We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not that great”
Review of The Atrium Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Atrium Resort
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Biggera Waters
christchurch new zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not that great”
Reviewed October 29, 2008

our family of 2 adults & 2 kids(12,15) stayed there for a week in October. We arrived early and were allowed to leave our bags in the office ,which was good, told of restaurant up the road good for breakfast(which it was) got back about midday and the unit was ready. We were on the sixth floor(top) nice view over water, the kitchens are very small two of us struggled to get in there at the same time,cutlery was water stained and some still dirty, same with the dishes and glasses had to wash before use. The spa bath was good but the sealer around the bath was all mouldy and I am not sure that the extarction was working in the bathroom and ensuite.The roof top area was great! Kids loved the pool on the roof.Excellent BBQ area. 4 BBQs(some of the dials wernt working properly)Tennis courts are good,nicely kept. We hardly saw anyone in the restaurant on site( and I know why!) We ordered takeaways from it and for what we payed and what we got was abysmal,very small portions NOT GOOD VALUE DONT GO THERE!!!!!!
The whole apartment needs a major overhaul.

  • Liked — The roof top pool and spa
  • Disliked — Dirty dishes and the restaurant
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gazzabak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    69
    38
    37
    37
See reviews for
144
57
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2008

Our family 2A, 2 Kids(6 and 9 years), stayed here for 2 weeks. We were on the 5th floor with a water view. We could also see Surfers Paradise. The view was spectacular in the day or night.
The only thing going against the property at this time is the building construction next door. It was quite noisy early in the morning.
Everything was clean but not spotless. It was only serviced once during our stay so we had to wash our own towels in between this time which wasn't a problem as we had washing to do most days. There were no fly screens on the doors so getting fresh air inside also meant an insect invasion.
The rooftop pool is great with perfect views. It is quite deep so I wouldn't recommend it for toddlers and small kids. The tennis courts are maintained well and there is a pool on the ground level. The gym is only an exercise bike, rowing machine and a cable machine. Security is great all around including the car park and lifts being key operated.

  • Liked — The water views.
  • Disliked — The building construction next door.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank krissyrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Cathie, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2007

My mum and I stayed at the Atrium Resort for a "girls-only" shopping weekend. We chose this particular hotel because of its location - it's just a hop, skip and a jump from Harbourtown Shopping Centre.

After a long day driving, for dinner we decided to take the easy option of eating at the hotel’s restaurant. Upon booking we discovered the restaurant is BYO. We wanted to have a nice bottle of red to go with dinner however we were informed that, whilst the hotel’s kiosk did in fact sell alcohol, it had closed at 5pm. There are no other restaurants or shopping centres within walking distance. This was a big disappointment.

I have to say, though, that dinner was tasty, the prices were reasonable, and the staff were very friendly and attentive.

The atrium situated at the core of the resort was lovely. Little pathways between the fish-laden waterways and lush plant life lead you from the hotel’s lobby to the lifts and access to the hotel’s restaurant was over a charming little wooden bridge.

It was too cold for swimming however we venture up to the rooftop to check out the facilities up there. The pool and spa were heated and I can imagine, when the weather is warmer, that this would be a popular facility. There were two large barbecues and lots of tables and chairs and the views were amazing. At night, the lights of Surfers Paradise looked fantastic.

We stayed in a 2 bedroom broadwater-facing apartment (broadwater-facing apartments cost an extra $20 per night).

It was an adequate size for the two of us. I would not recommend staying in the 2 bedroom apartment with children if you plan on spending much time in the apartment itself as you would find yourself on top of each other.

The first bedroom was a good size with a queen sized bed, ensuite, a large mirrored wardrobe and a sliding door leading out to a small balcony. The second bedroom had two single beds and a large wardrobe. The beds were very comfortable however the pillows were merely one step up from resting your head on rocks!

The main bathroom was a good size, complete with a two person spa. Had there been a window of some kind in the bathroom, having a spa in there would have been a lot more pleasant.

The kitchen was very compact (read: tiny). Whilst I wouldn't want to be cooking a baked dinner, despite its size, amazingly it did have all the facilities you would need on holiday including oven, microwave and dishwasher.

The lounge/dining room was spread across the front of the apartment to take advantage of the views and many glass windows and doors lead out to a balcony overlooking the broadwater with a small plastic outdoor table and four chairs.

The lounges were basic but functional and the television was small and outdated however there was clear reception, and we also had the advantage of a few Austar channels thrown in.

The television, in our room, was somehow programmed so that the volume could not be raised above halfway. I assume this was done for the courtesy of other guests however there was one major flaw - the constant (yes, CONSTANT!) traffic that drove up and down the road between the broadwater and our apartment meant you couldn’t hear anything! Dragging the television within inches of the lounges and closing all the doors and windows (cutting off our beautiful breeze!) was the only way we could make sense of what was being said!!

I would have to say that the never-ending traffic noise was my main disappointment about this hotel.

My mum had the misfortune of sleeping in the main bedroom (with balcony) and said the noise from the traffic did not ease at all throughout the night and kept her awake. And consider this – we were staying there during winter which is typically the low season for the Gold Coast area!

Overall, I would have to say the Atrium Resort was adequate however, given its four and a half star rating, there were lots of little things that just weren’t up to scratch. A licensed restaurant (or longer opening hours for the kiosk), a better performing television and some kind of insulation from the noise of the traffic would have made our weekend much more pleasurable.

I’m sad to say, I will be looking for greener pastures next time.

  • Liked — Location to major shopping centres
  • Disliked — Traffic noise, proximity to restaurants, television volume, pillows
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank MELttdown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Biggera Waters hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 12, 2006

My wife and I went to the Gold Coast for a delayed honeymoon, We asked if we could have a early check in as our flight arrived at 8am, we got to the resort and they had the room ready.

The room is nicely fitted, it had a queen beed, single bed and trundle bed. There was a TV in the bedroom and main lounge with Austar Movies, Sport and Music. the View was spectacular. Nice quiet area and a bus stop less than 3 minutes away.

Facilities are great with a regular $2 per go pool table in the games room and a full sized billards table in the "adult" gym room. We enjoyed the table tennis. The roof top spa was heated except when we tried it was about 10x too much clororine in it, could have been our timing though.

Overall staff were friendly and helpful, there is a restaurant at the resort open tues - sat however they don't do breakfast and there isn't any close restaurants meaning a bus ride for breakky if you don't want to cook one yourself. The kitchen is well supplied with all the pots, pans and utensils you need, there was a dishwasher, microwave, stove, oven and garbage munchy.

There was 2 bathrooms with the main bathroom having a spa, hot water was plentiful.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2005

Myself and 2 friends stayed at the Atrium in May 2003 for 3 nights.

The best thing about this resort is the facilities. There are 2 pools at the resort, one on ground level and one on the rooftop, there is also a spa in both of these locations. There are male and female saunas at the ground level pool, free bbq area on the rooftop, tennis courts and a gym and small games room.

Parking was underground and secure and there was plenty of room for many guests.

In the centre of the hotel is a rainforest and just riding the glass lift to your room is a pleasure. The rooms were very big and had everything you could need on a holiday. We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment which had its own spa, kitchen and seperate lounge/dining, as well as an ensuite in the main bedrom. We also had a good sized balcony overlooking the pool.

It is around 10 minutes by car to Cavill Avenue (the heart of Surfers Paradise) and Seaworld and about a 10-15 minute drive to Pacific Fair Shopping centre. Harbour Town shopping centre is around 5 minutes by car and the theme parks are easily accessed by car - around 20-30 minutes drive.

The resort is very relaxing and comfortable and is probably best suited to people who just want to relax by the pool or for families that want to go out for day trips. It is indulgent but for us personally not close enough to the action of Surfers Paradise.

  • Stayed May 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank gtbek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Biggera Waters
0.3 mi away
Windsurfer Resort
Windsurfer Resort
#3 of 4 in Biggera Waters
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
5.3 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
3.3 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Southport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Royal Pacific Resort
Royal Pacific Resort
#2 of 4 in Biggera Waters
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
0.9 mi away
NRMA Treasure Island Holiday Park
5.5 mi away
Q1 Resort and Spa
Q1 Resort and Spa
#5 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Atrium Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Atrium Resort

Property: The Atrium Resort
Address: 510 Marine Pde | Corner Taylor St, Biggera Waters, Gold Coast, Queensland 4216, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Biggera Waters
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Biggera Waters
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Atrium Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fully self contained 1 and 2 bedroom apartments with balcony, kitchen. Building is located directly infront of the sparkling Broadwater. Full use of resort facilities which include 2 pools, 2 spas, sauna, gym, full size tennis court, games room, billiard room. Award winning restaurant Manos onsite. Free underground secure car parking for one car per unit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your The Atrium Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Atrium Hotel Biggera Waters
Atrium Hotel Biggera Waters
Atrium Resort Biggera Waters
The Atrium Resort Gold Coast/Biggera Waters

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing