We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tropical Coast Retreat
Nearby Hotels
Santai Retreat(Casuarina)(Great Value!)
$151
$147
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Halcyon House(Cabarita Beach)
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mantra on Salt Beach(Kingscliff)(Great Value!)
$100
$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Peppers Salt Resort & Spa(Kingscliff)(Great Value!)
$146
$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chinderah Motel(Chinderah)
$75
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
Pottsville Beach Motel(Pottsville)(Great Value!)
$96
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
City Lights Motel(Tweed Heads)
$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Beach Resort(Cabarita Beach)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Peppers Bale Salt(Kingscliff)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Town Palms Motel(Murwillumbah)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (52)
Filter reviews
52 results
Traveler rating
45
6
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
45
6
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeautiful propertywonderful hospitalitytropical fruit worldmillion milesfresh fruitget awayaway from the hustle and bustlestayed longerminute drivegood sizespa bathfurry friendspet friendly place to stayveronicapetshostshinterland
Filter
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 52 reviews
Reviewed December 23, 2012

We have always battled to find nice accommodation that is dog friendly, this all changed when we arrived at Tropical Coast Retreat, upmarket accommodation, great location, fantastic views and wonderful hospitality. When we return to Brisbane I will recommend this to all our friends at the dog park, Foxy had a great time running on the grass and playing with the other doggy guests, we will return with our little pup very soon.
Highly recommended !!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlisonFoxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
veronicaKingscliff, Owner at Tropical Coast Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Thanks do much for your lovely comments, makes what we do so worthwhile, we look forward to seeing you again in the near future, Veronica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Stayed for a week with our 2 dogs and totally thankful Veronica & Rick have opened up their property to people who want to holiday with their dogs. Though I’d imagine equally fantastic for people with no animals as each of the 3 units had courtyards to secure the dogs in. Was great as we didn’t worry when we went out without them and knew they were safe n sound (think they were grateful for the rest as there’s so much space for them to run). I did forget a couple of little bits n pieces but Veronica's made the units so welcoming that everything I forgot was right there in the unit, so thoughtful. Unfortunately my dogs like to chase the odd cane toad, which I was a bit worried about, but worry was for nothing as the gardens are so well cared for somehow there’s hardly any there and didn’t see them chase one. Thanks for a lovely time and also for taking our booking in advance for next year. Oh and we took advantage of all their facilities, spa, sauna, swimming and lounging but that amazing pool and view, even played golf with the dogs was so much fun.

Room Tip: all rooms looked great, but definitely the one beside the swimming pool is best, can't remember what it's called tho.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katherine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
veronicaKingscliff, Owner at Tropical Coast Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

Thanks so much for your great review of our retreat and also for the doggie toys you left for us!
We love to share our property with positive fun loving people, Cairns is certianly a great place to compare to, look forward to seeing you again, Veronica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Our family of six spent a week here and absolutly loved our holiday together; we had all three suites so had the whole place to ourselves, the pool was gorgeous with perfect temp. both inside it and out, the rainforest spa was a dream, the gardens beautiful. We were able to have our 2 lovely pets with us also and they certianly had a ball keeping us all busy on the golf course. As the property is between Coolangatta and Byron we had a few day trips and loved the local areas of Tumbulgum and Kingscliff. I'd recommend this retreat to couples also as it is very relaxing.

Room Tip: There are only 3 suites so all are good, the Pacific is largest and overlooks the pool; the Hinterland suite is a Queen size and adjoins this room, the Poolside is separate and is also a Queen size.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank natalie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
veronicaKingscliff, Owner at Tropical Coast Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

So pleased you all had such a good time, our property is very suited to groups, haveing only the three suites means that you can be together and also have your own space so it did work very well for you, many thanks, look forward to seeing you again, maybe with your new addition, good luck, Veronica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

What a beautiful and magical place! Veronica and Rick were great hosts and they love dogs as equally as much as we do. We loved all the little thoughtful touches in our self contained unit. Our two dogs absolutely loved it, they swam in the dam and had a great time running and playing around the property. The swing under the big tree was a great place to watch the sun go down with a glass of wine. Theres also a great view of sunrise from the other side of the property. The retreat is just down the road from Tropical Fruit World which was handy. Loved that there is only three units, so its not packed full of people. My only advice to pet owners is be aware of cane toads if your going during the cane toad season. Coming from Sydney way we didn't even think of it. But it was fine, Veronica and Rick armed us with some Dettol spray which we sprayed it around the place to keep them away and we had no issues. Great holiday, will definitely be back to Tropical Coast Retreat!

Room Tip: Pacific Suite
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Twixynix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
veronicaKingscliff, Owner at Tropical Coast Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

Many thanks for your comments, we love to hear such glowing reports, we would love to see some more of your photos they are great, we look forward to seeing you again, Veronica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We had a great experience at this great place away from the busy city life. It was great to bring out dog with plenty of space to run and have fun. The pool is extremely well maintained with a nice calm feel and privacy to relax and enjoy a book. I especially liked that it was not packed with people as most hotels/resorts with only a few units.
Veronica went out of her way to accommodate our needs and even rang to help with directions as we were arriving later in the evening. She made us feel at home and welcome even though we arrived at such a late hour.
The unit included everything and anything you can think of from insect repellent, proper shampoo/conditioner/body wash and even nice bubbles for the spa. The information pack included everything even the menus of restaurants nearby. This property is extremely well maintained with attention to detail. We liked how they even recommended pet friendly restaurants nearby.
We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew84296
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TropicalCoast, Owner at Tropical Coast Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Thank you so much for your kind words of appreciation for the efforts that go into providing our guests with a truly memorable and comfortable holiday. We certainly do aim to please and love it when we are appreciated, we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews