We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Fantastic Stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kvaloya
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lauklines Kystferie
Anglesey North Wales
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A Fantastic Stay”
Reviewed February 25, 2012

As other reviewers have said lovely location, clean and spacious accommodation, very cosy and warm. Andreas was very welcoming and helpful...and we thank him for the emergency chocolate bar fix!

Step out onto your own deck right on Fjord and excellent location to view the Northern Lights. You can even wake up at night and check on them from your bedroom window overlooking the fjord! We saw them out on two nights, during our four night stay.

We stayed here in mid Feb with significant snow (for Brits) and some winds. Despite the fairly remote location some 35km from Tromso airport, we were astounded at how regularly and well the roads were cleared including the minor road to Lauklines. We only had a small hire car (Polo) which was fitted with winter tyres and this coped admirably with the road conditions, which are totally unlike anything you will see in UK...usually! A car will certainly add flexibity to your stay here. Do not be concerned about distances from Tromso city to here.

We would certainly return to Lauklines and would heartly recommend it to anyone else wanting a very special winter or summer location for their stay in Tromso area.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NettieB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    4
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
28
22
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2012

This has to be one of the most beautiful locations.. Staying in a log cabin overlooking a snowy fjord with the northern lights overhead at night was an incredible experience. The cabins are really well kitted out and really cosy inside with stunning views from the huge windows.. Hannah and Andreas were so helpful and friendly. Can't recommend this place enough... Loved it.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BristolKit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The middle of England.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Our stay at Lauklines Kystferie was fantastic.

Spotlessly clean, well equipped and spacious modern cabins that are cosy and warm, with the most stunning views out over the fjord.

Hanna and Andreas couldn't have been better hosts - close enough to be there should you need any help, but hands off enough to make you feel like you're living in your own home.

The cabins are very well equipped - plenty of bedding, free reliable WiFi (not sure how it works so well in such a remote location!) and all the pans and cooking utensils you can think of. The only thing we thought it lacked was some salt, pepper and cooking oil - guests travelling here are probably unlikely to remember cooking essentials (especially when you've spent a small fortune in the supermarket half way from Tromso!) but a quick call to the house and Andreas was bounding through the snow with the items in hand!

The biggest draw in the winter is the view - you are genuinely in the middle of nowhere in the pitch black and presumably if the sky is clear, you'll get an amazing view of the Northern lights from your bed or the dining table.

Unfortunately for us, it was cloudy, but with plenty of other activities to keep us entertained we didn't feel like we missed out. We'll definitely return and try our luck with the lights again some day.

A great stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pridgethorpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
58 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights over February half term with husband and 11 year old son. Lovely place - could not fault anything.
It's all been said before - warm, well equipped cabins in an idyllic situation. And we got to see the Northern Lights on our last night from the comfort of our own cabin, which was the icing on the cake.
We hired a car from Tromso and spent quite a bit of time driving around, which despite the icy roads was fine.
To cut costs we brought as much of our own food as possible which worked out well.
Would love to return.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bod75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2012

Fantastic cabin, very clean and comfortable with dramatic views out over the fjord including some hump back whales playing 50m away. Plenty to do, went for husky ride, saw the northern lights. Would have liked to try ice fishing but a little early in the season. A trip to summer island is also well worth a visit. Tromso is a lovely town and pre christmas was very festive with snow all around and decorative lights.

Main tip, the owners are very friendly so ask for plenty suggestions early on so as to make the most of the trip.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BrookbondOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2012

We have just returned from four nights at Lauklines over New Year, two couples travelling together and sharing a cabin – we had a fabulous time and can thoroughly recommend Lauklines as a base for a winter holiday. The cabins are spacious yet cosy, each room has its own heater (two in the living room) so you can control temperature in each room independently. Even at -10 degrees outside the cabin was lovely and warm. The large windows to two sides of the living room give stunning views across the fjord and a door in the living room leads straight out onto the wooden deck to give a perfect viewing place for the Northern Lights if you are lucky enough to see them during your visit.

The beds are very comfortable, with warm but light duvets and good quality linen. Bedrooms are well equipped with wardrobes and drawers, hanging pegs on the walls and bedside tables. Each bed has a wall light over to ensure that its bright enough to read in bed should you wish. The bathrooms had very good showers and plentiful hot water, they were also very roomy. The cabins might look like cute little 'sheds' but inside they are very roomy, well equipped and very very warm and cosy.

The location is a little remote but the roads good, we hired a car at Tromso airport and found it an easy drive out despite the fact that we’d not driven in such icy conditions before. Its around a 20- 30 minute drive to the local supermarket, the cabins have fully equipped kitchens so self-catering is very easy if you stop en-route from the airport to stock up.

Room Tip: Our cabin had three rooms, one with three singles, one with two singles and one with one single. Per...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank susiemc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2011

We stayed there for 2 nights and wish we'd had more!! The cabins are great and everything has been thought of. The beds are extremely comfortable. The sauna was also fun! Andreas is very friendly and helpful. The location and scenery is so beautiful!! Absolutely loved this place and cant wait to return.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kiri_Libbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kvaloya
21.3 mi away
Malangen Resort
Malangen Resort
#1 of 1 in Nordby
236 reviews
16.4 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel With
16.4 mi away
Scandic Ishavshotel
Scandic Ishavshotel
#3 of 18 in Tromso
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Tromso Camping
Tromso Camping
#1 of 82 in Troms
307 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sjoetun Brygge
Sjoetun Brygge
#2 of 5 in Tromso
6 reviews
6.4 mi away
Yggdrasiltunet
Yggdrasiltunet
#1 of 1 in Straumsbukta
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lauklines Kystferie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lauklines Kystferie

Property: Lauklines Kystferie
Address: Vasstrandvegen 580, Kvaloya 9108, Norway
Location: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Kvaloya
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Kvaloya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lauklines Kystferie is a holiday resort offering high standard fisherman's cabins, situated 35 mins ride southwest of Tromso City, in Kattfjord on the Island of Kvaloya. Our 6 Cabins are fully equipped for up to 6 persons each, surrounded by beautiful scenery, built directly on the shore line. Enjoy silence, calmness and be active in the pure Arctic nature. Deep sea fishing on your own with rental boats or join a local skipper. Midnight sun trips, hiking, whale safaris, skiing, dog sledding, snowshoeing, photo safari, bird watching, kayaking in clear water or just enjoy being in nature and let yourself be enhanced. Ideal spot to see the northern lights! Stay relaxed in the warm cozy cabin until the Aurora Borealis (northern lights) appears just in front of your cabindoor, mirroring her flickering beauty on the water. Conference facilities for up to 25-30 persons. Meals can be pre booked from a local partner. Fishing gear, snowshoes, bikes, kick-sleds, clothing etc for rent or sale in reception. Take part in genuine northern Norwegian nature, culture and taste experiences. Explore the Arctic! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lauklines Kystferie Hotel Troms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing