We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pleasant surprise!”
Review of Domanis

Domanis
Ranked #6 of 75 Restaurants in Main Beach
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Domani's Restaurant | Cafe | Bar | Tapas was established 1993. Domani's alfresco restaurant and bar is a centerpiece of the Gold Coast's premier dining strip.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“pleasant surprise!”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Thanks Kerri (owner/operator)
An interesting breakfast menu and again specials board. I believe this is what tells a true restaurant by their imagination and delivery.
Very welcoming, even though exceptionally busy ,and very clean and tidy. No greasy spoon here.. Delicious fresh juices, including the 'cleanser' apple, carrot, celery ,beetroot, and ginger. Friendly, accommodating ,good food, super clean, ( love it when the table is cleared and with clean cloth!.)
And to top it all 'NO PUBLIC HOLIDAY SURCHARGE' WOW!
All in all a very relaxing and enjoyable time, will be here again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sonnie6210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steph018, Owner at Domanis, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Thanks for sharing your review of Domani's, it's wonderful to hear you enjoyed your dining experience with us. We strive to deliver great food and service with an enjoyable dining atmosphere, so it's nice ti hear you found the restaurant to your liking. We sincerely look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    233
    151
    39
    20
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Poor this time good last time”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Last visit in January was one of the best risotto dishes ever.

This time we were struck by the public holiday curse. That is, staff uninterested and would rather be else where. In particular our order taker (not a waiter). Similar curse of the twenty something waiter (regrettably often female) who just can't seem to concentrate long enough to listen to he order. (To the person in question, if you are reading this, a simple bit of advise ... All you do for a living is take orders and run meals and drinks. Learn to listen as a basis skill ).

So a Caesar salad without croutons (the gluten free option as advertised) with chicken turned into a chicken salad with noodles even after she came back to advise that gluten free croutons weren't available.

Predictably I didn't get what I asked for which scored me the wining bet with my wife.

Wife's fillet migon (the signature dish) was average and not as shown on the menu.

Kids meals ordinary as well.

Conclusion ? Don't go to a restaurant on a public holiday and always ask the twenty something order taker to repeat the order.

Messed up the whole night.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bdez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steph018, Owner at Domanis, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
We're sorry to hear your most recent visit with us didn't live up to previous occasions. We hope you raised your concerns with the floor manager while you were dining with us, as our team are always eager to ensure all customers are satisfied with their dining experience above all else. Thank you for your feedback, and we encourage patrons to raise any issues with us while on premises so we can ensure any errors are rectified straight away while you are with us – it's our priority to deliver great food and service every time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrnambool, Victoria, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic food - loved it!”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Went there once and it happened to be just before 6pm, we were told if we ordered prior to 6pm it would be half price! Food was SO DELICIOUS and ended up almost cheaper than a pub meal. We went back again 2 days later to try something else and again it was all so amazing, would expect to paying big dollars for this type of food. It really was great! Thanks guys!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Suz220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steph018, Owner at Domanis, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
We're happy to hear you enjoyed your meals with us, and were able to take advantage of our early bird specials. We thank you for your glowing feedback on your dining experience, and sincerely look forward to your return visit, With thanks, the team at Domani's
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra Australia
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Pleasant Lunch”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Lunched at Domanis after being told they have half price deal till 6pm. Excellent food, service and selection of meals. Good pricing made even better with the deal.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank JEQC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steph018, Owner at Domanis, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Great to hear you enjoyed our half price lunch menu, and thank you for sharing your dining experience with us. We look forward to welcoming you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“We'll be back”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Loved the food and the service. It was a busy Friday night and were seated quickly. Drinks were delivered just as quickly. Our meals also didnt take very long and were delicious.

We had the marinara and the risotto. Very nice meal.

Highly recommended. We'll be back.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank fieldfrenzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steph018, Owner at Domanis, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to share your dining experience at Domani's, and are glad to hear you enjoyed your meals, drinks and service with us. Thanks for choosing to dine with Domani's and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Domanis also viewed

Southport, Gold Coast
Main Beach, Gold Coast
 
Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast
Main Beach, Gold Coast
 

Been to Domanis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing