We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful dinner for two”
Review of Milan On Main

Milan On Main
Ranked #15 of 72 Restaurants in Main Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $22
Cuisines: Italian, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
whangarei
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful dinner for two”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed at an apartment just around the corner from Tedder Ave. Milan Restaurant was recommended to us and I have to say we had a wonderful meal here. We didn't have a booking and I think we were very lucky to arrive at the time we did as this restaurant filled up with other diners very quickly. The menu had so many wonderful dishes to choose from, it made it very hard to decide what to have. I will admit we had three courses each and each one was excellent. Our waitress was lovely, she looked after us very well. What impressed me the most about this place, there was a large group of about 8 to 10 people having dinner and they were a little crammed up as the place was full but as soon as another group left they shifted them all to a bigger table, they didn't have to do it, but it was nice to see good customer service being provided. While staying at Main Beach we ate at four different restaurants and I have to say Milan was our favourite. We will be back in the Gold Coast at the end of the year and will definitely be going back to Milan. I think we will book in advance as this restaurant is very popular.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FarmersDownUnder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne R, Owner at Milan On Main, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thanks very much for your lovely review of Milan on Main. We have a great passion for what we do at Milan and I believe that we have the best team on the coast. As Milan is a small restaurant we are able to make the overall experience more personal and create a welcoming and warm environment.

We do fill-up very quickly and it is recommended to book especially for dinner and most meals over the weekends. We are looking forward to seeing you back at Milan at the end of the year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    91
    25
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Such a nice experience”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We had dinner for 8 on 2 July. A friend recommended Milan and it was worth the visit. We had the $45 dinner special which includes two courses and a glass of wine, and the best thing was that we could choose any options from the menu. No catches or pre set meals. Even the wine list is open to choose from, so you do not have to go with the cheap sugarwater.

Great value, definitely recommend for groups. We were well looked after even though the place was fairly busy. The surrounding restaurants were not busy, but Milam was.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank astroboy227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne R, Owner at Milan On Main, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thanks very much for your kind recommendation. Our dinner specials have become very popular for the very reason you mention in your review. We leave it to our customers to choose the meal combinations and wine or beer of their choice. Hope to see you back soon and thanks again for taking the time to review Milan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Rude”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Stood at the door waiting for a table with two hungry kids. We didn't have a booking but there were a few vacant tables at 7pm. Obviously they must have been booked and we were supposed to work that out ourselves as not a single staffer could be bothered to come and address us. We are staying around the corner, we have money to spend but we won't be back! Given economic conditions for restaurants I suspect this one may not be there too much longer on the basis of this truly rude (potentially arrogant) behaviour. Not good enough by anyone's standards.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cybele14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne R, Owner at Milan On Main, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
For any business the first impressions are so important and your first impression of our business was not a good one. I have to start by sincerely apologising for this experience. From your review you seem angry and may have even taken it personal.

I can assure you that our business does not have an arrogant culture. We are recognised as one of the best on the Coast when it comes to quality of service and the quality of our food. We are generally fully booked over the weekends and this was indeed the case the previous weekend.

We have created a relaxed and casual environment and customers usually just walk right in to be seated. Milan is a small restaurant and we do not require customers to wait at the entrance...

We are all human and sometimes we just slip-up. In your case we slipped-up and again I would like to apologise for that. I am hoping that you will give us a second chance. I can assure you that you will not be disappointed. We have a lovely children's menu and my staff always pay special attention to the young ones.

Hope to see you back soon.

Best Regards
Wayne Ralph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Main Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Very Good”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Consistently good food and service with many menu options. Especially great for lunches and big groups.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nolv824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne R, Owner at Milan On Main, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you very much for your lovely recommendation. We work hard to continually improve our service and food. We are passionate about our business and only have the customer’s enjoyment at heart. It means a lot to me and my team when customers have a good time.

We regularly cater for large groups, including weddings, and enjoy the energy and buzz created by the groups. Again thank you very much for supporting Milan. Hope to see you back soon.

Best Regards

Wayne Ralph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

In a lovely quiet position in Tedder Ave with easy parking away from the hum drum. We had late morning coffee and cake, the cake was delicious and not the usual boring offerings. Excellent quality food and brilliant service. Would definitely return for a meal next visit.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Debbie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne R, Owner at Milan On Main, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you very much Debbie for your lovely review. I believe that Tedder Avenue is the best strip in the Gold Coast. It has a great village atmosphere. Our cakes are home made by a group of local ladies that started a business a few years ago. The cakes are the best quality and different from the 'massed produced' cakes you would usually get at cafes and restaurants. Unlike many cafes we make our own banana bread daily, so it is always fresh and delicious.

We have great breakfast, lunch and dinner specials and only use the best and freshest, and where possible, local ingredients in our food. Hope to see you when you are back next time. Thanks for supporting Milan on Main.

All the best

Wayne Ralph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Milan On Main also viewed

Main Beach, Gold Coast
Main Beach, Gold Coast
 
Gold Coast, Queensland
Main Beach, Gold Coast
 

Been to Milan On Main? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing