We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our new favourite at Main Beach”
Review of Domanis

Domanis
Reserve with
Domanis is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 73 Restaurants in Main Beach
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Domani's Restaurant | Cafe | Bar | Tapas was established 1993. Domani's alfresco restaurant and bar is a centerpiece of the Gold Coast's premier dining strip.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Our new favourite at Main Beach”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Stumbled in for brunch after spectacular morning in the surf.
Service was good - pleasant/friendly and professional. Food was stand-out good: my nephew's French Toast looked so good I wanted to snatch it from him, but my Eggs Benedict with spinach and ham was delicious so his brunch was safe. My husband had the Bacon, Eggs and Tomato and enjoyed them too.
Coffee was good, although a second cup we ordered never came, but it wasn't on the bill, so no harm done. I had a strawberry/banana juice - it was refreshing but maybe a bit pricey at $7.50.
Overall our experience was very good and we will be back, as it looks like it will be a long hot summer.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pudens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steph018, Owner at Domanis, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to let us know about your dining experience at Domani's -- we are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your meals! I'm sure our chefs will be happy to know our Eggs Bene got the thumbs up, but will be sure to pass your review on to our wait staff about the coffee not arriving as well -- can't have you missing out on a second cuppa! FRom the team at Domani's thanks again and look forward to seeing you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    220
    148
    38
    20
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
71 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Ok but not great”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We had a table near the entry, with two small children. Even at 6pm, the restaurant was quite busy. Despite having an extensive children menu, it took the wait staff quite some time to bring out pencils for the kids to draw on the paper topped table cover.
Also, even after my daughter fell off her chair and smacked her forehead on the concrete, it took staff over 5 minutes to come over and investigate and offer assistance.
Meals came quickly enough considering how busy it was, and food was average, but quite overpriced for what it was.
All in all, Ok, but probably won't be back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MOJO_aus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steph018, Owner at Domanis, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Hi there- thanks for posting your review. Sorry to hear if you felt your children's concerns weren't addressed speedily enough -- we will be sure to raise your review with wait staff, as we pride ourselves on providing a family-friendly atmosphere. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menangle, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Brekky”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Food was delicious and the service was good. Maybe a little hint to staff-the plastic roll down blinds get very hot for the customer-perhaps roll them up earlier in the day :)

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steph018, Owner at Domanis, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thanks for your kind review! We'll be sure to pass on your tip to our wait staff -- or be sure to let them know if there's anything else they can do to improve your comfort when you're in next too. Thanks and look forward to having you dine with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dunedin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Average and thats at Half price”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Dined this week with my daughter and wife
Not a cosy place to dine and thought some of the chairs needed attention with wood split
Food - we ate on the half price deal before 6pm - certainly would have been disappointed paying double the
My wife had the pizza of the day which was tandoori style- she found it bland and lacking taste
I had the baramundi and fries- yeh it was meetoo and nothing special
Service was pleasant and ok
Would we dine there again - no

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank macfodDunedin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steph018, Owner at Domanis, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to post your review. We are sorry to hear your recent dining experience at the Domani's Restaurant did not live up to your expectations. We have raised your concerns to our wait staff who served your table, and they'd noted that your wife reported everything was satisfactory -- sorry to hear that was not the case,

We always welcome feedback from our guests and invite diners to let the Restaurant Manager know if you have even the slightest concern whilst dining with us, as it is very difficult to rectify any disappointment with meals if we ask and yet don't receive this feedback while you are still in our care. We'd MUCH prefer you left feeling contented with your experience with us!

Your concerns have been duly noted and will be acted upon, as we are continuously striving to improve our menu, and providing our guests with the best possible hospitality and service has always been our mission. We truly value the opinions of our customers and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion. We hope that we can rectify this on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
81 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Uncomfortable Dining Experience”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

After stayed at Surfer's Paradise for a whole afternoon, we took the bus to Teddy Avenue to have dinner in order to experience a different part of the Gold Coast. Night came quickly in September and when we arrived at Teddy Avenue, it was already pitch dark. Since we are a little bit hungry, we went into the restaurant near to the bus stop without having a thorough look of the menu and the environment.

The restaurant was full of customers that night and we were arranged to sit crowdly near the cashier. With our order of many dishes, we found that our table was full of plates, rubbish shortly we took the dinner. The waiters there seemed very busy and they could only attend to our table occasionally. Hence, we have to eat cautiously to avoid some plates accidentally pushed to the ground.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Orlando C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steph018, Owner at Domanis, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Guest,
We welcome all reviews and encourage feedback, however we are concerned that perhaps you have posted this review of the wrong establishment? We are located on Tedder Avenue, but there are many restaurants closer to the bus stop than us, and our cashier is located inside near our bar and not within any kind of proximity to our dining area. Our wait staff on that evening also can't recall serving any tables that had any concerns with space or too many dishes on their table, however the team and management do take all comments and concerns seriously, and we offer our sincere apologies if you had a less than favorable experience at our establishment -- we strive to ensure all diners have a pleasant and enjoyable dining journey with us.
Please contact us directly if you'd like to raise any further concerns as we warmly welcome your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Domanis also viewed

Southport, Gold Coast
Main Beach, Gold Coast
 
Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast
Main Beach, Gold Coast
 

Been to Domanis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing