We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food”
Review of Shuck

Shuck
Ranked #13 of 75 Restaurants in Main Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Caloundra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Had a great meal here early this week. If you love pork belly then you cant go past this entree. Perfect pork, crispy crackling and apple done 5 ways. Could of had two it was that good!!! Rump steak for main was cooked perfect, was nicely charred and was very tender.
Prices are very reasonable considering the portion sizes and the style of the restaurant.
Service was very pleasent and attentive by a new staff member.
I am personally not a massive fan of paper on tables but do understand that it does keep linen cost down so can appreciate why it is used.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    62
    23
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Surfers Paradise, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worst dining experience”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

This is our second and last time here. Saturday night with a reservation and not a full house. Food - steak was less than average, very tough. Service was unbelievably rude. Waiter poured red wine into used and not empty white wine glass. Where is a fresh glass when ordering a new drink. No assistance or recommendation with menu - a can't be bothered attitude from waiter.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jade M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Top food!”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Barramundi, bugs and prawn pasta - delish! Beautifully presented, great service, nice atmosphere. Busy at weekends so consider booking.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good seafood - service not as good”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We book a reservation for 7pm on a Friday night using an on-line service. When we arrived there was no reservation on record. However, when I showed the on-line confirmation number we were seated at a good table with no problem.

The pace was lively and fun. The oyster sampler was good. We had the crab lasagna (which was fair) and the chowder (wish was pretty good). The biggest disappointment was the service - primarily the waiters. We did not ask for anything special, but they just seemed put out to have to wait the table. The individuals that brought out the food dishes were friendly. In the end it took about 4 attempts and 30 minutes to get the bill paid.

Fun place for casual drinks and food. It could be a lot better if they could get a wait staff that could act like they appreciated their job.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MMLMLM369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful food”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We discovered this place one Sunday night while out looking for somewhere to eat and were pleasantly surprised. I don't normally have high expectations for Gold Coast dining but this restaurant is one that I would definitely recommend. We were a party of 4 and without exception all enjoyed our courses. Hats of to the dedicated team working in the kitchen to deliver not just perfectly cooked food but also well balanced and attention to detail. They deserve a 'hat'.

Helpful?
Thank Noslen2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shuck also viewed

 
Southport, Gold Coast
Main Beach, Gold Coast
 

Been to Shuck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing