We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Somewhere to sleep”
Review of Windsurfer Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Windsurfer Resort
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Biggera Waters
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Somewhere to sleep”
Reviewed December 5, 2012

We stayed here in a family apartment. It is a bit of a strange layout - the single beds are on the landing at the top of the stairs so it's more of a 1.5 bedroom.
To be honest the apartment felt a bit tired. The shower seemed a bit grimy (more needing some new grout etc than actually dirty). The whole apartment felt like it needed a really good spring-clean - there was a lot of dust down the back of furniture and under beds. It felt like it hadn't had more than the bare minimum for a long time.
I can't comment on any of the outdoor areas as it was winter and raining, but it looked nice.
We found the location great - being a couple with a small child we weren't interested in being in the heart of Surfers Paradise, so we had good access to all the things we wanted to be near, without the crowds.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigWaters, Manager at Windsurfer Resort, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thank you for your comments. The Family apartments certainly are an unusual layout in design. With this in mind we do go to great pains to ensure that the description is as accurate as possible when advertised by us. We also provide a variety of photos to display the different room categories. As most of these apartments are yet to be renovated we do offer significant discounts – perfect for a cheap family holiday.

Five months past your stay makes it difficult it address your concerns with housekeeping. Regardless we have discussed your review with housekeeping for their information. It is a real pity that you did not come and report these issues so that they could have been addressed at the time. There is a schedule for maintenance and spring cleaning of all apartments, however it does take time to get to them all.

It’s great to hear that you enjoyed our beautiful location on the Broadwater and perfect location to easy access to the theme parks. Your feedback is appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    29
    19
    9
    11
See reviews for
51
48
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lot-et-Garonne
Level Contributor
401 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We were on the Gold Coast to visit family, so our needs were modest. Windsurfer's deal for a minimum of five nights suited us well. For eighty-something bucks a night you don't get much these days, anywhere in the world, so we were pleasantly surprised at the standard of this place.
Our one-bedroom apartment, although of modest size, was clean, modern, well furnished, and well fitted-out with what you need to cook for yourself, plus a washing machine and dryer. The balcony was large – plenty big enough to host a sit-down lunch for four - and had quite a decent partial view of the Broadwater.
The building is situated on Marine Parade, these days a secondary road that's not noisy, and there's a nice sandy beach right across the road. Windsurfer is a relatively recent building with secure underground parking and a lift from the basement to all floors. It's not located in the heart of the entertainment hubub but it's in a pleasant locality that's convenient to a lot of things – the main surf beaches are not, however, close.
This type of self-catering accommodation is suited to those having a car, and capable of bringing a few essentials – breakfast, milk, butter, bread, detergent, washing powder and so on.
Overall, we were pleased with our choice, and will go back.

Room Tip: 'Cheaper deal' rooms naturally are up the back and get little view of the Broadwater. Pay m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigWaters, Manager at Windsurfer Resort, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your recent visit to Windsurfer. It is great to hear you stay was comfortable and that you enjoyed our lovely Broadwater location.

Your “room tip” is especially helpful for other travellers reading reviews. Usually the cheaper deals through 3rd parties are the last of the apartments available so choice of view & room standard is limited. It is great when guests contact us directly as we are able to discuss the available apartments, their location in the building and then complement the requirements of the guest with a suitable apartment. If we have nothing suitable or feel that we can’t meet guests needs then we let the guest know. Best of all we offer the same discounted rates as travellers find elsewhere on the internet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thames
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

We had a fabulous 10 day stay at the resort - just perfect for our family of five. We chose Windsurfer because of the great reviews on trip advisor and were not disappointed. Kim was great helping find some great multi day passes for the theme parks. The apartment was well setup and spacious enough for the time we spent there. We enjoyed the pool (excellent way to cool off after morning run) and BBQ area. The location was ideal for our daily trip to the theme parks - being on the north end of the coast and just off the main road meant it was only about a 15 minute trip to most parks since we didn't have to battle the traffic further south. And being absolute beachfront at such a stunning location was fantastic. Thanks Kim and Peter. We will tell all our friends about our great find in Biggera Waters!

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryHam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigWaters, Manager at Windsurfer Resort, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
It is fantastic to hear that you and your family had a great stay with us. We are very fortunate to live in such a lovely area of the Gold Coast. With all the theme parks so close it is a great area to use as a base. Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your recent visit to Windsurfer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

What a great place to stay, central to shopping, theme parks. Easy access to either heading towards Brisbane or heading down the coast.

Highly recommend this accommodation to visitors.

Thanks Kim and Peter we had a great time staying at your place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happytraveller123_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigWaters, Manager at Windsurfer Resort, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
We also appreciate that you have taken the time to write a review – thank you. It is always a pleasure to hear that guests enjoyed their stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We loved the peaceful and beautiful location of our Windsurfer apartment. It was away from the hustle and bustle of Surfers but close enough for us to be able to do anything we wanted without too much effort. Our apartment was nicely appointed, the beds were wonderful, the view gorgeous and the pool nice and warm during winter time. This was a great place to stay with our four year old daughter. Lovely management. Lovely spot. Highly recommended if you are wanting somewhere away from the maddening crowds. - the Sullivan family

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broome
2 reviews
Reviewed July 14, 2012

My teenage son and I travelled to the Gold Coast and stayed at the Windsurfer for six nights and could not have been happier.
From the moment we arrived through to our departure - managers Kim and Peter could not have been more helpful, booking buses, looking for hire cars and just happy to have a chat.
The complex is in a lovely, quiet area, however, only a 10min drive from surfers and only about 20mins to the theme parks and the GC Compound (indoor skate park). Harbour town also close - 5 mins in a car, 20mins walking.
The complex hasa lovely pool and spa area, a games room for the kids and a very secure undercover parking area for all to use.
Our two bedroom unit (upstairs/downstairs) was neat and tidy and contained all appliances needed for our stay. It was very comfortable, had a lovely big verandah and the variety of channels on foxtel was a huge hit with my son.
Will definatley stay here again on my next trip to the Gold Coast.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leith T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 12, 2012

We spent a week at these apartments and felt compelled to write a reveiw, but when i went to write it i was absoluterly horrified to read that one person recently gave this accomodation a review of 1 star.We are in the accomodation business in nz and know the difference between a well run establishment and a poor one, and i must assure you that this one is just perfect as are the managers who cannot do enough to assist you,
We did not see any ants or dirty areas and all the appliances were in first class working order.
This place was so good that i also booked my daughters family in for a week.
I do not like to see poor reveiws written when they are not deserved

Room Tip: Fantastic views from first floor ,we had room 22 and was delighted with it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hesfordhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Windsurfer Resort, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Dear Hesfordhouse travellers,

Thank you for your review. Your comments are sincerely appreciated. We are delighted that you enjoyed your apartment and the great view of the Broadwater.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Biggera Waters
5.0 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
2.9 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Southport
4.2 mi away
Alpha Sovereign Hotel
Alpha Sovereign Hotel
#17 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Royal Pacific Resort
Royal Pacific Resort
#2 of 4 in Biggera Waters
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.8 mi away
NRMA Treasure Island Holiday Park
0.6 mi away
The Grand Apartments
The Grand Apartments
#3 of 6 in Labrador
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsurfer Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsurfer Resort

Property: Windsurfer Resort
Address: 452 Marine Pde, Biggera Waters, Gold Coast, Queensland 4216, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Biggera Waters
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Biggera Waters
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Windsurfer Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 10 minutes from Surfers Paradise, yet nestled on the shores of the Broadwater in Biggera Waters Windsurfer Resort has all the Gold Coast has to offer within easy reach. Its central location means that you are just 15 minutes to any of the Coasts major tourist attractions. Seaworld to the south, Movieworld, Dreamworld and Wet n Wild to the north and just 50 minutes from Queenslands capital city, Brisbane.From the national parks and state forests to the rolling surf and beaches, there is something for everyone. A casual and relaxed lifestyle is easily achieved with the warm year round climate allowing you to laze around if you feel like doing absolutely nothing. World class attractions and entertainment provide a calendar packed with events such as the Armor All 600 Carnival, Australian Surf Life Saving Championships, to name a few. Whatever your choice, the gold coast has plenty to offer, even the most adventurous holiday maker. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Windsurfer Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsurfer Resort Gold Coast/Biggera Waters

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing