 2012

I accidentally placed this review for the wrong motel - So here I go again. (BTW: The other motel, Surfers City, is rotten).
Moving on ... I stayed for about a week and found the on-site owners very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and pleasant although a bit small. Gold Coast bus-stop is right outside. As this motel is on the main hwy only a few km's from Surfers Paradise, traffic-noise is ever-present. However, the location and the friendliness of the owners made this an enjoyable stay. I also appreciated the free wifi.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Johno-From-Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surfstreetmotel, Owner at Surf Street Motel, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2017

Thank you so much for your review, we appreciate your valuable feedback here at Surf Street Motel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2011

Me and my boyfriend got a room here after traveling for quite some time and it was fantastic. We were looking for a chill night away from the backpacker lifestyle and got just that. It was super easy to catch a bus (about 10 minutes tops) into the city and yet far enough outside of it to relax and unwind. Our accommodation for the night was only $70 which is cheaper than a backpackers private room, and has a beautiful setup with privacy and comfort. The next morning we were late to check out and treated with the utmost generosity and respect. I would definitely recommend staying here and will again when I return to Surfers Paradise after traveling.

Room Tip: There are two beds in the room (one queen or king and the other a twin) so it is a great place for c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank geroge4982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surfstreetmotel, Owner at Surf Street Motel, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2017

Thank you so much for your review, we appreciate your valuable feedback here at Surf Street Motel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2011

My trip to the Gold Coast was a flying family visit - the Surf Street Motel was ideal for our one night only accommodation requirements and was only a ten minute drive from our family's hotel.
Their facilities were like their service, basic yet loved - their kindness extended our departure when a new item of clothing was returned via post free of charge.
Many thanks...

Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
2  Thank Z C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surfstreetmotel, Owner at Surf Street Motel, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2017

Thank you so much for your review, we appreciate your valuable feedback here at Surf Street Motel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2010

This hotel is really far from Surfers Paradise, Mermaid Beach itself has very little there, although a walk along the beach is beautiful. Bus stops are close to the hotel, but the bus itself is very slow being all stops. Further south, Tugun is quite nice and still has an all-you-can-eat Pizza Hut!

The rooms were quite small and didn't feel overly clean, although tolerable. One night I was woken up by yelling outside the motel rooms in the car park and it made the place feel like a sleazy love hotel. The door didn't seem overly strong either. There is a good hotel further up the road and a convenience store within walking distance. This hotel is very far from all the action in Surfers Paradise so if this is what you are after I would recommend you stay further north, as the bus commute is slow and expensive.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank backwateroriginator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surfstreetmotel, Owner at Surf Street Motel, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2017

Thank you so much for your review, we appreciate your valuable feedback here at Surf Street Motel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2010

*room was small
*tv was small for room and bad limited reception to free to air channels
*limited coffee making facilities
*bathroom very old and no lock on door
*shower screen glass cracked i was frighten it might shatter
*carpet was shabby
*furnishings were old and second hand
*I havent seen a orange and black tiled table since 1989 this motel has one wow!
*front door lock wise was questionable but hey I survived, i tried my best to barracade the door with loose furniture
*front windowwise the glass was cracked so i was scared to open the window
*the only window that was opened was the rear bathroom window
*friendly owner
*carpark smalll and hard to manuva a medium size car
*close to mermaid shops
*very close to public transportation
*beware of rain periods be prepared to get very wet
*noisey neighbouring guests one was coughing up a lung all night
*you get what you pay for, lesson donot leave booking accomdation to the last minute as you will end up in a place such as this one and you will pay a premium compared to other places this motel didn't take my fancy.you can do better for your wallet elsewhere

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SugBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surfstreetmotel, Owner at Surf Street Motel, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2017

Thank you so much for your review, we appreciate your valuable feedback here at Surf Street Motel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mermaid Beach
4.0 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#10 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,998 reviews
1.0 mi away
Quality Hotel Mermaid Waters
Quality Hotel Mermaid Waters
#1 of 1 in Mermaid Waters
225 reviews
4.5 mi away
Alpha Sovereign Hotel
Alpha Sovereign Hotel
#17 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Bay of Palms Resort
Bay of Palms Resort
#1 of 1 in Elanora
129 reviews
5.7 mi away
Meriton Suites Southport
0.2 mi away
Ocean Blue Motel
Ocean Blue Motel
#10 of 10 in Mermaid Beach
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surf Street Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf Street Motel

Address: Corner of Surf Street & 2283 Gold Coast Highway, Mermaid Beach, Gold Coast, Queensland 4218, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Mermaid Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Mermaid Beach
Price Range: $74 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Surf Street Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This vibrant café precinct borders the famous Hedges Avenue ‘Millionaire’s Row’ and is home to an array of boutique bars and restaurants. This area combines a family friendly beachy atmosphere, with an ultra-trendy vibe that is utilised by surfers, cyclists, holidaymakers and healthy lifestylers. At the southern end, the beachfront offers park, playground and barbecue facilities, ideal for young families and offers an enjoyable sealed walking track that connects to the picturesque lookout at North Burleigh Hill. Our motel is about giving customers value for money but not taking away from their experience. We provide clean and comfortable rooms with very friendly service. We pride ourselves on ensuring our customers have the best trip possible whilst staying with us at Surf Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Surf Street Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surf Street Motel Gold Coast/Mermaid Beach, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing