We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent menu well priced”
Review of Milan On Main

Milan On Main
Ranked #15 of 73 Restaurants in Main Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $23
Cuisines: Italian, Australian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent menu well priced”
Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

Our visit was based entirely on previous comments from tripadvisor, both the meal & service truly reflected these comments. Staff were flat out this particular night and apologized numerous times for slow kitchen service due to the volume of diners , but drinks were regularly kept up and staff updated us, no issues at all, very professional. The only real complaint was the salt & pepper calimari that was over salted, otherwise everything perfect, highly recommended and will be a regular visitor.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SDB1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne R, Owner at Milan On Main, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Thank you for choosing Milan on Main and thanks very much for your excellent review and kind recommendation. As a small and very popular restaurant on the coast we do get very busy most days. I thank you for your understanding.

Thanks also for your comments on the Calamari. We usually use the Murray River pink salt for this dish as it has a softer flavour. On the night we may have used a sea salt instead. I will check with my team.

TripAdvisor reviews can be misleading from time to time as many companies actively solicit positive reviews. Some businesses will also pay for positive reviews, which is unfortunate. I can honestly say that I have never actively solicited positive reviews. We do not even advertise the fact that we can be reviewed on TripAdvisor. I believe that it is up to the individual customer to do so. All our reviews are unsolicited and real.

Hope to see you back soon.

Best Regards

Wayne Ralph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    92
    25
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“The best formal informal Italian style! Really!”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

This is one of the nicest places you can visit forbreakfast, a late lunch, early dinner or anytime. The staff are fantastic and the location is beaut!
We visited with the family, kids and all. The staff were great and the service went above and beyond what you would expect.
The menu ensures kids and adults have a choice. For example, mostplaces only give the kids a choice of one or two dishes... Milan offerred 7 dishes AND if the kids wanted, kids size and price adult meals! They are so flexible, it made the whole experience brilliant!
We will definitely visit again when we are back on the Gold Coast!
Thanks guys!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Toby L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne R, Owner at Milan On Main, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Thank you very much Toby for visiting Milan on Main. It makes me very happy when customers have such a good experience. It tells me that we are doing the right thing. We pride ourselves on customer satisfaction and the quality of our food.

As I have young children of my own I know how important it is to get the balance right. Food is such a great part of life and often children are ignored when it comes to good food. I think children should be exposed to quality and flavoursome food from a young age. Nuggets and chips is definitely not the way to start and it is something you will not find at Milan.

Once again thank you for your kind recommendation and hope to see you back soon.

Best Regards

Wayne Ralph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Quality Italian with Great Service”
Reviewed December 6, 2012

We went to Milan on Main after reading reviews on Tripadvisor. We were visiting the Gold Coast for a few days to celebrate my wife's birthday and were looking for a good restaurant. They looked after us very well and the food was excellent. My wife and daughter had the veal and I had the prawn tagliatelle. These dishes were excellent, beautiful flavors, generous serve and well presented. Overall we had a great night and highly recommend Milan on Main.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eztay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne R, Owner at Milan On Main, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Thank you very much for choosing Milan on Main for your special celebration. I would also like to thank you for your kind recommendation. I am privileged to have the best team on the strip. We focus on the quality of our food and service and strive for consistency. Our ingredients are locally sourced and always fresh.

I hope that you enjoyed Main Beach as it is the best on the coast and that we will see you back soon.

Best Regards

Wayne Ralph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

A must have is the salmon bruschetta! Would be a nice spot to have an afternoon drink too, we didn't ave the opportunity unfortunately.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne R, Owner at Milan On Main, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thanks very much Michael for your kind recommendation. My team work very hard at ensuring the experience at Milan on Main is one of the best on the coast. We have a very strong local following and the late afternoon is great sitting out the front with a cool sea breeze blowing in and a cold beer or wine in the hand.

Thanks for your support and hope to see you back soon.

Best Regards

Wayne Ralph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadbeach, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Relaxed, Good Food, Super Service”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Really good food and not that expensive - I had the tiger prawn and prosciutto tagliatelle (like a high class carbonara) and it was epic. It was my sons 18th and I made the restaurant aware when I booked. They looked after us really well, sparklers in the cake, and even sang happy birthday. Drinks kept well supplied without having to chase, the wait for food just right. Understated from the exterior, but has to be one of the best Italian eateries on the Coast.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne R, Owner at Milan On Main, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Thanks very much Peter for your lovely review and recommendation of Milan on Main. I have the best team on the coast and that goes a long way in making the experience a memorable one. It makes me and the team feel so pleased when we get such positive feedback.

An 18th birthday is such a special one and it is therefore so much more important for us to do it well. Thanks again for selecting Milan for your son's special day. Hope to see you back soon.

Best Regards

Wayne Ralph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Milan On Main also viewed

Main Beach, Gold Coast
Southport, Gold Coast
 
Main Beach, Gold Coast
Main Beach, Gold Coast
 
Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast
Main Beach, Gold Coast
 

Been to Milan On Main? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing