We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a terrible experience!!!!!!!!!!!”
Review of The Atrium Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Atrium Resort
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Biggera Waters
Reviewed August 7, 2009

We were enticed by the advertising to book a three day stay at this joint. What a horrible stay this was!! We had a microwave but no microwave dishes. No breadboard, no decent cutlery or wine glasses. The coffee mugs were a joke! The sink was cracked, the spa was dirty , the stove was an antique and the place was grubby. Even the carpet and the double bedsread has stains on them. The very small TV in the main bedroom was difficult to operate. One of the balcony doors was inoperable and there was no flyscrren door to the balcony. As an earlier reviewer said you could not open the frig without stepping out of the kitchen! Both bedrooms were internal and dark and certainly not welcoming for a couple who had spent weeks thinking about three days at this (supposedly) idyllic place.

There is nothing good I can think of saying about this place-it is just small, small, small (and very grubby). The rooms are small, the kitchen is just ridiculous, the car parks are small and even the gate to the carpark is small (narrow). We paid $129 per night for this experience and what an experience it was!!

Tip: give the Atrium a big fat miss and go to a caravan park-you will be better off!!!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Needtoknow43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (278)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

267 - 273 of 278 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2009

couch was not very clean, but other than that, can not complain anything,
air-con strong and powerful, rangehood just a simple one, but open to balcony which make it no difference;

was living 5th floor, MASSIVE view!

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AJ-HSIAO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2009

The Atrium Resort Holiday Apartments; are below 4 star standard, are run down & dirty and the facilities fail to meet the claims they make in their advertisements.

My wife and I booked the Atrium resort for 3 days to celebrate our 24th wedding anniversary after we checked out their web site where they make claims, including; that it is a 4 star resort with stunning / superb / marvelous water views and accommodation with large private balconies for romantic getaways – just what we were looking for. Prior to booking we contacted the resort by email and were guaranteed water views and received confirmation – ‘4 Star 1 Bedroom apartment with Double SPA, internet access, cable TV and superb water views.’

We checked in on Sunday 5th July at 2.00pm as stipulated on the booking and were promptly told by reception we needed to be quick because reception closes at 2.00pm – that makes sense. So we quickly completed check in and paid for our room up front and were allocated apartment GE on the ground floor with assurances this was one of their best.

We went to the room to find; it was a run down, dirty 2 bedroom apartment, which smelt of mould, with a limited view of the broadwater but great views of the bushes in the garden and the continuous (and noisy) traffic driving past on the main road. The ‘apartment’ bedrooms were dark and small and the ‘full kitchen’ was so small, when one person stood in it you couldn’t fit another person and couldn’t open the refrigerator door. On closer inspection we noticed; the walls were dirty and marked and in one area roughly patched with plaster without being painted, the bathroom sinks and the spa bath had hair in them and fittings in the spa were corroded, and the lounge and dining upholstery were badly stained in areas. We tried to open the sliding door to get fresh air into the room but the door didn’t open easily and the traffic noise made it unbearable any way, not that it was much better when the door was closed.

We couldn’t stay in the room and voiced our concerns with staff and then management with no success. We were advised we couldn’t be moved because the resort was fully booked and although we thought the accommodation was sub-standard, they were just our views and we would not be receiving any refund as there was a no refund policy. We can’t comment on the other facilities at the resort as we didn’t see them because we were checked out by 3.00pm, very dissatisfied with the accommodation and the lack of customer service at the Atrium.

We would not recommend the Atrium to anyone and be warned – do not believe everything you read on their web site and check out the room before you pay. On a brighter note, we did have a great anniversary, staying at the Crowne Plaza and we would recommend it to all.

Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
4  Thank catchyalata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2009

Booked a one bedroom apartment online, was quite excited by the sheik look of the place in the pictures displayed. Got to the room - which looked NOTHING like the photo, 5 night stay with two rolls of toilet paper, one sachet of dishwasher liquid and two tiny soaps... needless to say we ran out and when we asked for some more, they charged us! omg... never have i stayed in a hotel who charged you for complementary soaps and toilet paper!
Our en-suite was equipped with a flickering on/off light bulb and a funky smell...
Very unimpressed with the hotel to say the least!
The only good thing about the place would be the main foyer and restaurant down stairs which was quite lovely.
We would not be returning anytime soon!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucy_box
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2009

I really didn't think it was that great the apartments were nice but were very small I think they charge too much for these rooms, and as for thier ocean views well it wasnt really the ocean was more like a lake. Otherwise it was nice but I wouldn't reccomend it for a family.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank avaandjacksmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2009

JUST LOVED IT. We all had a lovely time. With 2 Adults & 3 teenagers we all had a lovely relaxing time.......when not shopping. Close to everything you need.
Our kids loved getting in the pool, sauna, games room, gym, & really enjoyed the roof top pool area, even in winter.
The Sunrises there were absolutely beautiful & took many photos. of this.
We have stayed here about 3 times & have truly enjoyed each time. When time allows us & if available we will be staying here more & more. Even with just my Husband & I we have a wonderful relaxing time.
Very clean & tidy. Great Staff.
ENJOY.
CHEERS!!!!

Stayed: July 2008
1  Thank Bella4t3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2008

our family of 2 adults & 2 kids(12,15) stayed there for a week in October. We arrived early and were allowed to leave our bags in the office ,which was good, told of restaurant up the road good for breakfast(which it was) got back about midday and the unit was ready. We were on the sixth floor(top) nice view over water, the kitchens are very small two of us struggled to get in there at the same time,cutlery was water stained and some still dirty, same with the dishes and glasses had to wash before use. The spa bath was good but the sealer around the bath was all mouldy and I am not sure that the extarction was working in the bathroom and ensuite.The roof top area was great! Kids loved the pool on the roof.Excellent BBQ area. 4 BBQs(some of the dials wernt working properly)Tennis courts are good,nicely kept. We hardly saw anyone in the restaurant on site( and I know why!) We ordered takeaways from it and for what we payed and what we got was abysmal,very small portions NOT GOOD VALUE DONT GO THERE!!!!!!
The whole apartment needs a major overhaul.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gazzabak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Biggera Waters
5.3 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
550 reviews
5.5 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,808 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Pacific Resort
Royal Pacific Resort
#2 of 4 in Biggera Waters
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
NRMA Treasure Island Holiday Resort
7.1 mi away
Mercure Gold Coast Resort
0.9 mi away
The Grand Apartments
The Grand Apartments
#4 of 6 in Labrador
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Atrium Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Atrium Resort

Address: 510 Marine Pde | Corner Taylor St, Biggera Waters, Gold Coast, Queensland 4216, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Biggera Waters
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Biggera Waters
Price Range: $86 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Atrium Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fully self contained 1 and 2 bedroom apartments with balcony, kitchen. Building is located directly infront of the sparkling Broadwater. Full use of resort facilities which include 2 pools, 2 spas, sauna, gym, full size tennis court, games room, billiard room. Award winning restaurant Manos onsite. Free underground secure car parking for one car per unit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Atrium Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Atrium Hotel Biggera Waters
Atrium Hotel Biggera Waters
Atrium Resort Biggera Waters
The Atrium Resort Gold Coast/Biggera Waters

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing