We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Time at Contessa” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Contessa Holiday Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Contessa Holiday Apartments
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Main Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Mooloolaba, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic Time at Contessa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

We had a slow start, but the staff and the unit were very clean and had beautiful views. The condominium is very centrally located, close to shops, restaurants, public transport and beautifully quiet, with wide surround balconies.

Room Tip: We had room 81 and the view was fantastic - most of the rooms appear to be quiet, as it is in a good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Desiree V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    50
    12
    4
    3
See reviews for
98
13
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

A large group of my friends and I (around 10 of us) booked two apartments in the December summer break. We were VERY pleasantly surprised when we walked through the apartment doors for the first time!
They were extremely clean and very homely and reasonably fancy! The lounge was very very spacious and bathrooms were amazing! Because we went with such a large group we were able to split the costs of the rooms quiet evenly, and it was so much more for value than the other apartments that we had looked at
The outdoor facilities such as the tennis courts and swimming pools were equally amazing and the service was just fab(: Heaps of help with pointing out different places to go and explore

Overall, this was one of the best holidays we have ever had and the apartments were truly amazing; 5 stars!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chelsea W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, Manager at Contessa Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Thankyou. We are very proud of our apartment complex. It is great to see guests enjoying themselves and making the most of the holiday and the area. Thanks for you comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
126 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2014

You can just tell by the fittings that when this building was built it was pure quality for that time. Marble bathrooms, slick handless cupboard doors and big. Our unit was on the 21st floor and a 2 bedroom executive room deal. The staff on the desk are very friendly and we couldn't fault them. The community areas are spotless and well kept, the gardens, pool areas and gym too. The little sunny library room was delightful.

Our apartment was a little dated, the paint showing some signs of wear and due for a repaint for sure. The place was really clean, except for the glass on the inside of the sliding doors and windows? Strange, that the cleaners could leave the place so clean and miss all the smudges, smears and streaks on the glass? Besides that, the place had a ton of crockery, cutlery, pots, pans etc. But we didn't cook, we enjoyed Tedder Avenues choice of cafes and restaurants.

The location and view is wonderful. Protection for the windy cool south easter on the north facing balcony was perfect.

Overall a very enjoyable three night stay. Easy, friendly and great location.

Room Tip: High floor if you want to see the beach and the ocean. The outlook to the west is also better to wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kazbahtoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, Manager at Contessa Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Thankyou we really appreciate you lovely comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014 via mobile

Booked a 2 bedroom apartment, we (4 adults) were on the 25th floor and had amazing views. Secured entry/entry via security pass. Fantastic indoor/outdoor pool/spa. Very spacious, entry hall, lounge/dining room, kitchen, 2 single beds, master with Kingsize bed/ensuite, family bathroom, separate toilet, separate laundry with Front Loader washing machine, dryer, ironing board/iron, balcony off all rooms, outdoor setting to enjoy breakfast while watching the sunrise and listening to the ocean, so peaceful and relaxing. Very basic in way of cooking pots and pans. Provided with 1 towel per person, 1 tea towel, 1 roll of toilet paper. Do a shop for everything because there are no basic staples, ie; Cooking oil/spray, salt/pepper, etc. Lighting is excellent for romance lol. Very very poor lighting in bedrooms and kitchen. Only have one bedside lamp in the smaller room with single beds, and 2 lamps for the master bedroom. NO OVERHEAD LIGHTS. Make sure you don't need lights to get dressed to go out at night!! Kitchen lighting ..only one bright light above sink, other down lights are about 5 watts..totally useless.
Would I stay here again??? DEFINATELY. Would i recommend Contessa Holiday Condominiums?? YES. It is so central to everything, one block from the surf beach, 20 minutes from all the theme parks, Pacific Fair Shopping Centre, Jupiters Casino, and about 30 minutes from Currumbin Wildlife Park.Don't really want to go home lol.. You won't be disappointed if stayed here.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Solo1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, Manager at Contessa Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear Solo1961, thankyou for taking time to review your stay with us. Your review is very helpful. We have passed your comments about lighting in the apartment onto the owner for action. We have stocks of guest supplies and extra towels in the reception. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

Stayed over Easter. Room was spacious but old and dated. Very close the shops etc at Tedder Ave. Perfect location. Spent 30 min looking everywhere in the grounds for a BBQ area one night but couldn't find one. Asked an older resident where it was and got laughed at and told there wasn't one! I felt embarrassed and humiliated for asking. This place is seriously not 4 star. Not sure what's going on with the indoor pool, noisy fans going, two air conditioners dripping rust on the wall and the doors to a nice patio area were screwed closed. The air was very humid and uncomfortable, whatever is supposed to be working there isn't.
The common areas are all dated and monotone grey. This place could be good but needs a couple of $million spent on refurb. There is a lot newer and better for the money.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Jda11830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

It looks nice on the internet, but not what it seems. It is very old style. The main bedroom bed had a egg shell underlay on top of the mattress. The balcony furniture had seen it's day. The kids beds look like the bedcovers had never been washed. No aircon in the bedrooms. Disappointing for a first family holiday away. We were also supposed to have an executive apartment, but we only got the standard. :( :(

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Natasha J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, Manager at Contessa Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
This guest made no comment during her stay. All our executive apartments have air conditioning. Some ducted and some are a split system. The apartment was on the 20th floor and quite spectacular. Definitely executive standard. Lovely sea breezes at night and great views. Not a typical comment - what a shame.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wauchope, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

We travelled from Wauchope to Orange and then orange to Main Beach. The whole process was fabulous. They offered us to book in a day earlier and said if we didn't arrive in time (due to the distance being travelled) they would charge us for the extra night. We didn't arrive when expected and the keys were made available after hours. We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment on the 23rd floor with our three children. The kids loved it as we don't get to see the ocean like that very often. Everything was great from the facilities to every part of the apartment. We have told so many people about this place and will definitely be staying here again in the near future.
The staff were more than helpful offering help with bus timetables and places to eat with the kids. Truly one of the best family holidays we have ever had. Thank you so much for making it all so easy.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Belinda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Main Beach
1.1 mi away
Palazzo Versace
Palazzo Versace
#3 of 5 in Main Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,825 reviews
0.9 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,547 reviews
1.3 mi away
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
#1 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#16 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maldives Resort
Maldives Resort
#4 of 5 in Main Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Contessa Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Contessa Holiday Apartments

Property: Contessa Holiday Apartments
Address: Contessa Apartments 1 Serisier Ave, Main Beach, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Main Beach
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Main Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Contessa Holiday Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This magnificent Gold Coast resort has it all! Contessa is ideally located next to the broad, white beaches and the blue Pacific Ocean on Gold Coast's Main Beach. It is only a short stroll to cosmopolitan Tedder Avenue, with its world class restaurants offering superb cuisines, alfresco dining and nightly entertainment; and exciting central Surfers Paradise is just a few minutes to the south. Relax in style in your own 2 or 3 bedroom full self contained apartment and soak up the spectacular views and refreshing sea air. Set on two acres of beautifull manicured lawns amidst landscaped gardens, the resort also features an outdoor pool and spa, tennis court, indoor heated pool and spa, fitness room, sauna and its very own marina on Nerang River. When staying at Contessa, all the attractions of the Gold Coast are within easy reach! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Contessa Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Contessa Holiday Apartments Gold Coast/Main Beach, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing