We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice park, well equipped”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
NRMA Treasure Island Holiday Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Biggera Waters
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Rented the 2 bed villa #225 quite nice but considering the stays we have had in big 4 parks in the lat week not worth $195 at any time of year, location is ok there is a shop just across the road and the park have a bistro on site and starlight movies, there is a huge range of accommodation available but the pricing is that of a 4 star apartment complex. Staff are excellent in all areas no complaints about that.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Toddys91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,151)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

599 - 605 of 1,151 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a townhouse lagoon villa for two nights over the weekend. We had plans to visit the theme parks on Saturday but ended up postponing in favor of spending the day at the park.

Our 5 kids ranging in age from 4 up to 14 had a ball playing tennis, putt putt golf, jumping on the giant jumping pillow, swimming in the heated pool, getting creative at the masterchef kids club session and playing in the playground while we spent our time watching with cocktails in hand from the bistro deck, lazing around in our very comfortable villa, and relaxing in the spa.

We thoroughly enjoyed a buffet dinner at the park restaurant on the Friday night and a buffet breakfast there before checking out on Sunday morning. The coffee and the cocktails were amazing and the staff were friendly and helpful.

Our villa was comfortable with everything we needed. The kids bunk beds were not so comfortable but we had no complaints from them. Though the villas are quite close together the greenery and landscaping helped to give us some privacy and we enjoyed spending time sitting on the deck when the kids were in bed.

It was really wonderful to be able to check in and enjoy a great weekend where there was something for everyone. The kids of all ages enjoyed every moment and so did we.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank holiday_vee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed at this park in our caravan and was greeted by lovely staff with good customer service. The park has a great kid activities on each day and a wonderful heated pool ( great for July) and spa. We received discount due to being an NRMA member and 50% off activities.
Eighteen hole mini golf was enjoyed and the jumping pillow is a great place for kids to meet and enjoy. There were movies on but due to the cold we didn't attend. The movies started quite late for kids-7.30_ 8 pm - to be out. Maybe a 6.30 start especially for kid movies like Nemo etc. would be more appropriate.
The grounds are well maintained and a hop skip and jump to Harbour town and heaps of take away food outlets.
We used the bistro twice and received lovely service both times.
Well situated to take advantage of all the Gold Coast has to offer or just hang out at the park to relax.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
Thank Findleycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Actually found Treasure Island resort on trip advisor ( well my dad did!) . We stayed in the deluxe lagoon villa which great for myself and four children. Despite it being winter the kids still insanely went in the pool and spa would be fantastic in the summer. The villa was extremely well equipped ( more than one tea towel and one washing up liquid sachet!) and was very up to date and clean. The only complaint was from my children who said the mattresses on the bunk beds were extremely uncomfortable, I did lie down on one and they were! My bed however was incredibly comfortable! As we were there in winter it was very cold at night ( despite using the heater) and we were only supplied with a thin bed cover , sheet and fleece blanket .......I was freezing ...a big doona would have been nice.
The resort it's self was very tidy and well kept . We did mini golf , go karting and the huge inflatable pillow was a hit even with my 13 year old.
Staff were very helpful and friendly . Ate one night in restaurant and had a buffet Italian which again was great for the kids as they could just keep going up and eat all they could for $9.
Overall a fantastic place for families it's only downfall is its location. Set on a very busy road , once inside you would have no idea unless you are unfortunate to get a cabin that faces the road. It us in a very built up commercial area which really let it down for me. Loved the resort but wouldn't go back due to location.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NRMAHP, Guest Relations Manager at NRMA Treasure Island Holiday Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We’re delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and have recommended that we are perfect for families! We have addressed some of your small concerns below.

Recently the Gold Coast has experienced some unusually cooler nights. A standard bedding package is supplied on check-in, however, on cooler nights extra blankets are available from Reception upon request. We have noted your comments in relation to the kids bedding and will follow this up accordingly. The kids aren't that insane to swim in the pool and spa during these colder months as they are actually heated and warm enough to enjoy all year round.

The Park’s location on the Gold Coast makes it convenient and central to many tourist attractions such as the ever famous theme parks and Harbourtown Shopping Centre (only a 100m walk down the road). It is also only a short drive to the beautiful beaches and the action of Surfers Paradise. Repeat visitation and feedback from our guests indicates that the location of our park is valued by many.

As you’ve highlighted, once inside the tropical and relaxed environment of our park, you are sheltered from the surrounding area and are soon absorbed by the experience we offer. Guests can enjoy all the facilities of the park without having to go anywhere else during their stay.

Kind Regards,

Annika
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Don't get me wrong - this is a very well maintained, clean and family-friendly resort which offers a wide range of accommodation. However, it is still essential a caravan park at heart but the prices charged do not reflect this. My husband, son and I stayed 4 nights at Easter 2013 is one of the studio rooms directly beside the main road, and while we enjoyed the visit, for the price of the room I would have expected a better view than directly into someone's caravan annexe. The resort makes maximum use of all the available space and this can feel quite claustrapobic at times. We ate at the on-site restaurant a few times - breakfast was fine and quite good value but dinner was ordinary for the price. The reception staff are a bit hit and miss too - my husband had a pleasant interaction, whereas the staff member I enconutered on checking out was quite disinterested - even when I asked what availability there was for later in the year in more expensive rooms. I think Treasure Island has a very good facility but needs to be careful that the service it offers and value for money remains on target for its primary customers.

Room Tip: The best accommodation if you can afford it are the lagoon side villas in my opinion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MelBrisbane73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NRMAHP, Guest Relations Manager at NRMA Treasure Island Holiday Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. As you've highlighted, Treasure Island Holiday Park is a very well maintained, clean and tidy, family friendly resort. We have a variety of lodgings and sites suitable to everyone’s needs and budget, a selection of which have pool and tropical garden views. Tariffs do increase in periods on high demand however our fees are always maintained at a competitive level.

The meals served at the Kiosk are considered economically priced representing good value for money however, our location offers guests the option to dine at a variety of reasonably priced local restaurants within walking distance.

We quite often receive very positive feedback about the friendliness and helpfulness of our staff so I am very surprised and disappointed to read your comments about the level of customer service received. Consequently, our staff will be receiving refresher training to ensure superior levels of service are maintained.

We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Wow, really - I can't believe I am actually writing this after an a week long stay on a powered site in an NRMA park over the Queens Birthday Long weekend at what is hyped about as one of Australia's greatest holiday parks. Our experience is vastly different to most - so hence my blunt review.

The staff here showed no interest in ensuring guests and their children were welcomed with a friendly smile and openness. Rather more of an abrupt overview on what one should do and what one shouldn't do. During the coarse of the weekend concerns were raised with the front desk on amenity cleanliness and time it takes for amenities to be cleaned, really two hours in the middle of the day? It's not acceptable to expects guests to use the alternate facility if it's in a state of disgust and in need of urgent attention for cleaning, nor is the response from front desk - "We will pass the feedback on"

Our site, was also subject to continuos traffic noise. The location of this park is cordoned by the main corridors between Gold Coast and the freeway. We also found the locations to not be suitable. As it's simply close to businesses and Harbour Town. Nothing scenic to walk to or view, as perhaps a beach location.

Facilitates were as expected for a Big4. Again focus from staff was more on do's and don't as opposed to enjoyment and fun.

Special comment to the miserable staff member who drives the golf cart, you should really find a new job. It's clear you don't like children, you don't like people.

Perhaps, this is a tough review. Given we've been at Darlingon which by all accounts is the benchmark for any future park we stay at. On this occasion, Treasure Island was far from even in the same class and the closure of key refund, with no attempt to ask me how my stay was? Simply summed up our visit. Customer service didn't exists nor did they care!

By all accounts, the park has alot of potential. If it can resurrect it's level of customer service to an adequate expectation of a family park.

Room Tip: Ensure you chose a powered site that is in the middle of the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Luke M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NRMAHP, Guest Relations Manager at NRMA Treasure Island Holiday Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. It is certainly disappointing to read your comments about the level of service you were provided whilst staying at our park. Staff are ultimately employed to ensure guests enjoy an unforgettable experience whilst on holiday and our staff will consequently be receiving refresher training to ensure superior levels of service are maintained.

As Treasure Island Holiday Park is set in the suburb of Biggera Waters on the extension of the Gold Coast Highway, it is convenient and central to many tourist attractions such as the ever famous theme parks and Harbourtown Shopping Centre which is only 100m down the road. Although our location may not be perceived as ideal by all tourists, repeat visitation and feedback from our guests indicates it is valued by many. Unfortunately during periods of peak demand our toilet amenities can get quite messy however a reliable cleaning regime, increased in frequency during such times, is in place.

We hope you will consider staying with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Checking into this beautiful park was a pleasure. The grounds were very well kept and offered great faculties. The pools and spas were beautiful. A great kids program was available even though it wasn't peak season. A special mention to Pip, who ran the program. My daughter thought you were wonderful and so did I. Thank you so much Pip, you are a wonderfully talented person and it was a pleasure to meet you. The only detraction I would have to say is the noise at the park. The highway noise as well as staff. Trucks coming in during the night were noisy and didn't make me feel very safe. The park staff generally were very friendly and I enjoyed chatting to them. There was a slight mix up on check out, easily resolved however I felt the front reception was a bit defensive where it wasn't really warranted. It was a shame to end a great stay on this note. Would highly recommend this park, just ask the front reception to be a bit nicer!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andie-Damo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Biggera Waters
3.2 mi away
Meriton Suites Southport
5 mi away
RACV Royal Pines Resort Gold Coast
7.2 mi away
Meriton Suites Broadbeach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Paradise Resort Gold Coast
Paradise Resort Gold Coast
#17 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
1,485 reviews
2.6 mi away
Sea World Resort
Sea World Resort
#2 of 5 in Main Beach
4,699 reviews
5.2 mi away
Gold Coast Holiday Park & Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NRMA Treasure Island Holiday Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NRMA Treasure Island Holiday Resort

Address: 117 Brisbane Rd, Biggera Waters, Gold Coast, Queensland 4216, Australia (Formerly NRMA Treasure Island Holiday Park)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Biggera Waters
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Biggera Waters
Price Range: $88 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — NRMA Treasure Island Holiday Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the ultimate family holiday on QLDs fabulous Gold Coast with a stay at BIG4 NRMA Treasure Island Holiday Resort. Close to all major theme parks, Harbourtown Shopping Centre & the Broadwater, its central location provides easy access to all Gold Coast highlights. There is a great range of self-contained accommodation to choose from at Treasure Island. From 1 and 2-bedroom units, cabins and villas, to 3-bedroom 2-storey townhouses we can cater for all needs and budgets. For those travelling with their own caravan, RV, motorhome or camping equipment, we have a range of powered sites which are superbly located close to amenities and park facilities. Discounted theme park tickets can be purchased at reception and our helpful staff can assist you with tour bookings and other arrangements. Whether you are after a relaxing family break or an action packed adventure holiday, Treasure Island is the perfect place for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your NRMA Treasure Island Holiday Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Treasure Island Resort & Holiday Park Hotel Biggera Waters
Treasure Island Resort And Holiday Park
NRMA Treasure Island Holiday Resort Gold Coast/Biggera Waters

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing