We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”
Review of Windsurfer Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Windsurfer Resort
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Biggera Waters
Adelaide
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Value for money”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

The managers are friendly and efficient. I contacted them a couple of days prior to advise them we probably would not arrive until 9:30pm and they emailed me instructions on how to access the foyer and key safe to get into our room. We had a one bedroom unit with water views, it was clean and comfortable. The fit out was basic but okay for us as we were there to visit family so we didn't spend much time at our apartment. You do get a bit of road noise but it didn't bother us.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Sunlover Holidays

Helpful?
Thank Gloria293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    30
    19
    9
    11
See reviews for
52
48
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

This is great affordable accomodation for anyone wanting great views of the broadwater along the coast. We stayed here before the referbishment about 7 years ago and it was good back then but now even better. The lady at the front desk (manager) was so lovely and made us feel really welcome answering any questions we had and giving us local information when we first arrived. Whenever i walked past reception she had such a great attitude towards other guests as well and was never to busy for a chat. The room was cleaner than most 5 star hotels I have stayed at, so hats off to the room cleaners, you do a great job. Really great kitchen and utensils had everything we could have needed! The area is perfect for walking, heaps of playgrounds for the kids, nice swimming areas and dining out ( try pickled cactus down the road if u like Mexican) So even though I have family that live in the area we will be staying here again, loved it!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank n_b_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We just finished a few days on the Gold Coast and found the Windsurfer a good choice. It is close enough to Surfers to be convenient, but far enough to avoid the congestion and (currently) the light rail construction going on up and down the coast.

Bike rental is just a couple of minutes down the road at the Broadwater Tourist Park and you can easily ride all the way to Surfers Paradise and on to Broadbeach. The bike paths are level most of the way so it makes for an easy ride - even on a single speed cruiser.

Our room overlooked the water, and was very clean and well presented. The amenities in the room are basic, and you have to replace anything if you use it up, but that seems a small concession given the location, parking and price.

Room Tip: Get a water view room - yes there is a fair amount of traffic, but the noise wasn't too bad. Bre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fwc123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
1 review
Reviewed July 10, 2013

I stayed at Windsurfer during the school hoildays. I was really impressed on how quiet it was given it was fully booked.
Staff were very accommodating and easy to deal with. I have stayed here previously and would recommend my friends to stay here!

Great place to stay if you dont want to be in the hustle and bustle of the gold coast.
The one negative feedback listed here i feel is very unfair and i think she is just trying to get a free accommodation!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigWaters, Front Office Manager at Windsurfer Resort, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Erin

Thank you for your comments. It is always great to hear that guests have enjoyed our apartments, facilities and location. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights during June 2013 school holidays, Not happy at all. We booked into a Two bedroom apartment for the specific reason of having the 2nd lounge upstairs. We had read on many of the reviews that the 2nd lounge had another TV. (IT DIDN'T). We also were not happy that the balcony that was upstairs off our bedroom was actually a shared balcony with other rooms. We had requested a room with full water views if possible but got a room with barely any views of the water, if we did want a view we had to go to the balcony off our bedroom and PARTIAL is definitely the right word. When we went to bed that night, I went to pull back the blankets but hello the beds are not even made. Yes there are sheets on them but this would be the first motel I've ever been to and the beds have not been made!! Now my worst complaint of all is, during our stay we had been going backwards and forwards to Brisbane and took a different vehicle back to the resort each time. When I got back to Brisbane yesterday I noticed white stuff on the bonnet of my car, I thought it was batpoo but after trying to wash it off realised it was not. Then I notice it is on the other 2 cars as well and I realise it's from where our vehicle was parked underneath!!!!!! I have to go to Repco now to try and find something to get this off my car. Not happy at all. Most places try to keep their guests happy however upon arrival I rang straight away and asked if we could be moved to a room that actually had views and a TV upstairs, we were told that they were fully booked yet the place was no where near a quarter booked. I said can we have a room with a TV upstairs like it says on many reviews. I was told no that's not right. We paid $570. The place is tiny, the couches are 2 seaters and uncomfortable. I don't normally write reviews and no i'm not fussy but I expect to get what we paid for and we didn't and the management were not interested in accommodating us by moving us to another room where we would be happy for our 5 day stay. We stay away every few months and this is the first place I have ever wrote a negative complaint about!! Never again will I stay here.

Room Tip: Ask to see your room before you pay to ensure you get what you thought you would get!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank colleen2967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigWaters, Manager at Windsurfer Resort, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are sorry you did not enjoy your recent stay. We would like to comment that other than your phone call wanting a room with water view, that at no time during your stay, or at the time of check-out, did you raise these issues with us. For the benefit of other readers of this review we have made some comments below.

Requests not met: Unfortunately when you make an on-line reservation just a few hours prior to your arrival it is very difficult to meet your requests. This was the case with your reservation. The apartments with full water views had been booked out months in advance of the period of your reservation. It was explained to you when you phoned reception requesting a move to another apartment that the 2 bedroom apartments (the category you booked) were all occupied. As you said it was school holidays!! I note that you stated that you requested water views "if possible".

If your assessment of our occupancy was based on the number of cars in the basement this is not a true reflection as many guests arrive by shuttle bus.

TV in upstairs lounge: We DO NOT advertise that any apartments have second TV’s. Yes some apartments do have the second TV which is a small bonus for guests.

Unmade beds: All our beds are made up with clean sheets, decorative bed runners and cushions or bedspreads. In every apartment the blankets are stored in the cupboards and not on the beds. The apartment was checked prior to your arrival and we can guarantee that all the beds had been made up with clean linen and their decorator items.

Basement issue: Your comments have been passed to the Body Corporate for investigation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay, Australia
1 review
Reviewed June 20, 2013

The windsurfer resort was ideal for our family and friends to stay for a week.
We had a family room which was two story and plenty of room for the four of to spread out and rest comfortably. The rooms were clean and the kitchen had everything we needed.
The pool and BBQ were excellent and we made full use of the facility.
The underground car park was excellent and secure.
The location of the Windsurfer was close enough to shopping for the girls and right on the waters edge for early morning walks to cares etc.
We would stay there again if needed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigWaters, Manager at Windsurfer Resort, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Robert,

Thank you for your review. Your comments are appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We choose this place after reviewing a few places in the Gold Coast area and we were very happy with our choice.

We arrived around 11:00am on March 20th and while check in was from 2pm were were able to check in early and get settled. We cannot fault the place at all, everything was as described. We had a one bedroom apartment on the first floor which overlooked the Broadwater

Kim & Peter made us feel very welcome at all times and we'll certainly book up here again when we return in a couple of years

ps If you don't feel like cooking breakfast in the morning then please try Cafe Uno in the Biggera Waters shopping centre around the corner as they do good quality food

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigWaters, Manager at Windsurfer Resort, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear GerryM

Thank you for your review. It is always great to hear that guests have enjoyed their stay at Windsurfer and beautiful Broadwater location.

We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Biggera Waters
5.0 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
383 reviews
4.2 mi away
Alpha Sovereign Hotel
Alpha Sovereign Hotel
#17 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
847 reviews
2.9 mi away
Meriton Suites Southport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Royal Pacific Resort
Royal Pacific Resort
#2 of 4 in Biggera Waters
146 reviews
0.8 mi away
NRMA Treasure Island Holiday Park
0.3 mi away
The Atrium Resort
The Atrium Resort
#4 of 4 in Biggera Waters
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsurfer Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsurfer Resort

Property: Windsurfer Resort
Address: 452 Marine Pde, Biggera Waters, Gold Coast, Queensland 4216, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Biggera Waters
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Biggera Waters
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Windsurfer Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 10 minutes from Surfers Paradise, yet nestled on the shores of the Broadwater in Biggera Waters Windsurfer Resort has all the Gold Coast has to offer within easy reach. Its central location means that you are just 15 minutes to any of the Coasts major tourist attractions. Seaworld to the south, Movieworld, Dreamworld and Wet n Wild to the north and just 50 minutes from Queenslands capital city, Brisbane.From the national parks and state forests to the rolling surf and beaches, there is something for everyone. A casual and relaxed lifestyle is easily achieved with the warm year round climate allowing you to laze around if you feel like doing absolutely nothing. World class attractions and entertainment provide a calendar packed with events such as the Armor All 600 Carnival, Australian Surf Life Saving Championships, to name a few. Whatever your choice, the gold coast has plenty to offer, even the most adventurous holiday maker. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Windsurfer Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsurfer Resort Gold Coast/Biggera Waters

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing