We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location , location , location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Spindrift On The Beach
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Location , location , location”
Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful location relaxing and friendly. Great BBQ area that gets cleaned every morning as well as the pool very helpful and polite Management . Had a wonderful time will be back again .Spindrift is close to great Cafe's shops and bakery .

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irenehelga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    54
    11
    6
    3
See reviews for
106
33
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Our first visit to the Gold Coast, in fact Australia and the accomodation was great!

car parking space in the secure car park and an access fob for easy access/entry.

Staff were very polite and helpful.

We had a Garden apartment but it rapped around the side so you a got a great seaview as well. We saw Whales migrating south and playing in the sea on two occasions which pleased us all.

Pool opens at 7 and i had two very excited kids waking me up at 06.30 as they went in it everyday.
If i had to complain, my only gripe would be that i would have liked the rooms serviced and had at least more than two toilet rolls!

Great place, Location and would certainly go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Great place to have a holiday with the extended family right on the beach. Mornings on the beach watching the sunrise and making sandcastles. We enjoyed the great pool and spa and immaculately clean BBQ. Thanks for a fantastic holiday.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanessa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed 5 nights in a Beachside unit on the second floor.The place was pretty clean bar the TV furniture which was dusty.Not sure if these units are individually owned as the furniture was showing lots of signs of wear and tear. The laminate on the side of the coffee table was loose and stuck back with sticky tape. The rusty DVD player was inoperable and not connected to the TV. I reported this as well as 2 blown lights but only one globe was replaced and no feed back re the DVD.The bed mattress was thin and quite hard and probably past its used by date.The windows and the door latch need some attention due to corrosion and looseness.One needs to lock the internal screen door as the main glass door lock is loose and may not offer any security.Management do offer a warning in their guest manual.
On the positive side the price was excellent, the location is relatively quiet and the place is on the beachfront.They offer good secure undercover parking and free Wifi with various degrees of performance.My overall opinion is this place is excellent value for the budget conscious family.

Room Tip: Request a floor higher up for better views and less noise.Neighbourhood dog occasionally barks at ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BaaNahmLai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Back again at Spindrift. We come here 3 or 4 times a year we love it so much. Not only is the accommodation lovely but the pool and spa are usable all the year round and maintained immaculately.
Going to sleep lulled by the sound of the surf is one of nature's joys.
Darren and the family work very hard to keep the facilities so clean and lovely and really care. The personal touch and always being made to feel welcome is really appreciated.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Brilliant accommodation for a very good price. 2 bedroom apartment with plenty of room and modern amenities. Location is perfect, absolute beachfront with stunning views and stairs leading from the property to the beach. Also being away from Surfers is a huge plus! Pool was great, and heated (but not too hot) with a hot tub attached.
Staff were all very friendly and helpful. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a beach front room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank issywassi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Booked a 3 day break for my wife and I,Booked what was described as a OCEANVIEW 2b/r unit.
complete with displayed photo showing views to the north and south and most importantly the OCEAN.(looked fantastic)
We are pensioners both in our late 70s and were really looking forward to our little break
We collected our keys from the safe and went to our designated room.
This was not the room I had seen advertised on the net.
To my left the only view was a dirty black covered asbestos roof followed by more roofs so you
could not see any view towards Surfers Paradise,
See to the South towards Burleigh heads entailed leaning over the balcony and hoping you were
not going to upset your neighbour when you poked your head around.
I requested a different room (this had to be relayed to the manager by phone as it appeared we
were now operating out of hrs (Time 2.30pm approx.) reply came "cannot do anything at the moment I will see you at reception in the morning at 9 am) end of conversation, over 19hrs to wait to be told what.????
We informed Tina who was the telephone backup that we were not going to stay the night and
would seek alternative accommodation elsewhere and speak to management the following morn
I contacted the hotel manager the following morn.
His reply was You ordered a Oceanview 2 bedroom and that is what you got
When I pointed out that the room I had been shown on the net clearly showed a A/C unit on the
wall he replied "how do you know that is a air conditioner we do not advertise A/c"
I replied because it is clearly shown in the photograph that you have displayed on your site.
there appeared to be a pause so I jumped in and asked about a refund.
There will not be a refund
This manager had all the replies off pat,leaving no doubt that he was well rehearsed in this area
of complaints.
I informed him that we would have to go to a dispute resolution with my bank,
His reply "yeah do that"
I have since found out that he was only a matter of metres away from where I was during the
attempt to get a room change,but he decided to have me and my wife wait over 19hrs so he
could tell me the following morning whatever it was you could not tell me there and then.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank winderoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spindriftonthebeach, Manager at Spindrift On The Beach, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Unfortunately this is sad day for the integrity of review system. Mr Bond booked online believing he had booked an Oceanfront apartment and despite our best efforts to clearly show he had in fact booked an Oceanview "All with magnificent oceanviews" and the fact he was actually in one of the Oceanview apartment with picture as advertised online and didn't have an Oceanfront we could move him too, he became impossible to rationalize with and treated our staff with utmost contempt. He did not stay the night nor was he charged. We do not advertise air conditioning and for the life of me cannot find a photo showing air conditioning. Very upsetting thanks Mr Bond
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mermaid Beach
1.9 mi away
Meriton Suites Broadbeach
Meriton Suites Broadbeach
#1 of 21 in Broadbeach
7,392 reviews
9.2 mi away
Nirvana By The Sea
Nirvana By The Sea
#1 of 12 in Coolangatta
402 reviews
2.0 mi away
Peppers Broadbeach
Peppers Broadbeach
#2 of 21 in Broadbeach
2,735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Turtle Beach Resort
Turtle Beach Resort
#1 of 10 in Mermaid Beach
1,094 reviews
0.1 mi away
Foreshore Apartments
Foreshore Apartments
#8 of 10 in Mermaid Beach
79 reviews
0.2 mi away
Horizons Motel
Horizons Motel
#3 of 10 in Mermaid Beach
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spindrift On The Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spindrift On The Beach

Property: Spindrift On The Beach
Address: 37 Albatross Ave, Mermaid Beach, Gold Coast, Queensland 4218, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Mermaid Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Mermaid Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Spindrift On The Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spindrift On The Beach…..any closer and you’re in the water! Absolute Beachfront! No roads to cross! No noisy traffic! Sit on your balcony and watch the whales go by! (June to November). Soak in the pool or spa and gaze out to sea. designated bike and walking track past door from Burleigh Heads to Surfers Paradise and Miles of Surf,Sand,Sun and Fun. Beachfront heated pool, Beachfront BBQ area and Safe Parolled beach directly out the front. Next to Nobby's Beach Surf Life Saving Club with restaurant & Bar (Guest receive free membership)Wlk to Nobby's Beach shopping Village with Cafes, Restaurants, Shops and public transport. Free Tour Desk Service. 2km to Major Shopping Centre of and Broadbeach Convention Centre. 30 minutes to theme parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Spindrift On The Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spindrift On The Beach Gold Coast/Mermaid Beach, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing